Cool Ideas Fibre ISP – Feedback Thread 3

Status
Not open for further replies.

PBCool

Cool Ideas
Company Rep
Joined
Jan 11, 2016
Messages
11,825
@PBCool, @TheRoDent, I have been without internet for a week already with no resolution in sight as the Vuma service manager does not respond to your staff right. If I cancel with CISP would it be fair to request an immediate cancelation without the month notice, I mean CISP have not been providing me with a service anyways and I don't see why I should wait anymore.
Do you have a ticket number for me to escalate?
 

Furbz

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 22, 2010
Messages
335
And this right here it's exactly why I am leaving coolideas.
25mbps up and down line and I'm struggling to do basic streaming.
Full wired connection to TV.
Screen shots to show no connection at all through my phone over wifi.
Restarting the router has no effect.
So over this crap
Screenshot_20200318-210304_Settings.jpg Screenshot_20200318-210249_Settings.jpg 20200318_210205.jpg
 

Attachments

  • Screenshot_20200318-210304_Settings.jpg
    Screenshot_20200318-210304_Settings.jpg
    130 KB · Views: 16

Valdahur

Active Member
Joined
Jan 11, 2005
Messages
49
Vumatel - Glenanda
CPE power light flashing. Tried 5 minute disconnect, no improvement. Please advise.
(#COOL-20200318-396516)
 

TheRoDent

Cool Ideas Rep
Joined
Aug 6, 2003
Messages
5,963
And this right here it's exactly why I am leaving coolideas.
25mbps up and down line and I'm struggling to do basic streaming.
Full wired connection to TV.
Screen shots to show no connection at all through my phone over wifi.
Restarting the router has no effect.
So over this crap
View attachment 803057 View attachment 803063 View attachment 803065
We have Netflix caches in our network, so this shouldn't be the case... What does a regular speedtest do ?
 

TheRoDent

Cool Ideas Rep
Joined
Aug 6, 2003
Messages
5,963
Vumatel - Glenanda
CPE power light flashing. Tried 5 minute disconnect, no improvement. Please advise.
(#COOL-20200318-396516)
We don't have an announcement (to my knowledge) as to an outage in that area. The support staff will escalate it to Vumatel after having performed diagnostics with you in the morning.
 

RonSwanson

Honorary Master
Joined
May 21, 2018
Messages
11,368
Hello Guys, any issues with Midrand Metrofibre? My 25/25 went down at exactly 21H00.
Logged as #COOL-20200318-396564
 

TheRoDent

Cool Ideas Rep
Joined
Aug 6, 2003
Messages
5,963
No, all four are green (except Telephone, I do not have one).
That would mean that the connection from your ONT to the OLT (GPON head-end) is fine. Might be a backhaul issue from your POP to Teraco.

We are still seeing fairly normal traffic levels on the interconnect from MFN to us.
 

RonSwanson

Honorary Master
Joined
May 21, 2018
Messages
11,368
That would mean that the connection from your ONT to the OLT (GPON head-end) is fine. Might be a backhaul issue from your POP to Teraco.

We are still seeing fairly normal traffic levels on the interconnect from MFN to us.
Interesting. I guess that they will take a look in the morning then?
 

User52

Senior Member
Joined
Oct 9, 2014
Messages
582
Who is the FNO? That is normal for speedtest servers. I don't know if the "ping" can be called a "ping" on the speedtest.net dashboard as they use http and not ICMP to measure latency.
Yeah, but it definitely used to be 2-3 ms vs the 10-15 ms I have now. FNO is Link Africa.
 

User52

Senior Member
Joined
Oct 9, 2014
Messages
582
Can you post a trace to 8.8.8.8 for example? Or any of the hosts you are experiencing the increased latency to?
I will do tomorrow morning, thanks. Would be great to fix, as it was always much lower than it is now - 10 ms lower. Not sure if it’s FNO?
 

