Cool Ideas Fibre ISP – Feedback Thread 2

Status
Not open for further replies.

User52

Senior Member
Joined
Oct 9, 2014
Messages
557
Thank you very much.
Possible to get coverage map updated? Confirmed coverage with Link Africa, but our area/ apt block not showing on CISP sign up page.
Just got a response from Link Africa now. They say they will update their coverage map to include our block, and then notify CISP. Thanks.
 

DeatheCore

Senior Member
Joined
Dec 4, 2006
Messages
720
Try this again?
Seems fixed! Although this particular IP is supposedly Cape Town based (Bellville) but routing to JHB - is this perhaps on the Telkom side of things?
Code:
tracert 196.25.37.14

Tracing route to 196.25.37.14 over a maximum of 30 hops

  1    <1 ms    <1 ms    <1 ms  router.local [192.168.1.1]
  2     2 ms     2 ms     1 ms  155.93.238.1
  3     5 ms    12 ms     6 ms  155.93.240.33
  4     1 ms    <1 ms    <1 ms  154.0.1.125
  5    16 ms    16 ms    16 ms  154.0.1.233
  6    16 ms    16 ms    17 ms  154.0.1.138
  7    18 ms    18 ms    19 ms  197.96.214.112
  8    16 ms    16 ms    16 ms  pr2-pkl-xe-2-2-0.ip.isnet.net [168.209.1.179]
  9    19 ms    18 ms    18 ms  openserve.ixp.joburg [196.60.8.110]
 10     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 11     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 12     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 13    20 ms    19 ms    22 ms  10.189.0.78
 14    23 ms    22 ms    23 ms  tbnb-ip-cr-1-pos-6-1-1.telkom-ipnet.co.za [41.147.240.178]
 15    20 ms    20 ms    20 ms  wblv-ip-hsll-1-gig-0-0-0.telkom-ipnet.co.za [196.43.39.62]
 16    20 ms    20 ms    20 ms  196.25.37.2
 17    19 ms    19 ms    20 ms  196.25.37.14
 

PBCool

Cool Ideas
Joined
Jan 11, 2016
Messages
8,935
Seems fixed! Although this particular IP is supposedly Cape Town based (Bellville) but routing to JHB - is this perhaps on the Telkom side of things?
Code:
tracert 196.25.37.14

Tracing route to 196.25.37.14 over a maximum of 30 hops

  1    <1 ms    <1 ms    <1 ms  router.local [192.168.1.1]
  2     2 ms     2 ms     1 ms  155.93.238.1
  3     5 ms    12 ms     6 ms  155.93.240.33
  4     1 ms    <1 ms    <1 ms  154.0.1.125
  5    16 ms    16 ms    16 ms  154.0.1.233
  6    16 ms    16 ms    17 ms  154.0.1.138
  7    18 ms    18 ms    19 ms  197.96.214.112
  8    16 ms    16 ms    16 ms  pr2-pkl-xe-2-2-0.ip.isnet.net [168.209.1.179]
  9    19 ms    18 ms    18 ms  openserve.ixp.joburg [196.60.8.110]
10     *        *        *     Request timed out.
11     *        *        *     Request timed out.
12     *        *        *     Request timed out.
13    20 ms    19 ms    22 ms  10.189.0.78
14    23 ms    22 ms    23 ms  tbnb-ip-cr-1-pos-6-1-1.telkom-ipnet.co.za [41.147.240.178]
15    20 ms    20 ms    20 ms  wblv-ip-hsll-1-gig-0-0-0.telkom-ipnet.co.za [196.43.39.62]
16    20 ms    20 ms    20 ms  196.25.37.2
17    19 ms    19 ms    20 ms  196.25.37.14
Looks like it's in JHB:

|------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------|
| WinMTR statistics |
| Host - % | Sent | Recv | Best | Avrg | Wrst | Last |
|------------------------------------------------|------|------|------|------|------|------|
| 154.0.4.241 - 0 | 7 | 7 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 0 |
| 197.96.214.112 - 0 | 7 | 7 | 11 | 29 | 47 | 16 |
| pr2-pkl-xe-2-2-0.ip.isnet.net - 0 | 7 | 7 | 8 | 25 | 46 | 14 |
| openserve.ixp.joburg - 0 | 7 | 7 | 10 | 27 | 47 | 15 |
| No response from host - 100 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| No response from host - 100 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| No response from host - 100 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| 10.189.0.78 - 0 | 7 | 7 | 29 | 44 | 61 | 29 |
|tbnb-ip-cr-1-pos-6-1-1.telkom-ipnet.co.za - 0 | 7 | 7 | 29 | 45 | 63 | 29 |
|wblv-ip-hsll-1-gig-0-0-0.telkom-ipnet.co.za - 0 | 7 | 7 | 26 | 43 | 61 | 28 |
| 196.25.37.2 - 0 | 7 | 7 | 27 | 43 | 61 | 28 |
| 196.25.37.14 - 0 | 7 | 7 | 27 | 43 | 62 | 28 |
|________________________________________________|______|______|______|______|______|______|
WinMTR v0.92 GPL V2 by Appnor MSP - Fully Managed Hosting & Cloud Provider
 

Yalta

Active Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2006
Messages
84
Hey, would like to know if there is a way to monitor data usage? I don't see anything on the CISP client area.
 

WickedMONK3Y

Well-Known Member
Joined
Sep 28, 2006
Messages
328
They don't have a monitor and if I remember correctly the response was that they don't feel the need to implement this feature as the connection is uncapped and unshaped and would be a waste of resources or something like that. So no usage tracking.
 

Yalta

Active Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2006
Messages
84
They don't have a monitor and if I remember correctly the response was that they don't feel the need to implement this feature as the connection is uncapped and unshaped and would be a waste of resources or something like that. So no usage tracking.
Great thanks, I just wanted it out of interest sake.
 

under_sky

Expert Member
Joined
Dec 26, 2013
Messages
1,678
For those wanting usage tracking the expensive route is Unifi USG and a cloudkey etc or just the software. Otherwise i think ASUS makes some routers that allows this
 

Yalta

Active Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2006
Messages
84
For those wanting usage tracking the expensive route is Unifi USG and a cloudkey etc or just the software. Otherwise i think ASUS makes some routers that allows this
Thanks, was thinking of checking my Asus router (RT-AC5300 with Merlin Fireware) it should have the option.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top