Cool Ideas Fibre ISP – Feedback Thread 3

Status
Not open for further replies.

PBCool

Cool Ideas
Company Rep
Joined
Jan 11, 2016
Messages
11,287
This traffic is not Amazon is it? I have know about this low latency for a while in Warzone if you can't get on a local server it would put you on these servers.
View attachment 990682
Yeah so typically we filter out all non-local ranges that way we transit international AWS traffic ourselves. But if they create and announce a new block we need to manually filter it again.
 

jannier

Expert Member
Joined
Jul 31, 2005
Messages
1,840
20210109_182436.jpg


20210109_182300.jpg


His router is plugged into that on port 1.

I'm going over there with a 4th cable to test and another laptop.

Plug that CAT5E cable into this device and then directly into the Laptop Ethernet connection, and establish a 1Gbps connection.

If that is successful then it can be that the router either does not have 1Gbps LAN ports or it is faulty.

EDIT: unplug the current cable from that device and then plug in your test cable to the same port, I suggest also cycle the power.
 

PBCool

Cool Ideas
Company Rep
Joined
Jan 11, 2016
Messages
11,287
Plug that CAT5E cable into this device and then directly into the Laptop Ethernet connection, and establish a 1Gbps connection.

If that is successful then it can be that the router either does not have 1Gbps LAN ports or it is faulty.
What they have been saying, also what model TPLink was supplied to you?
 

Armizael

Senior Member
Joined
May 31, 2006
Messages
553
Okay, 4th time seems to be the charm - the 3rd cat 5e cable works.

I still maintain that the issue could've been resolved way earlier if the Vumatel techie just had a device and an extra cable to test with.

He's returning the other cables since they're definitely not cat 5e, even though they say so.
 

jannier

Expert Member
Joined
Jul 31, 2005
Messages
1,840
Okay, 4th time seems to be the charm - the 3rd cat 5e cable works.

I still maintain that the issue could've been resolved way earlier if the Vumatel techie just had a device and an extra cable to test with.

He's returning the other cables since they're definitely not cat 5e, even though they say so.

Awesome, now just make sure that the correct model TPLink router was sent to your friend as asked by @PBCool because some models do not have 1Gbps ports.

But you will quickly notice that, if you plug your "working" CAT5E into the router and a working CAT5E from the Router to the PC/Laptop LAN port. Or just google the router model specs.
You need a router that have 1Gbps ports + CAT5E or greater working cables from the router to the PC/Laptop ethernet port.

The guys that come out to do the CPE/ONT are not Vumatel staff, they are appointed agents, and they do only the installations, they generally don't do any technical fault finding. They just replace a part.
Don't know why that is. I agree, they surely should test their work, would safe a lot of headaches and hassles.
 

Armizael

Senior Member
Joined
May 31, 2006
Messages
553
Awesome, now just make sure that the correct model TPLink router was sent to your friend as asked by @PBCool because some models do not have 1Gbps ports.

But you will quickly notice that, if you plug your "working" CAT5E into the router and a working CAT5E from the Router to the PC/Laptop LAN port. Or just google the router model specs.
You need a router that have 1Gbps ports + CAT5E or greater working cables from the router to the PC/Laptop ethernet port.

The guys that come out to do the CPE/ONT are not Vumatel staff, they are appointed agents, and they do only the installations, they generally don't do any technical fault finding. They just replace a part.
Don't know why that is. I agree, they surely should test their work, would safe a lot of headaches and hassles.
TP Link AC750 - it's all working fine now with the new cable.

Not sure why a CAT5 cable was sent with the AC750, but that's a different problem.

Ironically, all of the correct diagnosing was done before he even got in touch with CI about the 100mbps problem - he even got 2 more cables to test, which clearly aren't CAT 5e, even though the cables say they are. Super unlucky if you ask me.
 

PBCool

Cool Ideas
Company Rep
Joined
Jan 11, 2016
Messages
11,287
TP Link AC750 - it's all working fine now with the new cable.

Not sure why a CAT5 cable was sent with the AC750, but that's a different problem.

Ironically, all of the correct diagnosing was done before he even got in touch with CI about the 100mbps problem - he even got 2 more cables to test, which clearly aren't CAT 5e, even though the cables say they are. Super unlucky if you ask me.
An AC750 doesn't support gigabit so that is confusing?

Is he now testing direct with his PC?

It should be a C5/6
 

Loppas

Senior Member
Joined
Dec 16, 2014
Messages
690
An AC750 doesn't support gigabit so that is confusing?

Is he now testing direct with his PC?

