Cool Ideas Fibre ISP – Feedback Thread 3

grantduke

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 12, 2011
Messages
198
Having huge loss, even locally to the CISP relay, but I'm not sure when it started. Anyone else seeing this kind of performance?

I'm in Knysna on Openserve.

@PBCool

View attachment 844911
Looking at the trace Openserve related sadly, log it if it continues.
Same problem here in George, seems like a transit issue again to CPT. Seem to tyically resolve itself after about 24-48 hours.
1590253672411.png

Edit: Speedtest Added for (20/10 line)
 
Joined
Jan 8, 2018
Messages
19
Escalating via our Openserve AM for you.
So whatever "fix" Openserve tried didn't work. My internet has now gone down twice in the last 12 hours or so. Is there a direct line to Openserve? Whoever I spoke to on the phone and explained the situation clearly doesn't understand what could possibly be causing the issue. Someone on the more technical side needs to have a look at it but it seems like it's up to them to escalate it. This is getting so frustrating. I've had daily connectivity issues throughout the lockdown.
 

Markd

Senior Member
Joined
Oct 8, 2009
Messages
881
the random disconnects in Blouberg are continuing to happen. Seems like once in the early mornings and once in the afternoons. It's very frustrating.

Am I only in having this problem? Is anyone else in the area on Octotel having it? I am online quite a bit so if you aren't you might not notice it, but man its frustrating. Cut me off an important work call the other day.

Do i need to log this? Where?
 

PBCool

Cool Ideas
Joined
Jan 11, 2016
Messages
8,023
the random disconnects in Blouberg are continuing to happen. Seems like once in the early mornings and once in the afternoons. It's very frustrating.

Am I only in having this problem? Is anyone else in the area on Octotel having it? I am online quite a bit so if you aren't you might not notice it, but man its frustrating. Cut me off an important work call the other day.

Do i need to log this? Where?
If it is a continuous issue definitely log it.
 

PBCool

Cool Ideas
Joined
Jan 11, 2016
Messages
8,023
So whatever "fix" Openserve tried didn't work. My internet has now gone down twice in the last 12 hours or so. Is there a direct line to Openserve? Whoever I spoke to on the phone and explained the situation clearly doesn't understand what could possibly be causing the issue. Someone on the more technical side needs to have a look at it but it seems like it's up to them to escalate it. This is getting so frustrating. I've had daily connectivity issues throughout the lockdown.
Will follow-up again
 

netcruiser

Well-Known Member
Joined
Sep 21, 2012
Messages
319
What could cause the TTL to be exceeded when pinging the name server (154.0.1.1)? Routing loop?

ping 154.0.1.1
SEQ HOST SIZE TTL TIME STATUS
0 154.0.1.1 56 57 8ms
1 154.0.1.1 56 57 4ms
2 154.0.1.1 56 57 4ms
3 154.0.1.1 56 57 5ms
4 154.0.1.1 56 57 6ms
5 154.0.1.1 56 57 5ms
6 154.0.1.1 56 57 8ms
7 154.0.5.71 84 61 8ms TTL exceeded
8 154.0.5.71 84 61 6ms TTL exceeded
9 154.0.5.71 84 61 7ms TTL exceeded
10 154.0.1.1 56 57 11ms
11 154.0.1.1 56 57 5ms


ping 154.0.1.1
...
64 bytes from 154.0.1.1: icmp_seq=13 ttl=56 time=5.35 ms
64 bytes from 154.0.1.1: icmp_seq=14 ttl=56 time=8.26 ms
64 bytes from 154.0.1.1: icmp_seq=15 ttl=56 time=5.35 ms
64 bytes from 154.0.1.1: icmp_seq=16 ttl=56 time=5.19 ms
From 154.0.5.71 icmp_seq=17 Time to live exceeded
64 bytes from 154.0.1.1: icmp_seq=18 ttl=56 time=6.02 ms
64 bytes from 154.0.1.1: icmp_seq=19 ttl=56 time=5.13 ms
64 bytes from 154.0.1.1: icmp_seq=20 ttl=56 time=5.55 ms
64 bytes from 154.0.1.1: icmp_seq=21 ttl=56 time=7.77 ms
64 bytes from 154.0.1.1: icmp_seq=22 ttl=56 time=5.51 ms
64 bytes from 154.0.1.1: icmp_seq=23 ttl=56 time=5.83 ms
64 bytes from 154.0.1.1: icmp_seq=24 ttl=56 time=6.12 ms
64 bytes from 154.0.1.1: icmp_seq=25 ttl=56 time=10.1 ms
From 154.0.5.71 icmp_seq=26 Time to live exceeded
 

TheRoDent

Cool Ideas Rep
Joined
Aug 6, 2003
Messages
4,611
That normally indicates the route to 154.0.1.1 disappeared and came back. What network/FNO, and can you perhaps show/do an MTR when this happens?
 

netcruiser

Well-Known Member
Joined
Sep 21, 2012
Messages
319
That normally indicates the route to 154.0.1.1 disappeared and came back. What network/FNO, and can you perhaps show/do an MTR when this happens?
CoolIdeas/Openserve/Tshwane

I'll download the MTR software.

