Cool Ideas Fibre ISP – Feedback Thread 3

Status
Not open for further replies.

leppie

Senior Member
Joined
Mar 25, 2019
Messages
538
Sigh. Will push for some feedback from their execs.
This is the whole congestion thing all over again, but last time latency (and local download speed) was not a problem, just insane packetloss.

Edit: It is almost like they are trying to mitigate the packetloss by increasing the latency, but it is failing miserably.

EDit2: Looks like around 26 Feb, new area's around me went 'online'. And clearly they have not added any extra capacity....
 
Last edited:

leppie

Senior Member
Joined
Mar 25, 2019
Messages
538
Good luck! took them 6months to acknowledge the problems in Claremont and Rondebosch. Eventually resorted to being very vocal on their social media to get something going. Plus had the black box from TheRoDent with logs to prove issues.
I rememebr that, and I had the issue too then, but this all started again now with them bringing new areas online.

I am just going to nag them online and even phone them daily

Not quite as bad as Sunday, but still unacceptable...

1583952641161.png
 

DYreX146

Senior Member
Joined
Nov 14, 2018
Messages
613
Is there something wrong with the Azure routing again? I'm in KZN and getting higher ping to Azure servers in JHB than ones in CPT, my ping is fine to other servers in JHB just not Azure ones.

1583953707548.png
 

PBCool

Cool Ideas
Company Rep
Joined
Jan 11, 2016
Messages
11,825
Is there something wrong with the Azure routing again? I'm in KZN and getting higher ping to Azure servers in JHB than ones in CPT, my ping is fine to other servers in JHB just not Azure ones.

View attachment 799207
This is usually based on how Azure manages announces, so could be maintenance in JHB or something.
 

DYreX146

Senior Member
Joined
Nov 14, 2018
Messages
613
This is usually based on how Azure manages announces, so could be maintenance in JHB or something.
Yeah, from the traceroute it looks like it was back when it was going through the reflectors.

Code:
1    <1 ms    <1 ms    <1 ms  192.168.1.1
  2     *        *        *     Request timed out.
  3     6 ms     4 ms     5 ms  c25-backbone.coolideas.co.za [154.0.1.77]
  4     3 ms     5 ms     5 ms  c2e-backbone.coolideas.co.za [154.0.1.86]
  5     5 ms     5 ms     5 ms  c2t-backbone.coolideas.co.za [154.0.1.101]
  6     4 ms     5 ms     5 ms  c1h-backbone.coolideas.co.za [154.0.1.53]
  7     5 ms     4 ms     5 ms  uuu-cust.coolideas.co.za [154.0.4.86]
  8    14 ms    13 ms    13 ms  c6t-backbone.coolideas.co.za [154.0.1.245]
  9    12 ms    13 ms    14 ms  100.99.0.84
 10    30 ms    28 ms    29 ms  100.99.0.36
 11    30 ms    28 ms    29 ms  uxa-cust.coolideas.co.za [154.0.4.174]
 12    31 ms    30 ms    29 ms  microsoft.ixp.capetown [196.10.140.47]
 13    30 ms    32 ms    31 ms  ae22-0.icr01.cpt20.ntwk.msn.net [104.44.237.57]
 14    49 ms    46 ms    47 ms  be-100-0.ibr01.cpt20.ntwk.msn.net [104.44.20.207]
 15    46 ms    46 ms    46 ms  be-5-0.ibr01.jnb21.ntwk.msn.net [104.44.7.138]
 16    48 ms    45 ms    46 ms  ae100-0.icr01.jnb21.ntwk.msn.net [104.44.20.76]
 

leppie

Senior Member
Joined
Mar 25, 2019
Messages
538
As usual it recovers around 10PM (bit sooner tonite)

1583956396873.png

But here's something super dodge, I ran a tracert only during the upload part

Code:
|------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------|
|                                      WinMTR statistics                                   |
|                       Host              -   %  | Sent | Recv | Best | Avrg | Wrst | Last |
|------------------------------------------------|------|------|------|------|------|------|
|                             192.168.0.1 -    0 |   17 |   17 |    1 |    2 |    4 |    1 |
|                             154.0.0.246 -    0 |   17 |   17 |    6 |  124 |  237 |   41 |
|________________________________________________|______|______|______|______|______|______|
   WinMTR v0.92 GPL V2 by Appnor MSP - Fully Managed Hosting & Cloud Provider

124ms ping when uploading!!!!!! No issues when downloading.

Edit: I will run some comparitive testing tomorrow during the day time.
 

CrypticZA

Expert Member
Joined
Sep 21, 2019
Messages
2,271
Anyone else have packet loss this evening? Do I assume its load shedding related?
Try restart everything again after loadshedding, I have noticed on my line and on someone I knows when the power comes back the packet loss on both our Vumatel lines is crazy but as soon as we reboot it's back to 0
 

r00igev@@r

Executive Member
Joined
Dec 14, 2009
Messages
9,168
This is the whole congestion thing all over again, but last time latency (and local download speed) was not a problem, just insane packetloss.

Edit: It is almost like they are trying to mitigate the packetloss by increasing the latency, but it is failing miserably.

EDit2: Looks like around 26 Feb, new area's around me went 'online'. And clearly they have not added any extra capacity....
That is typical head of queue blocking.
 

r00igev@@r

Executive Member
Joined
Dec 14, 2009
Messages
9,168
Try restart everything again after loadshedding, I have noticed on my line and on someone I knows when the power comes back the packet loss on both our Vumatel lines is crazy but as soon as we reboot it's back to 0
The firmware of the equipment used by the FNO cannot handle the connection count burst and reacts like it has experienced a DOS,. There should be a maximum connection rate and drops above that rate in the firmware.
 

CrypticZA

Expert Member
Joined
Sep 21, 2019
Messages
2,271
Anyone know if Onedrive is local or international?

Looking to get rid of our local on site server and replace with onedrive (not my choice) but need to know if its local or international since RSAWEB's international speeds are disgusting.
 

Overblaze

Active Member
Joined
Jun 12, 2013
Messages
84
Try restart everything again after loadshedding, I have noticed on my line and on someone I knows when the power comes back the packet loss on both our Vumatel lines is crazy but as soon as we reboot it's back to 0

Ill give this a shot tonight. Thanks
 

r00igev@@r

Executive Member
Joined
Dec 14, 2009
Messages
9,168
Anyone know if Onedrive is local or international?

Looking to get rid of our local on site server and replace with onedrive (not my choice) but need to know if its local or international since RSAWEB's international speeds are disgusting.
Yes, it goes via NAP in Joburg - I checked on wireshark.
 

r00igev@@r

Executive Member
Joined
Dec 14, 2009
Messages
9,168
Try restart everything again after loadshedding, I have noticed on my line and on someone I knows when the power comes back the packet loss on both our Vumatel lines is crazy but as soon as we reboot it's back to 0

reboot.gif
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top