It should be a C5/6
The AC750 does support gigabit, its the ones you guys supply with the >100mbps lines.
 

jannier

Expert Member
Joined
Jul 31, 2005
Messages
1,840
TP Link AC750 - it's all working fine now with the new cable.

Not sure why a CAT5 cable was sent with the AC750, but that's a different problem.

Ironically, all of the correct diagnosing was done before he even got in touch with CI about the 100mbps problem - he even got 2 more cables to test, which clearly aren't CAT 5e, even though the cables say they are. Super unlucky if you ask me.
As @PBCool says, that could be the wrong router.


AC750 aka C20
1610219258020.png

It is not 1Gpbs capable and that is why it came with CAT5 cable.

EDIT: Unless it is the AC750 aka C2

https://www.tp-link.com/us/home-networking/wifi-router/archer-c2/#specifications


1610219575706.png
 
Last edited:

PBCool

Cool Ideas
Company Rep
Joined
Jan 11, 2016
Messages
11,287
The AC750 does support gigabit, its the ones you guys supply with the >100mbps lines.
Typically the AC750 is the Archer C20, for the >100Mbps it's usually a C5 or C6, is my understanding at least :)
 

Armizael

Senior Member
Joined
May 31, 2006
Messages
553
Typically the AC750 is the Archer C20, for the >100Mbps it's usually a C5 or C6, is my understanding at least :)
Yeah, it's the C20 - he's got a gigabit capable Asus router so he's not using the TP Link one anyway.
 

thehuman

Expert Member
Joined
Nov 2, 2004
Messages
3,821
There should be a separate blue lan cable with that router in a plastic bag , those work 100% on my 500mbps line
 

PBCool

Cool Ideas
Company Rep
Joined
Jan 11, 2016
Messages
11,287
Yeah, it's the C20 - he's got a gigabit capable Asus router so he's not using the TP Link one anyway.
That's the wrong router so investigating why it was supplied, the C20 will come with a CAT5 cable and we supply an additional CAT5E cable (the blue cable)

But it seems like cables have been the source of the issue here.
 

Deanoblado

Senior Member
Joined
Feb 14, 2012
Messages
640
On the topic of routers, i need a new one. Should i future proof and go for wifi 6? looking the the TP-Link range of routers. Archer C80 Archer C80 | AC1900 Wireless MU-MIMO Wi-Fi Router | TP-Link South Africa (tp-link.com)

Archer A9 Archer A9 | AC1900 Wireless MU-MIMO Gigabit Router | TP-Link South Africa (tp-link.com)

Archer AX10 Archer AX10 | AX1500 Wi-Fi 6 Router | TP-Link South Africa (tp-link.com)

Ax10 is the only wifi 6 router of the three, looking to spend max 2k.

I need better wifi coverage and multiple device support without affecting performance.

Any guidance appreciated.
 

PBCool

Cool Ideas
Company Rep
Joined
Jan 11, 2016
Messages
11,287
On the topic of routers, i need a new one. Should i future proof and go for wifi 6? looking the the TP-Link range of routers. Archer C80 Archer C80 | AC1900 Wireless MU-MIMO Wi-Fi Router | TP-Link South Africa (tp-link.com)

Archer A9 Archer A9 | AC1900 Wireless MU-MIMO Gigabit Router | TP-Link South Africa (tp-link.com)

Archer AX10 Archer AX10 | AX1500 Wi-Fi 6 Router | TP-Link South Africa (tp-link.com)

Ax10 is the only wifi 6 router of the three, looking to spend max 2k.

I need better wifi coverage and multiple device support without affecting performance.

Any guidance appreciated.
For better coverage rather run cable with additional access points, spending tons of money on a single device wont solve the issue typically.
 

TheRoDent

Cool Ideas Rep
Joined
Aug 6, 2003
Messages
5,713
On the topic of routers, i need a new one. Should i future proof and go for wifi 6? looking the the TP-Link range of routers. Archer C80 Archer C80 | AC1900 Wireless MU-MIMO Wi-Fi Router | TP-Link South Africa (tp-link.com)

Archer A9 Archer A9 | AC1900 Wireless MU-MIMO Gigabit Router | TP-Link South Africa (tp-link.com)

Archer AX10 Archer AX10 | AX1500 Wi-Fi 6 Router | TP-Link South Africa (tp-link.com)

Ax10 is the only wifi 6 router of the three, looking to spend max 2k.

I need better wifi coverage and multiple device support without affecting performance.

Any guidance appreciated.
If you want to future proof your WiFi "LAN" and have high throughput to/from local servers on your LAN, then certainly look at WiFi 6.

If however your concern is good coverage, and generally good throughput to the internet I would agree with @PBCool, and get multiple cabled AC-capable access points everywhere in your premises.