Here's a normal traceroute that seems to loop around 154.0.5.71:

traceroute 154.0.1.1
traceroute to 154.0.1.1 (154.0.1.1), 30 hops max, 60 byte packets
1 gateway (192.168.0.31) 1.197 ms 1.096 ms 1.016 ms
2 * * *
3 154.0.5.185 (154.0.5.185) 5.508 ms 4.702 ms 5.394 ms
4 154.0.5.190 (154.0.5.190) 5.323 ms 5.253 ms 5.191 ms
5 154.0.5.66 (154.0.5.66) 7.157 ms 100.99.1.226 (100.99.1.226) 9.095 ms 9.043 ms
6 154.0.5.71 (154.0.5.71) 7.636 ms 4.516 ms 4.494 ms
7 100.99.1.226 (100.99.1.226) 5.467 ms 154.0.1.138 (154.0.1.138) 8.633 ms 7.456 ms
8 100.99.0.97 (100.99.0.97) 6.066 ms 5.710 ms 6.030 ms
9 154.0.1.138 (154.0.1.138) 7.055 ms 100.99.1.226 (100.99.1.226) 25.562 ms *
10 * 154.0.5.71 (154.0.5.71) 6.312 ms 154.0.5.198 (154.0.5.198) 6.429 ms
11 * 100.99.1.226 (100.99.1.226) 4.489 ms *
12 * 154.0.5.71 (154.0.5.71) 4.595 ms *
13 * 100.99.1.226 (100.99.1.226) 4.407 ms *
14 * 154.0.5.71 (154.0.5.71) 5.026 ms 12.317 ms
15 100.99.1.226 (100.99.1.226) 18.207 ms 4.745 ms *
16 154.0.5.71 (154.0.5.71) 8.207 ms 6.524 ms *
17 * * *
18 * * *
19 * * *
20 * 154.0.5.71 (154.0.5.71) 4.482 ms *
21 100.99.1.226 (100.99.1.226) 4.675 ms * *
22 * * *
23 * * *
24 * 154.0.5.71 (154.0.5.71) 6.494 ms *
25 * * *
26 154.0.5.71 (154.0.5.71) 5.133 ms * *
27 * * *
28 154.0.5.71 (154.0.5.71) 5.903 ms 5.906 ms 5.865 ms
29 * 100.99.1.226 (100.99.1.226) 4.462 ms *
30 * * 154.0.5.71 (154.0.5.71) 4.244 ms



Edit:

MTR

|------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------|
| WinMTR statistics |
| Host - % | Sent | Recv | Best | Avrg | Wrst | Last |
|------------------------------------------------|------|------|------|------|------|------|
| gateway - 0 | 73 | 73 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 0 |
| No response from host - 100 | 14 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| 154.0.5.185 - 0 | 73 | 73 | 3 | 4 | 13 | 6 |
| 154.0.5.190 - 0 | 73 | 73 | 3 | 3 | 9 | 4 |
| 154.0.5.66 - 0 | 73 | 73 | 3 | 4 | 31 | 5 |
| core1.cisp.co.za - 0 | 73 | 73 | 3 | 5 | 12 | 5 |
|________________________________________________|______|______|______|______|______|______|
WinMTR v0.92 GPL V2 by Appnor MSP - Fully Managed Hosting & Cloud Provider
 

PBCool

Cool Ideas
Joined
Jan 11, 2016
Messages
8,023
CoolIdeas/Openserve/Tshwane

I'll download the MTR software.

Here's a normal traceroute that seems to loop around 154.0.5.71:

traceroute 154.0.1.1
traceroute to 154.0.1.1 (154.0.1.1), 30 hops max, 60 byte packets
1 gateway (192.168.0.31) 1.197 ms 1.096 ms 1.016 ms
2 * * *
3 154.0.5.185 (154.0.5.185) 5.508 ms 4.702 ms 5.394 ms
4 154.0.5.190 (154.0.5.190) 5.323 ms 5.253 ms 5.191 ms
5 154.0.5.66 (154.0.5.66) 7.157 ms 100.99.1.226 (100.99.1.226) 9.095 ms 9.043 ms
6 154.0.5.71 (154.0.5.71) 7.636 ms 4.516 ms 4.494 ms
7 100.99.1.226 (100.99.1.226) 5.467 ms 154.0.1.138 (154.0.1.138) 8.633 ms 7.456 ms
8 100.99.0.97 (100.99.0.97) 6.066 ms 5.710 ms 6.030 ms
9 154.0.1.138 (154.0.1.138) 7.055 ms 100.99.1.226 (100.99.1.226) 25.562 ms *
10 * 154.0.5.71 (154.0.5.71) 6.312 ms 154.0.5.198 (154.0.5.198) 6.429 ms
11 * 100.99.1.226 (100.99.1.226) 4.489 ms *
12 * 154.0.5.71 (154.0.5.71) 4.595 ms *
13 * 100.99.1.226 (100.99.1.226) 4.407 ms *
14 * 154.0.5.71 (154.0.5.71) 5.026 ms 12.317 ms
15 100.99.1.226 (100.99.1.226) 18.207 ms 4.745 ms *
16 154.0.5.71 (154.0.5.71) 8.207 ms 6.524 ms *
17 * * *
18 * * *
19 * * *
20 * 154.0.5.71 (154.0.5.71) 4.482 ms *
21 100.99.1.226 (100.99.1.226) 4.675 ms * *
22 * * *
23 * * *
24 * 154.0.5.71 (154.0.5.71) 6.494 ms *
25 * * *
26 154.0.5.71 (154.0.5.71) 5.133 ms * *
27 * * *
28 154.0.5.71 (154.0.5.71) 5.903 ms 5.906 ms 5.865 ms
29 * 100.99.1.226 (100.99.1.226) 4.462 ms *
30 * * 154.0.5.71 (154.0.5.71) 4.244 ms



