Cool Ideas Fibre ISP – Feedback Thread 3

Status
Not open for further replies.

ItherNiT

Senior Member
Joined
Jan 31, 2011
Messages
865
What is your feeling on paying for such a service?

We would need to invest in a chunk of storage for it.
I'm already pay for one (news group ninja) for 4 USD. I got it after the IS news server went down. Was kinda hoping it would be free, like with afrihost.

I understand it's kinda a big (and expensive) project to take on. So no worries if you guys decide to leave it.
 

PBCool

Cool Ideas
Company Rep
Joined
Jan 11, 2016
Messages
11,854
I'm already pay for one (news group ninja) for 4 USD. I got it after the IS news server went down. Was kinda hoping it would be free, like with afrihost.

I understand it's kinda a big (and expensive) project to take on. So no worries if you guys decide to leave it.
Well it's one of those things we can do it on the cheap or do it properly, but will maybe start with a "small" amount of storage and see from there what the interest is like. If it's justified we don't mind doing it.
 

ItherNiT

Senior Member
Joined
Jan 31, 2011
Messages
865
Well it's one of those things we can do it on the cheap or do it properly, but will maybe start with a "small" amount of storage and see from there what the interest is like. If it's justified we don't mind doing it.
If you need a beta tester to knock a few TB's off the server let me know .

Jokes aside. It don't feel its a necessity. With network performance this great, any thing else is a bonus...

Like seriously you guys are an AMAZING ISP. I'm close to 10TB of usage this month and it just works...
It wouldn't surprise me if I'm in the top 5% (or even 1% of users)
 

dotdan

Expert Member
Joined
Jul 17, 2008
Messages
1,369
Anyone else experiencing packet loss and latency spikes in AWS games (fortnite for me)?
 

DeatheCore

Senior Member
Joined
Dec 4, 2006
Messages
814
Started with this unit:

Lasted me roughly 18 months before the batteries wouldn't last the full 2.5 hours... (not bad for 18 months of loadshedding not affecting my network.)
I then replaced the batteries myself with 2x of these:

No issues since.

This is powering:
1x RB2011RM
1x gigabit 24 port switch
1x 8 port POE Injector (This was used when i had 4x Mikrotik dishes on my roof for WUG usage)
1x Unifi AP LR
1x POE injector <> POE to DC Splitter for CPE (My CPE is around 15 meters away from my network cabinet)
Ahh I see, hell of a lot more equipment than I'm running. Guessing the 2kva unit has a slightly better charger than my 1.1kva. Seriously, that Eaton unit takes like 10-16 hours to fully charge those 2x7Ah batteries, pretty ridiculous.

Those gel batteries you put in look well suited for deep discharge cycles. How low of a charge level do you reach after an average 2.5 hour outage? And how quickly does it charge back to full?
 

DJZassie

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 10, 2011
Messages
372
Ahh I see, hell of a lot more equipment than I'm running. Guessing the 2kva unit has a slightly better charger than my 1.1kva. Seriously, that Eaton unit takes like 10-16 hours to fully charge those 2x7Ah batteries, pretty ridiculous.

Those gel batteries you put in look well suited for deep discharge cycles. How low of a charge level do you reach after an average 2.5 hour outage? And how quickly does it charge back to full?
I'm off today from 2 till 4... So basically i get home from work when the power comes back on, i'll plug my laptop into the UPS and get you some proper and accurate numbers :)

But yes, i believe the 2kva has a better charger... How old are your batteries specifically? Because these batteries get to a point where BAM, they don't make the full 2.5 hours anymore xD
 

DeatheCore

Senior Member
Joined
Dec 4, 2006
Messages
814
I'm off today from 2 till 4... So basically i get home from work when the power comes back on, i'll plug my laptop into the UPS and get you some proper and accurate numbers :)

But yes, i believe the 2kva has a better charger... How old are your batteries specifically? Because these batteries get to a point where BAM, they don't make the full 2.5 hours anymore xD
Coolio, much appreciated! I'm being load shed now.. Stage 4 is a bit much, feel like I'm being pushed into stage 4 hypertension... :X3:

Batteries and UPS are exactly 1 year old, and yeah they're at the point now where it doesn't last the full 2.5 hours (2x7Ah batteries). Actually sent in the UPS for "repair" under warranty like 2 weeks ago, but Eaton are uncontactable and I have no idea when I'm getting it back.

