Cool Ideas Fibre ISP – Feedback Thread 3

AfricanTech

Honorary Master
Joined
Mar 19, 2010
Messages
35,172
Managed to replace my faulty cable with a CAT6 one.

Not quite double, but not too shabby.

Thanks CI and FF.


MyBB Speedtest:
Ping: 2ms
Download: 157.45Mbps
Upload: 165.87Mbps


|------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------|
| WinMTR statistics |
| Host - % | Sent | Recv | Best | Avrg | Wrst | Last |
|------------------------------------------------|------|------|------|------|------|------|
| router - 0 | 60 | 60 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| u6t-cust.coolideas.co.za - 0 | 60 | 60 | 1 | 1 | 2 | 1 |
| uwy-cust.coolideas.co.za - 0 | 60 | 60 | 1 | 1 | 3 | 2 |
| 100.98.0.50 - 0 | 60 | 60 | 16 | 17 | 22 | 18 |
| 100.99.1.231 - 0 | 60 | 60 | 17 | 18 | 38 | 18 |
| u5ah-cust.coolideas.co.za - 0 | 60 | 60 | 20 | 21 | 35 | 21 |
|________________________________________________|______|______|______|______|______|______|
WinMTR v0.92 GPL V2 by Appnor MSP - Fully Managed Hosting & Cloud Provider
 
Last edited:

PBCool

Cool Ideas
Joined
Jan 11, 2016
Messages
9,073
@PBCool @TheRoDent no idea how quick this is to diagnose, but I streamed for ~8 hours yesterday without any issues. Is there something I can test to check where the issues lies?
This was probably relative to a backhaul link that was playing up, we have bypassed it so you should be good again. Are you still having issues?
 

r00igev@@r

Executive Member
Joined
Dec 14, 2009
Messages
5,344
@TheRoDent @PBCool Before switching to cisp i was able to run multiple pppoe accounts on my openserve line simultaneously, but now its only allowing one account to connect at a time. When connecting the lan port 1 of the CPE to the lan on the router and with my cisp account connected on one device, no other devices can see the pppoe concentrator. Did openserve change something during lock down?
I have two accounts active. Do you mean two from cisp?
 

SandMan

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 31, 2003
Messages
169
Internet disconnecting in Bellville, northern suburbs on OpenServe since about 14:30 - urgently required for online team meeting.
 

krayon_za

Active Member
Joined
Sep 11, 2019
Messages
30
Something strange suddenly started happening, I was playing a game over Hamachi with some friends all of a sudden the routing changed and routing to them locally had around 600ms ping and now its died completely.
 

Loppas

Senior Member
Joined
Dec 16, 2014
Messages
645
I have two accounts active. Do you mean two from cisp?
Na not specifically. i just meant in general, I'v got a vox account which i use as backup. It was working 3-4 weeks ago when running multiple accounts at the same time.
 

TheRoDent

Cool Ideas Rep
Joined
Aug 6, 2003
Messages
4,870
Na not specifically. i just meant in general, I'v got a vox account which i use as backup. It was working 3-4 weeks ago when running multiple accounts at the same time.
I know telkom had a "max sessions per mac" limit at a point, and then didn't, perhaps try with an additional router, or a secondary interface ?

It could also be due to a BRAS change/upgrade on their side, or some new policy.
 

DeatheCore

Senior Member
Joined
Dec 4, 2006
Messages
740
Yo dudes, I know this is being investigated but just wanted to update you of another Vuma 1G disconnect that occured just earlier @ 19:59
1586455558044.png
 

micmuza

Member
Joined
Oct 30, 2019
Messages
14
Please can you assist. Asked for a line speed upgrade but hasn't been attended to... #COOL-20200408-411929
 

leppie

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 25, 2019
Messages
358
Another line speed upgrade request #COOL-20200406-409505

I enquired again this morning, but was told there was still no feedback. But from 3PM I have noticed a slight increase in download rate which implies something has been done by either CISP or Octotel. My package still shows 100/100.

1586459689625.png
 

TheRoDent

Cool Ideas Rep
Joined
Aug 6, 2003
Messages
4,870
Another line speed upgrade request #COOL-20200406-409505

I enquired again this morning, but was told there was still no feedback. But from 3PM I have noticed a slight increase in download rate which implies something has been done by either CISP or Octotel. My package still shows 100/100.

View attachment 817447
As per the ticket responses, still awaiting confirmation from Octotel. @PBCool and I cannot expedite any of that.

You REALLY want to break their backhaul now do you ? As a side note, upgrading to 1Gbps might require re-splicing or hooking you up to a less busy GPON port as well, so don't expect it to be a very quick process.
 

Loppas

Senior Member
Joined
Dec 16, 2014
Messages
645
@PBCool @TheRoDent Any issues on openserve in cape town? Since about 1am my line has been hard limited to 1mpbs. Tried all sorts of resets and stuff but to no avail.
 
Last edited:

PBCool

Cool Ideas
Joined
Jan 11, 2016
Messages
9,073
@PBCool @TheRoDent Any issues on openserve in cape town? Since about 1am my line has been hard limited to 1mpbs. Tried all sorts of resets and stuff but to no avail.
Melkbosstrand GPON 1 ISAM 11 - Data Service Down - Telkom Technician investigating (Low Utilization: Customer behavior) relative to you?
 

Loppas

Senior Member
Joined
Dec 16, 2014
Messages
645
Melkbosstrand GPON 1 ISAM 11 - Data Service Down - Telkom Technician investigating (Low Utilization: Customer behavior) relative to you?
No. I'm in kleinbosch, parow. I see theres a couple comments on down detector about it too from all over the country. So theres no notice from openserve?
 
Top