Edit:

MTR

|------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------|
| WinMTR statistics |
| Host - % | Sent | Recv | Best | Avrg | Wrst | Last |
|------------------------------------------------|------|------|------|------|------|------|
| gateway - 0 | 73 | 73 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 0 |
| No response from host - 100 | 14 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| 154.0.5.185 - 0 | 73 | 73 | 3 | 4 | 13 | 6 |
| 154.0.5.190 - 0 | 73 | 73 | 3 | 3 | 9 | 4 |
| 154.0.5.66 - 0 | 73 | 73 | 3 | 4 | 31 | 5 |
| core1.cisp.co.za - 0 | 73 | 73 | 3 | 5 | 12 | 5 |
|________________________________________________|______|______|______|______|______|______|
WinMTR v0.92 GPL V2 by Appnor MSP - Fully Managed Hosting & Cloud Provider
Was this a temporary thing or is it ongoing?
 
Last edited:

netcruiser

Well-Known Member
Joined
Sep 21, 2012
Messages
319
Was this a temporary thing or is it ongoing?
Yes, it is ongoing. I switched to Google DNS a week or so ago when I first noticed DNS resolution sometimes takes 5s. I switched back to CISP DNS today and the issue is still there.

Right now it happens quite frequently:

eply from 154.0.1.1: bytes=32 time=5ms TTL=56
Reply from 154.0.5.71: TTL expired in transit.
Reply from 154.0.5.71: TTL expired in transit.
Reply from 154.0.1.1: bytes=32 time=4ms TTL=56
Reply from 154.0.1.1: bytes=32 time=6ms TTL=56
Reply from 154.0.1.1: bytes=32 time=5ms TTL=56
Reply from 154.0.1.1: bytes=32 time=8ms TTL=56
Reply from 154.0.1.1: bytes=32 time=7ms TTL=56
Reply from 154.0.1.1: bytes=32 time=5ms TTL=56
Reply from 154.0.1.1: bytes=32 time=5ms TTL=56
Reply from 154.0.5.71: TTL expired in transit.
Reply from 154.0.1.1: bytes=32 time=5ms TTL=56
Reply from 154.0.1.1: bytes=32 time=5ms TTL=56
Reply from 154.0.1.1: bytes=32 time=9ms TTL=56
Reply from 154.0.1.1: bytes=32 time=7ms TTL=56
Reply from 154.0.1.1: bytes=32 time=5ms TTL=56
Reply from 154.0.5.71: TTL expired in transit.
Reply from 154.0.1.1: bytes=32 time=6ms TTL=56

If I ping other addresses it is fine.
 

PBCool

Cool Ideas
Joined
Jan 11, 2016
Messages
8,023
Yes, it is ongoing. I switched to Google DNS a week or so ago when I first noticed DNS resolution sometimes takes 5s. I switched back to CISP DNS today and the issue is still there.

Right now it happens quite frequently:

eply from 154.0.1.1: bytes=32 time=5ms TTL=56
Reply from 154.0.5.71: TTL expired in transit.
Reply from 154.0.5.71: TTL expired in transit.
Reply from 154.0.1.1: bytes=32 time=4ms TTL=56
Reply from 154.0.1.1: bytes=32 time=6ms TTL=56
Reply from 154.0.1.1: bytes=32 time=5ms TTL=56
Reply from 154.0.1.1: bytes=32 time=8ms TTL=56
Reply from 154.0.1.1: bytes=32 time=7ms TTL=56
Reply from 154.0.1.1: bytes=32 time=5ms TTL=56
Reply from 154.0.1.1: bytes=32 time=5ms TTL=56
Reply from 154.0.5.71: TTL expired in transit.
Reply from 154.0.1.1: bytes=32 time=5ms TTL=56
Reply from 154.0.1.1: bytes=32 time=5ms TTL=56
Reply from 154.0.1.1: bytes=32 time=9ms TTL=56
Reply from 154.0.1.1: bytes=32 time=7ms TTL=56
Reply from 154.0.1.1: bytes=32 time=5ms TTL=56
Reply from 154.0.5.71: TTL expired in transit.
Reply from 154.0.1.1: bytes=32 time=6ms TTL=56

If I ping other addresses it is fine.
Ok thanks, rather arb will look into it, can you PM me your IP?
 
Top