It's strange though man, ever since I bought the UPS it has taken ages to charge up, and discharges super quick, almost like the actual UPS is a bigger drain than the load on the batteries. o_O

Might try something like what @r00igev@@r suggested when I feel like tinkering (I'm not very clued up with electronics type stuff).
 

CrypticZA

Expert Member
Joined
Sep 21, 2019
Messages
2,279
Coolio, much appreciated! I'm being load shed now.. Stage 4 is a bit much, feel like I'm being pushed into stage 4 hypertension... :X3:

Batteries and UPS are exactly 1 year old, and yeah they're at the point now where it doesn't last the full 2.5 hours (2x7Ah batteries). Actually sent in the UPS for "repair" under warranty like 2 weeks ago, but Eaton are uncontactable and I have no idea when I'm getting it back.

It's strange though man, ever since I bought the UPS it has taken ages to charge up, and discharges super quick, almost like the actual UPS is a bigger drain than the load on the batteries. o_O

Might try something like what @r00igev@@r suggested when I feel like tinkering (I'm not very clued up with electronics type stuff).
We have a beast UPS at work it cost like R14k for batteries 6 months ago and it hardly lasts us 2 hours and we get like 3% charge per hour it takes forever to charge and discharges so fast and we not running much on it either :/ we just bought a small generator
 

BuLLeT_ZA

New Member
Joined
Mar 11, 2020
Messages
5
Anyone else experiencing packet loss and latency spikes in AWS games (fortnite for me)?

I've been having issues for the last couple of days with micro-stuttering in World of Tanks on the EU servers. Dunno if it's related.
 

leppie

Senior Member
Joined
Mar 25, 2019
Messages
538
@TheRoDent @PBCool

There is a def a problem with Octotel Cape Gate. The latency increase is happening every night now.
Stops at 10PM like clockwork, but starting times are mostly 8PM or 6PM, one day it was 4PM.

Please get this sorted out.

Pings to the 1st hop (was away for start of the graph below)
1583935283302.png
Period before (seems to have become consistent on the 26th feb, the day I first reported)
1583935347952.png

Edit: Average/Median Hourly speedtest to JHB (have no data for CPT somehow) for last 2 weeks
1583936050217.png
 
Last edited:

DJZassie

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 10, 2011
Messages
372
Coolio, much appreciated! I'm being load shed now.. Stage 4 is a bit much, feel like I'm being pushed into stage 4 hypertension... :X3:

Batteries and UPS are exactly 1 year old, and yeah they're at the point now where it doesn't last the full 2.5 hours (2x7Ah batteries). Actually sent in the UPS for "repair" under warranty like 2 weeks ago, but Eaton are uncontactable and I have no idea when I'm getting it back.

It's strange though man, ever since I bought the UPS it has taken ages to charge up, and discharges super quick, almost like the actual UPS is a bigger drain than the load on the batteries. o_O

Might try something like what @r00igev@@r suggested when I feel like tinkering (I'm not very clued up with electronics type stuff).
So after a 2 hour and 10 minute stint, battery capacity is still sitting at 65%.... 20 minutes of power and the capacity is back up to 75%...
 

DeatheCore

Senior Member
Joined
Dec 4, 2006
Messages
814
So after a 2 hour and 10 minute stint, battery capacity is still sitting at 65%.... 20 minutes of power and the capacity is back up to 75%...
That's actually pretty great, considering the amount of networking equipment you've got hooked up. Not dropping below 50% will extend your batteries' life a considerable amount! You reckon you will reach 100% charge in 6 hours?
 

FHTheron

Senior Member
Joined
Apr 28, 2005
Messages
913
Could someone please show a traceroute from Cape Town to Europe and New York? I'm needing to switch ISPs soon.
 

