Cool Ideas Fibre ISP – Feedback Thread 3

CrypticZA

Expert Member
Joined
Sep 21, 2019
Messages
1,118
For any CISP clients wanting to play on Bahrain servers you can use Cloudflare Warp for now:

https://1.1.1.1/Cloudflare_WARP_Release-x64.msi

It gives you the best routing to EU and ME.
I've been using Warp when I need to play on ME but like queue times are so bad in some games like Overwatch some people are waiting an hour for a competitive game. I have so many people asking me how to block the ME OW servers now lol
 

mrafiq1

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 8, 2008
Messages
314
Got a response from CI that there is a problem in Cape Town with Vumatel. It is primarily on the 1Gbps lines. CI are investigating and taking it up with Vuma.
I hope this is sorted soon. WFH so need my line working.
@PBCool , any further feedback on the random disconnects every few minutes on the 1Gbps lines?
Unusable when it keeps disconnecting like this.
Thanks
 

image132

Expert Member
Joined
Apr 3, 2010
Messages
1,310
I've been using Warp when I need to play on ME but like queue times are so bad in some games like Overwatch some people are waiting an hour for a competitive game. I have so many people asking me how to block the ME OW servers now lol
This sounds like the SACS cable all over again.
 

jannier

Expert Member
Joined
Jul 31, 2005
Messages
1,569
@PBCool , any further feedback on the random disconnects every few minutes on the 1Gbps lines?
Unusable when it keeps disconnecting like this.
Thanks

So have to wait for Sweden to get on it I assume.
 

PBCool

Cool Ideas
Joined
Jan 11, 2016
Messages
9,045
@PBCool , any further feedback on the random disconnects every few minutes on the 1Gbps lines?
Unusable when it keeps disconnecting like this.
Thanks
It's not random disconnects it's loads of packetloss feedback from Vumatel and VX is they don't see anything and will need their senior ZA engineer to investigate further, he is only available this morning apparently. I have escalated this to our AM as well.
 

CrypticZA

Expert Member
Joined
Sep 21, 2019
Messages
1,118
This sounds like the SACS cable all over again.
Yea not 100% sure i want Amazon direct to be enabled to be honest... Apex you choose your own server, Valorant you can too as well as Fortnite, but hearing a lot of complaints from the Overwatch community, its a drop in about 30ms but apparently you wait around for games forever and the game quality is horrible. I have messaged a few guys on Cool Ideas who play Overwatch and we just using Warp for the most part when we want to play on ME server, you get like 154ms to them vs 300ms normally.
 

PBCool

Cool Ideas
Joined
Jan 11, 2016
Messages
9,045
Yea not 100% sure i want Amazon direct to be enabled to be honest... Apex you choose your own server, Valorant you can too as well as Fortnite, but hearing a lot of complaints from the Overwatch community, its a drop in about 30ms but apparently you wait around for games forever and the game quality is horrible. I have messaged a few guys on Cool Ideas who play Overwatch and we just using Warp for the most part when we want to play on ME server, you get like 154ms to them vs 300ms normally.
Yes so what we may look at is just a VPN service or the like for this, realistically the effort to manage this vs the gain is typically not worth it. As you mention SACS all over again.
 

CrypticZA

Expert Member
Joined
Sep 21, 2019
Messages
1,118
Yes so what we may look at is just a VPN service or the like for this, realistically the effort to manage this vs the gain is typically not worth it. As you mention SACS all over again.
I've had an argument or a few with people over the weekend about this, a lot of people do not think its fair but after explaining what you guys do by carrying the traffic to UK to ensure our AWS connections get lower latency a few turned their arguments from angry to "oh that's pretty nice of them".

To put into perspective to get a competitive Overwatch damage role game can take you around 10-15 minutes... i saw people waiting 60 minutes on middle east servers yesterday, and then the only way around it is to block the IP's in your firewall or router i assume.

Had a few people who went from "oh wow this is great!" to "HOW DO I STOP GETTING ON THESE SERVERS?!?!"
 

TranQ

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 3, 2009
Messages
169
I've had an argument or a few with people over the weekend about this, a lot of people do not think its fair but after explaining what you guys do by carrying the traffic to UK to ensure our AWS connections get lower latency a few turned their arguments from angry to "oh that's pretty nice of them".