Multiple cabled access points running in different channels generally provide amazing performance. Ubiquiti's lineup performs very well in general.
 

WhiteyOP

Active Member
Joined
Sep 8, 2013
Messages
52
Hi Guys, @TheRoDent

Anyone else down again in Sunningdale, Cape Town, FNO frog foot.?

#COOL-20210111-583448 for reference.
 
Last edited:

CrypticZA

Expert Member
Joined
Sep 21, 2019
Messages
1,968
Code:
TRACEROUTE:
traceroute to 155.93.254.190 (155.93.254.), 15 hops max, 60 byte packets
 1  Blizzard Blizzard  0.317 ms  0.303 ms  0.300 ms
 2  * * *
 3  Blizzard Blizzard  0.900 ms  0.899 ms  1.083 ms
 4  137.221.66.40 (137.221.66.40)  0.874 ms  0.878 ms  0.875 ms
 5  137.221.78.54 (137.221.78.54)  154.127 ms  154.137 ms  154.124 ms
 6  * * *
 7  137.221.65.90 (137.221.65.90)  8.763 ms  8.759 ms  8.757 ms
 8  137.221.79.32 (137.221.79.32)  8.716 ms  8.730 ms  8.741 ms
 9  195.66.227.27 (195.66.227.27)  7.216 ms  8.630 ms  7.175 ms
10  u101-cust.coolideas.co.za (154.0.5.17)  7.381 ms  7.398 ms  7.403 ms
11  * * *
12  * * *
13  c3i-backbone.coolideas.co.za (154.0.1.126)  150.625 ms  152.727 ms  152.885 ms
14  um5f-cust.coolideas.co.za (155.93.240.35)  214.946 ms  197.691 ms  159.000 ms
15  up1a-cust.coolideas.co.za (155.93.254.)  149.838 ms  148.451 ms  148.278 ms

11/01/2021 19:17:37 UTC
--------------------

TRACEROUTE:
traceroute to 155.93.254.190 (155.93.254.), 15 hops max, 60 byte packets
 1  Blizzard Blizzard  0.422 ms  0.403 ms  0.397 ms
 2  37.244.25.130 (37.244.25.130)  282.067 ms  282.212 ms  294.978 ms
 3  Blizzard Blizzard  0.916 ms  0.936 ms  0.937 ms
 4  137.221.66.32 (137.221.66.32)  0.736 ms  0.757 ms  0.759 ms
 5  137.221.77.76 (137.221.77.76)  91.770 ms  91.794 ms  91.797 ms
 6  137.221.65.35 (137.221.65.35)  7.479 ms  7.642 ms  7.616 ms
 7  137.221.65.19 (137.221.65.19)  7.574 ms  7.572 ms  7.569 ms
 8  137.221.79.34 (137.221.79.34)  7.636 ms  7.655 ms  7.655 ms
 9  195.66.227.27 (195.66.227.27)  7.905 ms  7.893 ms  7.886 ms
10  u101-cust.coolideas.co.za (154.0.5.17)  8.050 ms  8.052 ms  7.978 ms
11  * * *
12  * * *
13  c3i-backbone.coolideas.co.za (154.0.1.126)  154.409 ms  154.297 ms  154.405 ms
14  um5f-cust.coolideas.co.za (155.93.240.35)  155.915 ms  177.032 ms  177.448 ms
15  up1a-cust.coolideas.co.za (155.93.254.)  148.894 ms  148.726 ms  148.718 ms

11/01/2021 19:17:38 UTC
--------------------

MTR:
Start: Mon Jan 11 19:17:37 2021 Blizzard  1.|-- Blizzard                             0.0%    10    0.3   0.3   0.2   0.3   0.0
  2.|-- 37.244.24.131                            40.0%    10  292.5 299.7 280.2 330.8  17.4
  3.|-- Blizzard                             0.0%    10    0.7   0.8   0.6   1.0   0.0
  4.|-- 137.221.66.40                             0.0%    10   15.0  10.9   0.3  43.4  13.5
  5.|-- 137.221.78.54                             0.0%    10  403.3 111.7   6.7 403.3 139.3
  6.|-- ???                                      100.0    10    0.0   0.0   0.0   0.0   0.0
  7.|-- 137.221.65.90                             0.0%    10    6.8  85.7   6.7 289.9  96.3
  8.|-- 137.221.79.32                             0.0%    10   13.0  22.2   6.9  86.9  25.1
  9.|-- 195.66.227.27                             0.0%    10    7.2   7.6   7.2  10.4   0.8
 10.|-- u101-cust.coolideas.co.za                 0.0%    10    7.4   7.3   7.2   7.5   0.0
 11.|-- ???                                      100.0    10    0.0   0.0   0.0   0.0   0.0
 12.|-- ???                                      100.0    10    0.0   0.0   0.0   0.0   0.0
 13.|-- c3i-backbone.coolideas.co.za              0.0%    10  149.3 151.1 148.5 157.5   2.8
 14.|-- um5f-cust.coolideas.co.za                 0.0%    10  149.2 152.1 149.2 160.9   4.1
 15.|-- up1a-cust.coolideas.co.za                 0.0%    10  148.0 149.4 148.0 152.5   1.6