CrypticZA

Expert Member
Joined
Sep 21, 2019
Messages
2,279
Could someone please show a traceroute from Cape Town to Europe and New York? I'm needing to switch ISPs soon.
id3.net

Code:
|------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------|
|                                      WinMTR statistics                                   |
|                       Host              -   %  | Sent | Recv | Best | Avrg | Wrst | Last |
|------------------------------------------------|------|------|------|------|------|------|
|                             192.168.0.1 -    0 |   11 |   11 |    0 |    0 |    0 |    0 |
|               uow1-cust.coolideas.co.za -    0 |   11 |   11 |    2 |    5 |   27 |   27 |
|               um5d-cust.coolideas.co.za -    0 |   11 |   11 |    2 |    2 |    5 |    4 |
|            c3h-backbone.coolideas.co.za -    0 |   11 |   11 |    1 |    1 |    5 |    1 |
|             cd-backbone.coolideas.co.za -    0 |   11 |   11 |    1 |    1 |    2 |    1 |
|                uvu-cust.coolideas.co.za -    0 |   11 |   11 |  141 |  141 |  141 |  141 |
|hu0-5-0-1.1200.ccr21.lon01.atlas.cogentco.com -    0 |   11 |   11 |  141 |  141 |  141 |  141 |
|   be2868.ccr41.lon13.atlas.cogentco.com -    0 |   11 |   11 |  141 |  141 |  142 |  142 |
|   be3382.rcr21.rtm01.atlas.cogentco.com -    0 |   11 |   11 |  147 |  147 |  148 |  148 |
|                            149.6.110.74 -    0 |   11 |   11 |  149 |  149 |  149 |  149 |
|                          109.236.95.227 -    0 |   11 |   11 |  149 |  149 |  149 |  149 |
|                   jupiter.parknames.net -    0 |   11 |   11 |  148 |  148 |  148 |  148 |
|________________________________________________|______|______|______|______|______|______|
   WinMTR v0.92 GPL V2 by Appnor MSP - Fully Managed Hosting & Cloud Provider

www.newyorkcityservers.com

Code:
|------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------|
|                                      WinMTR statistics                                   |
|                       Host              -   %  | Sent | Recv | Best | Avrg | Wrst | Last |
|------------------------------------------------|------|------|------|------|------|------|
|                             192.168.0.1 -    0 |   10 |   10 |    0 |    0 |    0 |    0 |
|               uow1-cust.coolideas.co.za -    0 |   10 |   10 |    3 |   27 |   55 |    9 |
|               um5d-cust.coolideas.co.za -    0 |   10 |   10 |    2 |    2 |    4 |    2 |
|            c3h-backbone.coolideas.co.za -    0 |   10 |   10 |    1 |    1 |    1 |    1 |
|                ump-cust.coolideas.co.za -    0 |   10 |   10 |    1 |    1 |    1 |    1 |
|                uvu-cust.coolideas.co.za -    0 |   10 |   10 |  141 |  151 |  248 |  141 |
|hu0-5-0-1.1200.ccr21.lon01.atlas.cogentco.com -    0 |   10 |   10 |  141 |  151 |  248 |  141 |
|                   ldn-b1-link.telia.net -    0 |   10 |   10 |  141 |  151 |  248 |  141 |
|                  ldn-bb3-link.telia.net -   15 |    7 |    6 |  213 |  231 |  320 |  213 |
|                   No response from host -  100 |    2 |    0 |    0 |    0 |    0 |    0 |
|                   nyk-b5-link.telia.net -    0 |   10 |   10 |  213 |  226 |  326 |  213 |
|atlanticmetro-ic-306055-nyk-b5.c.telia.net -    0 |   10 |   10 |  213 |  223 |  320 |  213 |
|  xe-0-1-2-0.cr2.lga12.atlanticmetro.net -    0 |   10 |   10 |  213 |  223 |  319 |  213 |
|  xe-0-1-2-0.cr2.lga11.atlanticmetro.net -    0 |   10 |   10 |  213 |  224 |  319 |  213 |
|       ve17.dsw2.lga11.atlanticmetro.net -    0 |   10 |   10 |  213 |  226 |  321 |  213 |
|newyorkcityservers.dmarc.lga11.atlanticmetro.net -    0 |   10 |   10 |  214 |  224 |  320 |  214 |
|________________________________________________|______|______|______|______|______|______|
   WinMTR v0.92 GPL V2 by Appnor MSP - Fully Managed Hosting & Cloud Provider





