Cool Ideas Fibre ISP – Feedback Thread 3

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mike Hoxbig

Honorary Master
Joined
Apr 25, 2010
Messages
36,199
Second SADV/Vuma outage for us in a week. Last time was after load shedding.

For the past week the connection has also been pretty unstable, with random spikes...
 

chrisGolf

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 30, 2019
Messages
127
Second SADV/Vuma outage for us in a week. Last time was after load shedding.

For the past week the connection has also been pretty unstable, with random spikes...
well if it's load shedding that causing the issues, that's a bit disappointing, you'd expect VUMTEL/SADV to protect their equipment with a generator /batteries/ UPS ?
 

Bl1zz4rd

Senior Member
Joined
Jul 2, 2010
Messages
632
Seems a lot more stable now in Southern Suburbs, CT. Hopefully that lasts.

Edit: never mind, there it goes again. RIP.
 
Last edited:

chrisGolf

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 30, 2019
Messages
127
@PBCool your support team keep closing my ticket, even though the link is still down? is it because the fault is not with CISP?
 

PBCool

Cool Ideas
Company Rep
Joined
Jan 11, 2016
Messages
9,606

#COOL-20210121-592069​

Yes if it is related to the outage it will be closed, if after the outage it is still down then log it again. Hence why the response says to check the announcements page for resolution :)
 

chrisGolf

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 30, 2019
Messages
127
Yes if it is related to the outage it will be closed, if after the outage it is still down then log it again. Hence why the response says to check the announcements page for resolution :)
so you wash your hands of the issue once it's the FNO ? I have no direct contact to the FNO, in fact if I contact Vumtel they will tell me to get lost. also the announcement says "Suspected outage" ? I'm paying CISP, not vumtel, I expect you to be on top of them to resolve the issue, push for an ETR so we can plan around the issue etc.
 

PBCool

Cool Ideas
Company Rep
Joined
Jan 11, 2016
Messages
9,606
so you wash your hands of the issue once it's the FNO ? I have no direct contact to the FNO, in fact if I contact Vumtel they will tell me to get lost. also the announcement says "Suspected outage" ? I'm paying CISP, not vumtel, I expect you to be on top of them to resolve the issue, push for an ETR so we can plan around the issue etc.
No we don't wash our hands of the issue, but we can't effectively track and manage tickets if they are logged due to the outage, hence advising to monitor the announcements page and if resolved and your line doesn't restore log another fault.

It will be marked as a suspected outage first (when we receive hundreds of phone calls) then confirmed as an outage as it is now.

We push for updates constantly and that what we receive we post to the announcements page.

These are best effort services so my advice is that, if your connectivity is critical always have a backup/alternative. Outages happen from time to time.
 

jannier

Expert Member
Joined
Jul 31, 2005
Messages
1,683
View attachment 998336

Vumatel busy dying again?

@PBCool

I see you also having issues from your 2nd hop, 155.93.254.1
The last few weeks I have been having these extremely random interruptions in my service, like the internet will become sluggish or stall, pages won't load for a few seconds It only lasts for a few moments.
But noticeable when I do certain tasks, like uploading via FTP files to our work server. The upload just stalls and I have to reconnect and resume the upload.
And then when I run a pingplotter there is always packet loss at that 2nd hop and most of the time going all the way to the destination.
Vuma had some installation techies here a few days ago, but they could not help. Just said levels look good.

I don't know how the network topography / layout works, but something or some hardware involved in the loop at that 154.93.254.1 in my case 154.93.237.1 is randomly "acting up".
 

Markd

Expert Member
Joined
Oct 8, 2009
Messages
1,040
I seem to be getting some very slow responses this morning in Cape Town:

Tracing route to www.takealot.com [104.19.175.61]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms 192.168.0.1
2 2 ms 3 ms 2 ms 154.0.0.246
3 2 ms 1 ms 1 ms 154.0.4.162
4 3 ms 2 ms 3 ms 196.26.90.82
5 3 ms 3 ms 3 ms mi-za-cpt-p7-te0-7-0-0.ip.isnet.net [168.209.2.12]
6 34 ms 29 ms 29 ms mi-za-umh-p8-ten-0-0-1-3-147.ip.isnet.net [168.209.0.24]
7 29 ms 29 ms 29 ms pr1-umh-xe-0-0-0.ip.isnet.net [168.209.93.211]
8 33 ms * 33 ms cloudflare.dinx.net.za [196.223.30.109]
9 * 29 ms 29 ms 104.19.175.61

Couple of drops there but otherwise normal?
 

TheLostPacket

Member
Joined
Oct 31, 2019
Messages
17
I think Cloudflare has a issue I also have a issue with Takealot (uses Cloudflare) and have constant timeouts to 1.1.1.1 but 1.0.0.1 seems fine
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top