11/01/2021 19:17:37 UTC
--------------------

MTR:
Start: Mon Jan 11 19:17:38 2021 Blizzard
  1.|-- Blizzard                 0.0%    10    0.3   0.3   0.3   0.4   0.0
  2.|-- 37.244.25.130                10.0%    10  289.8 299.7 268.5 320.7  19.9
  3.|-- Blizzard                  0.0%    10    0.9   0.9   0.7   1.2   0.0
  4.|-- 137.221.66.32                 0.0%    10    0.6   5.0   0.4  45.0  14.0
  5.|-- 137.221.77.76                 0.0%    10   38.1  42.5   7.4 190.7  64.7
  6.|-- 137.221.65.35                 0.0%    10   21.6  13.6   7.4  29.4   9.0
  7.|-- 137.221.65.19                 0.0%    10    7.5   9.4   7.3  27.0   6.2
  8.|-- 137.221.79.34                 0.0%    10    7.6   7.6   7.5   7.8   0.0
  9.|-- 195.66.227.27                 0.0%    10    8.0   8.0   7.9   8.1   0.0
 10.|-- u101-cust.coolideas.co.za     0.0%    10    8.0   8.0   7.9   8.2   0.0
 11.|-- ???                          100.0    10    0.0   0.0   0.0   0.0   0.0
 12.|-- ???                          100.0    10    0.0   0.0   0.0   0.0   0.0
 13.|-- c3i-backbone.coolideas.co.za  0.0%    10  150.0 151.6 149.3 153.6   1.3
 14.|-- um5f-cust.coolideas.co.za     0.0%    10  150.3 173.8 150.3 271.7  37.7
 15.|-- up1a-cust.coolideas.co.za     0.0%    10  149.4 150.5 149.2 152.4   0.8


11/01/2021 19:17:37 UTC
--------------------

Seeing rather poor performance while playing Overwatch tonight um5f-cust.coolideas.co.za (155.93.240.35) seems to have rather inconsistent pings is this a potential cause?
 

PBCool

Cool Ideas
Company Rep
Joined
Jan 11, 2016
Messages
11,287
Code:
TRACEROUTE:
traceroute to 155.93.254.190 (155.93.254.), 15 hops max, 60 byte packets
1 Blizzard Blizzard 0.317 ms 0.303 ms 0.300 ms
2 * * *
3 Blizzard Blizzard 0.900 ms 0.899 ms 1.083 ms
4 137.221.66.40 (137.221.66.40) 0.874 ms 0.878 ms 0.875 ms
5 137.221.78.54 (137.221.78.54) 154.127 ms 154.137 ms 154.124 ms
6 * * *
7 137.221.65.90 (137.221.65.90) 8.763 ms 8.759 ms 8.757 ms
8 137.221.79.32 (137.221.79.32) 8.716 ms 8.730 ms 8.741 ms
9 195.66.227.27 (195.66.227.27) 7.216 ms 8.630 ms 7.175 ms
10 u101-cust.coolideas.co.za (154.0.5.17) 7.381 ms 7.398 ms 7.403 ms
11 * * *
12 * * *
13 c3i-backbone.coolideas.co.za (154.0.1.126) 150.625 ms 152.727 ms 152.885 ms
14 um5f-cust.coolideas.co.za (155.93.240.35) 214.946 ms 197.691 ms 159.000 ms
15 up1a-cust.coolideas.co.za (155.93.254.) 149.838 ms 148.451 ms 148.278 ms