Line speed normally runs at 20/2 but got 2 people on wifi atm
 

CrypticZA

Expert Member
Joined
Sep 21, 2019
Messages
2,279
id3.net

Code:
|------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------|
|                                      WinMTR statistics                                   |
|                       Host              -   %  | Sent | Recv | Best | Avrg | Wrst | Last |
|------------------------------------------------|------|------|------|------|------|------|
|                             192.168.0.1 -    0 |   11 |   11 |    0 |    0 |    0 |    0 |
|               uow1-cust.coolideas.co.za -    0 |   11 |   11 |    2 |    5 |   27 |   27 |
|               um5d-cust.coolideas.co.za -    0 |   11 |   11 |    2 |    2 |    5 |    4 |
|            c3h-backbone.coolideas.co.za -    0 |   11 |   11 |    1 |    1 |    5 |    1 |
|             cd-backbone.coolideas.co.za -    0 |   11 |   11 |    1 |    1 |    2 |    1 |
|                uvu-cust.coolideas.co.za -    0 |   11 |   11 |  141 |  141 |  141 |  141 |
|hu0-5-0-1.1200.ccr21.lon01.atlas.cogentco.com -    0 |   11 |   11 |  141 |  141 |  141 |  141 |
|   be2868.ccr41.lon13.atlas.cogentco.com -    0 |   11 |   11 |  141 |  141 |  142 |  142 |
|   be3382.rcr21.rtm01.atlas.cogentco.com -    0 |   11 |   11 |  147 |  147 |  148 |  148 |
|                            149.6.110.74 -    0 |   11 |   11 |  149 |  149 |  149 |  149 |
|                          109.236.95.227 -    0 |   11 |   11 |  149 |  149 |  149 |  149 |
|                   jupiter.parknames.net -    0 |   11 |   11 |  148 |  148 |  148 |  148 |
|________________________________________________|______|______|______|______|______|______|
   WinMTR v0.92 GPL V2 by Appnor MSP - Fully Managed Hosting & Cloud Provider

www.newyorkcityservers.com

Code:
|------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------|
|                                      WinMTR statistics                                   |
|                       Host              -   %  | Sent | Recv | Best | Avrg | Wrst | Last |
|------------------------------------------------|------|------|------|------|------|------|
|                             192.168.0.1 -    0 |   10 |   10 |    0 |    0 |    0 |    0 |
|               uow1-cust.coolideas.co.za -    0 |   10 |   10 |    3 |   27 |   55 |    9 |
|               um5d-cust.coolideas.co.za -    0 |   10 |   10 |    2 |    2 |    4 |    2 |
|            c3h-backbone.coolideas.co.za -    0 |   10 |   10 |    1 |    1 |    1 |    1 |
|                ump-cust.coolideas.co.za -    0 |   10 |   10 |    1 |    1 |    1 |    1 |
|                uvu-cust.coolideas.co.za -    0 |   10 |   10 |  141 |  151 |  248 |  141 |
|hu0-5-0-1.1200.ccr21.lon01.atlas.cogentco.com -    0 |   10 |   10 |  141 |  151 |  248 |  141 |
|                   ldn-b1-link.telia.net -    0 |   10 |   10 |  141 |  151 |  248 |  141 |
|                  ldn-bb3-link.telia.net -   15 |    7 |    6 |  213 |  231 |  320 |  213 |
|                   No response from host -  100 |    2 |    0 |    0 |    0 |    0 |    0 |
|                   nyk-b5-link.telia.net -    0 |   10 |   10 |  213 |  226 |  326 |  213 |
|atlanticmetro-ic-306055-nyk-b5.c.telia.net -    0 |   10 |   10 |  213 |  223 |  320 |  213 |
|  xe-0-1-2-0.cr2.lga12.atlanticmetro.net -    0 |   10 |   10 |  213 |  223 |  319 |  213 |
|  xe-0-1-2-0.cr2.lga11.atlanticmetro.net -    0 |   10 |   10 |  213 |  224 |  319 |  213 |
|       ve17.dsw2.lga11.atlanticmetro.net -    0 |   10 |   10 |  213 |  226 |  321 |  213 |
|newyorkcityservers.dmarc.lga11.atlanticmetro.net -    0 |   10 |   10 |  214 |  224 |  320 |  214 |
|________________________________________________|______|______|______|______|______|______|
   WinMTR v0.92 GPL V2 by Appnor MSP - Fully Managed Hosting & Cloud Provider





Line speed normally runs at 20/2 but got 2 people on wifi atm


Normal speed test :) someone was spam sending picture messages on whatsapp.

Also the packet loss on the US is the one router not allowing it to be pinged it resolved if i left it for a while but it accepted a ping every like 20 or so hops
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top