To put into perspective to get a competitive Overwatch damage role game can take you around 10-15 minutes... i saw people waiting 60 minutes on middle east servers yesterday, and then the only way around it is to block the IP's in your firewall or router i assume.

Had a few people who went from "oh wow this is great!" to "HOW DO I STOP GETTING ON THESE SERVERS?!?!"
Do you play Valorant?

So normally I play with a 170 ping to EU while players there typically have a ping of let's say 40 on average, so that's a difference of 130ms.

My friend is able to play on the Bahrain server at 130 with his ISP while EU players (majority of players connected to Bahrain server) he says get 90, so that's a difference of 40ms. According to him the experience is much better as we are put on a better playing field than when connected to EU servers i.e. difference of 130 vs 40ms.

Now unfortunely my ping to Bahrain with CI is 330 so I'm unable to have the same experience. I can't get WARP to work, it either struggles to connect or when connected I don't have an internet connection.
 

mrafiq1

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 8, 2008
Messages
314
It's not random disconnects it's loads of packetloss feedback from Vumatel and VX is they don't see anything and will need their senior ZA engineer to investigate further, he is only available this morning apparently. I have escalated this to our AM as well.
Thanks for the feedback. It manifests as a dropped connection on my router, hence me referring to it as random disconnects.
 

DeatheCore

Senior Member
Joined
Dec 4, 2006
Messages
739
Thanks for the feedback. It manifests as a dropped connection on my router, hence me referring to it as random disconnects.
Yeah it's major packetloss as well as intermittent disconnects, every few minutes.. very, very frustrating..
1603092157066.png
Code:
iperf3 -u -R -b 10M -p 17001 -c ter-cpt-iperf-1.cisp.co.za -O 1
Connecting to host ter-cpt-iperf-1.cisp.co.za, port 17001
Reverse mode, remote host ter-cpt-iperf-1.cisp.co.za is sending
[  5] local 192.168.1.199 port 61261 connected to 154.0.15.181 port 17001
[ ID] Interval           Transfer     Bitrate         Jitter    Lost/Total Datagrams
[  5]   0.00-1.00   sec  1.24 MBytes  10.4 Mbits/sec  0.121 ms  0/892 (0%)  (omitted)
[  5]   0.00-1.00   sec  1.06 MBytes  8.91 Mbits/sec  0.110 ms  0/763 (0%)
[  5]   1.00-2.00   sec  0.00 Bytes   0.00 bits/sec   0.110 ms  0/0 (0%)
[  5]   2.00-3.00   sec   516 KBytes  4.23 Mbits/sec  0.128 ms  1228/1590 (77%)
[  5]   3.00-4.00   sec   278 KBytes  2.28 Mbits/sec  0.186 ms  876/1071 (82%)
[  5]   4.00-5.00   sec  1.19 MBytes  10.0 Mbits/sec  0.088 ms  0/857 (0%)
[  5]   5.00-6.00   sec  1.01 MBytes  8.43 Mbits/sec  0.114 ms  0/722 (0%)
[  5]   6.00-7.00   sec  0.00 Bytes   0.00 bits/sec   0.114 ms  0/0 (0%)
[  5]   7.00-8.00   sec   971 KBytes  7.96 Mbits/sec  0.209 ms  1165/1846 (63%)
[  5]   8.00-9.00   sec  1.19 MBytes  10.0 Mbits/sec  0.127 ms  0/856 (0%)
[  5]   9.00-10.00  sec  1.19 MBytes  10.0 Mbits/sec  0.100 ms  0/856 (0%)
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
[ ID] Interval           Transfer     Bitrate         Jitter    Lost/Total Datagrams
[  5]   0.00-10.04  sec  12.0 MBytes  10.0 Mbits/sec  0.000 ms  0/8561 (0%)  sender
[  5]   0.00-10.00  sec  7.37 MBytes  6.18 Mbits/sec  0.100 ms  3269/8561 (38%)  receiver
 

CrypticZA

Expert Member
Joined
Sep 21, 2019
Messages
1,118
Do you play Valorant?

So normally I play with a 170 ping to EU while players there typically have a ping of let's say 40 on average, so that's a difference of 130ms.

My friend is able to play on the Bahrain server at 130 with his ISP while EU players (majority of players connected to Bahrain server) he says get 90, so that's a difference of 40ms. According to him the experience is much better as we are put on a better playing field than when connected to EU servers i.e. difference of 130 vs 40ms.