11/01/2021 19:17:37 UTC
--------------------

TRACEROUTE:
traceroute to 155.93.254.190 (155.93.254.), 15 hops max, 60 byte packets
1 Blizzard Blizzard 0.422 ms 0.403 ms 0.397 ms
2 37.244.25.130 (37.244.25.130) 282.067 ms 282.212 ms 294.978 ms
3 Blizzard Blizzard 0.916 ms 0.936 ms 0.937 ms
4 137.221.66.32 (137.221.66.32) 0.736 ms 0.757 ms 0.759 ms
5 137.221.77.76 (137.221.77.76) 91.770 ms 91.794 ms 91.797 ms
6 137.221.65.35 (137.221.65.35) 7.479 ms 7.642 ms 7.616 ms
7 137.221.65.19 (137.221.65.19) 7.574 ms 7.572 ms 7.569 ms
8 137.221.79.34 (137.221.79.34) 7.636 ms 7.655 ms 7.655 ms
9 195.66.227.27 (195.66.227.27) 7.905 ms 7.893 ms 7.886 ms
10 u101-cust.coolideas.co.za (154.0.5.17) 8.050 ms 8.052 ms 7.978 ms
11 * * *
12 * * *
13 c3i-backbone.coolideas.co.za (154.0.1.126) 154.409 ms 154.297 ms 154.405 ms
14 um5f-cust.coolideas.co.za (155.93.240.35) 155.915 ms 177.032 ms 177.448 ms
15 up1a-cust.coolideas.co.za (155.93.254.) 148.894 ms 148.726 ms 148.718 ms

11/01/2021 19:17:38 UTC
--------------------

MTR:
Start: Mon Jan 11 19:17:37 2021 Blizzard 1.|-- Blizzard 0.0% 10 0.3 0.3 0.2 0.3 0.0
2.|-- 37.244.24.131 40.0% 10 292.5 299.7 280.2 330.8 17.4
3.|-- Blizzard 0.0% 10 0.7 0.8 0.6 1.0 0.0
4.|-- 137.221.66.40 0.0% 10 15.0 10.9 0.3 43.4 13.5
5.|-- 137.221.78.54 0.0% 10 403.3 111.7 6.7 403.3 139.3
6.|-- ??? 100.0 10 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0
7.|-- 137.221.65.90 0.0% 10 6.8 85.7 6.7 289.9 96.3
8.|-- 137.221.79.32 0.0% 10 13.0 22.2 6.9 86.9 25.1
9.|-- 195.66.227.27 0.0% 10 7.2 7.6 7.2 10.4 0.8
10.|-- u101-cust.coolideas.co.za 0.0% 10 7.4 7.3 7.2 7.5 0.0
11.|-- ??? 100.0 10 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0
12.|-- ??? 100.0 10 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0
13.|-- c3i-backbone.coolideas.co.za 0.0% 10 149.3 151.1 148.5 157.5 2.8
14.|-- um5f-cust.coolideas.co.za 0.0% 10 149.2 152.1 149.2 160.9 4.1
15.|-- up1a-cust.coolideas.co.za 0.0% 10 148.0 149.4 148.0 152.5 1.6

11/01/2021 19:17:37 UTC
--------------------

MTR:
Start: Mon Jan 11 19:17:38 2021 Blizzard
1.|-- Blizzard 0.0% 10 0.3 0.3 0.3 0.4 0.0
2.|-- 37.244.25.130 10.0% 10 289.8 299.7 268.5 320.7 19.9
3.|-- Blizzard 0.0% 10 0.9 0.9 0.7 1.2 0.0
4.|-- 137.221.66.32 0.0% 10 0.6 5.0 0.4 45.0 14.0
5.|-- 137.221.77.76 0.0% 10 38.1 42.5 7.4 190.7 64.7
6.|-- 137.221.65.35 0.0% 10 21.6 13.6 7.4 29.4 9.0
7.|-- 137.221.65.19 0.0% 10 7.5 9.4 7.3 27.0 6.2
8.|-- 137.221.79.34 0.0% 10 7.6 7.6 7.5 7.8 0.0
9.|-- 195.66.227.27 0.0% 10 8.0 8.0 7.9 8.1 0.0
10.|-- u101-cust.coolideas.co.za 0.0% 10 8.0 8.0 7.9 8.2 0.0
11.|-- ??? 100.0 10 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0
12.|-- ??? 100.0 10 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0
13.|-- c3i-backbone.coolideas.co.za 0.0% 10 150.0 151.6 149.3 153.6 1.3
14.|-- um5f-cust.coolideas.co.za 0.0% 10 150.3 173.8 150.3 271.7 37.7
15.|-- up1a-cust.coolideas.co.za 0.0% 10 149.4 150.5 149.2 152.4 0.8


11/01/2021 19:17:37 UTC
--------------------

Seeing rather poor performance while playing Overwatch tonight um5f-cust.coolideas.co.za (155.93.240.35) seems to have rather inconsistent pings is this a potential cause?
Nah that's an internal IP on Vumatels network if I'm not mistaken, I'll have a look into Overwatch anyway.

As with the other cases I've seen is this only happening at peak times?
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top