DYreX146

Senior Member
Joined
Nov 14, 2018
Messages
613
I will do tomorrow morning, thanks. Would be great to fix, as it was always much lower than it is now - 10 ms lower. Not sure if it’s FNO?
Not sure if it's the same issue but I've been complaining about this for months now and I've messaged PBCool and TheRoDent multiple times about the local Durban routing being a lot higher latency than it should be.

Examples here:
Code:
  1    <1 ms    <1 ms    <1 ms  192.168.1.1
  2     *        *        *     Request timed out.
  3     5 ms     5 ms     5 ms  c25-backbone.coolideas.co.za [154.0.1.77]
  4     5 ms     5 ms     5 ms  c2e-backbone.coolideas.co.za [154.0.1.86]
  5     4 ms     4 ms     4 ms  c2t-backbone.coolideas.co.za [154.0.1.101]
  6     5 ms     5 ms     2 ms  c1h-backbone.coolideas.co.za [154.0.1.53]
  7    31 ms    31 ms    32 ms  196-10-141-198.ixp.durban [196.10.141.198]
  8    32 ms    31 ms    31 ms  one.one.one.one [1.1.1.1]

Code:
1    <1 ms    <1 ms    <1 ms  192.168.1.1
  2     *        *        *     Request timed out.
  3     4 ms     5 ms     5 ms  c25-backbone.coolideas.co.za [154.0.1.77]
  4     4 ms     5 ms     5 ms  c2e-backbone.coolideas.co.za [154.0.1.86]
  5     4 ms     5 ms     5 ms  c2t-backbone.coolideas.co.za [154.0.1.101]
  6     4 ms     5 ms     5 ms  c1h-backbone.coolideas.co.za [154.0.1.53]
  7    16 ms    13 ms    14 ms  pch.ixp.durban [196.10.141.96]
  8    13 ms    14 ms    14 ms  dns9.quad9.net [9.9.9.9]
 

PBCool

Cool Ideas
Company Rep
Joined
Jan 11, 2016
Messages
11,825
Not sure if it's the same issue but I've been complaining about this for months now and I've messaged PBCool and TheRoDent multiple times about the local Durban routing being a lot higher latency than it should be.

Examples here:
Code:
 1  2 * * * Request timed out.
3 5 ms 5 ms 5 ms c25-backbone.coolideas.co.za [154.0.1.77]
4 5 ms 5 ms 5 ms c2e-backbone.coolideas.co.za [154.0.1.86]
5 4 ms 4 ms 4 ms c2t-backbone.coolideas.co.za [154.0.1.101]
6 5 ms 5 ms 2 ms c1h-backbone.coolideas.co.za [154.0.1.53]
7 31 ms 31 ms 32 ms 196-10-141-198.ixp.durban [196.10.141.198]
8 32 ms 31 ms 31 ms one.one.one.one [1.1.1.1]

Code:
1  2 * * * Request timed out.
3 4 ms 5 ms 5 ms c25-backbone.coolideas.co.za [154.0.1.77]
4 4 ms 5 ms 5 ms c2e-backbone.coolideas.co.za [154.0.1.86]
5 4 ms 5 ms 5 ms c2t-backbone.coolideas.co.za [154.0.1.101]
6 4 ms 5 ms 5 ms c1h-backbone.coolideas.co.za [154.0.1.53]
7 16 ms 13 ms 14 ms pch.ixp.durban [196.10.141.96]
8 13 ms 14 ms 14 ms dns9.quad9.net [9.9.9.9]
So first trace is announced that way which is CPT, second trace is JHB. What seems to be the problem?
 

DYreX146

Senior Member
Joined
Nov 14, 2018
Messages
613
So first trace is announced that way which is CPT, second trace is JHB. What seems to be the problem?
1.1.1.1 and 9.9.9.9 are supposed to be routing to Durban, some days I get 3ms to them and other days I get 30ms like you see here. Do you know the reason for this?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top