Now unfortunely my ping to Bahrain with CI is 330 so I'm unable to have the same experience. I can't get WARP to work, it either struggles to connect or when connected I don't have an internet connection.
From CT my Valorant ping was 143 with Warp i mainly play with EU people so i choose the London or Paris server rather since like UK to ME is around 120ms
 

PBCool

Cool Ideas
Joined
Jan 11, 2016
Messages
9,045
Yeah it's major packetloss as well as intermittent disconnects, every few minutes.. very, very frustrating..
View attachment 935318
Code:
iperf3 -u -R -b 10M -p 17001 -c ter-cpt-iperf-1.cisp.co.za -O 1
Connecting to host ter-cpt-iperf-1.cisp.co.za, port 17001
Reverse mode, remote host ter-cpt-iperf-1.cisp.co.za is sending
[ 5] local 192.168.1.199 port 61261 connected to 154.0.15.181 port 17001
[ ID] Interval Transfer Bitrate Jitter Lost/Total Datagrams
[ 5] 0.00-1.00 sec 1.24 MBytes 10.4 Mbits/sec 0.121 ms 0/892 (0%) (omitted)
[ 5] 0.00-1.00 sec 1.06 MBytes 8.91 Mbits/sec 0.110 ms 0/763 (0%)
[ 5] 1.00-2.00 sec 0.00 Bytes 0.00 bits/sec 0.110 ms 0/0 (0%)
[ 5] 2.00-3.00 sec 516 KBytes 4.23 Mbits/sec 0.128 ms 1228/1590 (77%)
[ 5] 3.00-4.00 sec 278 KBytes 2.28 Mbits/sec 0.186 ms 876/1071 (82%)
[ 5] 4.00-5.00 sec 1.19 MBytes 10.0 Mbits/sec 0.088 ms 0/857 (0%)
[ 5] 5.00-6.00 sec 1.01 MBytes 8.43 Mbits/sec 0.114 ms 0/722 (0%)
[ 5] 6.00-7.00 sec 0.00 Bytes 0.00 bits/sec 0.114 ms 0/0 (0%)
[ 5] 7.00-8.00 sec 971 KBytes 7.96 Mbits/sec 0.209 ms 1165/1846 (63%)
[ 5] 8.00-9.00 sec 1.19 MBytes 10.0 Mbits/sec 0.127 ms 0/856 (0%)
[ 5] 9.00-10.00 sec 1.19 MBytes 10.0 Mbits/sec 0.100 ms 0/856 (0%)
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
[ ID] Interval Transfer Bitrate Jitter Lost/Total Datagrams
[ 5] 0.00-10.04 sec 12.0 MBytes 10.0 Mbits/sec 0.000 ms 0/8561 (0%) sender
[ 5] 0.00-10.00 sec 7.37 MBytes 6.18 Mbits/sec 0.100 ms 3269/8561 (38%) receiver
This is apparently been fixed please confirm for me?
 

StrontiumDog

Honorary Master
Joined
Sep 2, 2006
Messages
10,117
Century City looks back up:

Apparently they replaced optic and moved to a new switch.
Just a question, how does it work whereby my friend in the adjacent complex using Century City Connect didn't experience any outage? He is with WebAfrica. Is it because they are using CCC via Frogfoot? I used to be on the CCC Frogfoot option too, and it used to be more expensive.
 

PBCool

Cool Ideas
Joined
Jan 11, 2016
Messages
9,045
Just a question, how does it work whereby my friend in the adjacent complex using Century City Connect didn't experience any outage? He is with WebAfrica. Is it because they are using CCC via Frogfoot? I used to be on the CCC Frogfoot option too, and it used to be more expensive.
This was relative to either just our NNI optic or switch other ISPs may not be affected depending on the network topology. We are awaiting the report from century city.
 

AsianSpaceman

Active Member
Joined
May 9, 2019
Messages
74
Just a question, how does it work whereby my friend in the adjacent complex using Century City Connect didn't experience any outage? He is with WebAfrica. Is it because they are using CCC via Frogfoot? I used to be on the CCC Frogfoot option too, and it used to be more expensive.
I wanted to ask this too, as I didn't see any notifications on other ISP websites about the outage, good to know and thanks @PBCool
 
Top