Cool Ideas Fibre ISP – Feedback Thread 3

Status
Not open for further replies.

PBCool

Cool Ideas
Company Rep
Joined
Jan 11, 2016
Messages
10,778
@PBCool I seem to still be having the issue where the videos from Youtube take around 20-60sec to load still on my phone and around 10sec on my chrome desktop. Will the change take some time to filter through? Or should we see it immediately?
Yeah we have dropped the peering in KZN please test again for me, also which DNS servers are you using?
 

Cerberus

Well-Known Member
Joined
Sep 8, 2003
Messages
255
@PBCool Its fixed! amazing thank you so much. It was just frustrating to wait for each video to load for so long.

Thanks you so much.
 

furpile

Expert Member
Joined
Jul 14, 2014
Messages
3,412
@PBCool my connection just died, Vodacom fibre in Richards Bay. Rebooted router, got an error saying my credentials are incorrect. Rebooted ONT and router again, now it just sits at connecting. Fibre light on router stays orange, ONT all green. I will PM you my account details as well.
 

furpile

Expert Member
Joined
Jul 14, 2014
Messages
3,412
@PBCool my connection just died, Vodacom fibre in Richards Bay. Rebooted router, got an error saying my credentials are incorrect. Rebooted ONT and router again, now it just sits at connecting. Fibre light on router stays orange, ONT all green. I will PM you my account details as well.
Working again. Thanks
 

Meyrcruywagen

Active Member
Joined
Jun 25, 2015
Messages
33
@PBCool Might be a old question, but please help: Why do we on CoolIdeas have a higher latency to AWS middle-east servers than my neighbors also on Frogfoot, but with VOX? Any ideas?
 

PBCool

Cool Ideas
Company Rep
Joined
Jan 11, 2016
Messages
10,778
@PBCool Might be a old question, but please help: Why do we on CoolIdeas have a higher latency to AWS middle-east servers than my neighbors also on Frogfoot, but with VOX? Any ideas?
We need to sticky this somehow :)

We have elected to not use AWS transit because most of the time they use East coast undersea cables with higher latency to Europe, basically then having higher latency to all international games.

Also certain games will force you to use lower latency regions, which lots of customers also don't want as they don't want to play in the ME.

Doing it the above way is actually more expensive as we use our own capacity instead of Amazon's.

It was a similar issue we had when turning up SACS capacity.
 

RedViking

Nord of the South
Joined
Feb 23, 2012
Messages
39,746
@PBCool my connection just died, Vodacom fibre in Richards Bay. Rebooted router, got an error saying my credentials are incorrect. Rebooted ONT and router again, now it just sits at connecting. Fibre light on router stays orange, ONT all green. I will PM you my account details as well.
Mine keeps on dying, up for a couple of minutes, dead, working, dead, working, dead.

RB, Vodacom

@PBCool


I have now switched over to MTN Fixed LTE so I can just get going on the Hitman 3 download. The moment I switch to Fibre it will run for 10 minutes, then dead.
 

cenredash

Expert Member
Joined
Jan 21, 2010
Messages
3,582
I haven't ever done these so just hoping to find out if my stats are OK.

Trying to play fifa 21 on xbox and have a latency of 163 ms as reported by xbox. My router is 3m away and connecting via 5ghz.

I'm on openserve in cape Town.

Ive had overall OK experience but not great and always assumed my opponent was the problem.
 

Popcornzz

New Member
Joined
Sep 27, 2019
Messages
7
@PBCool I'm also having packet loss issue and been having it pretty much every night. It seems to be some route to a server in Paris or something that's one of the issues. Any chance you guys might be able to help? I don't think the guy from support is gonna be able to help me with this as I don't really know how to respond to his latest answer.
MTR traces attached in ticket (router and ont connected tests)
#COOL-20210116-587878
 

PBCool

Cool Ideas
Company Rep
Joined
Jan 11, 2016
Messages
10,778
@PBCool I'm also having packet loss issue and been having it pretty much every night. It seems to be some route to a server in Paris or something that's one of the issues. Any chance you guys might be able to help? I don't think the guy from support is gonna be able to help me with this as I don't really know how to respond to his latest answer.
MTR traces attached in ticket (router and ont connected tests)
#COOL-20210116-587878
Thanks briefly looking at your traces they don't show any loss to your destination, remember loss along a path doesn't matter unless it compounds.

Do you experience the loss in game? And have you noticed only at peak times?
 

CrypticZA

Expert Member
Joined
Sep 21, 2019
Messages
1,824
Thanks briefly looking at your traces they don't show any loss to your destination, remember loss along a path doesn't matter unless it compounds.

Do you experience the loss in game? And have you noticed only at peak times?
If their traces were from last night things were not great last night again. Went through a few days where things were perfect but seems to be going back to its old way during peak again.

Noticed it in Overwatch and Valorant now
 

Radioboy

Senior Member
Joined
Apr 12, 2013
Messages
929
If their traces were from last night things were not great last night again. Went through a few days where things were perfect but seems to be going back to its old way during peak again.

Noticed it in Overwatch and Valorant now

Ive noticed the same during Overwatch today. Fairland/Vuma.
 

Markd

Expert Member
Joined
Oct 8, 2009
Messages
1,323
connection has dropped 3 times today out in Blouberg, on Octotel. Something wrong? This is a lot more than 'usual'.

edit: make that 4 times.
 
Last edited:

Popcornzz

New Member
Joined
Sep 27, 2019
Messages
7
Thanks briefly looking at your traces they don't show any loss to your destination, remember loss along a path doesn't matter unless it compounds.

Do you experience the loss in game? And have you noticed only at peak times?
It seems to happen at night generally around 9pm where latency is 100% fine but packet loss last for about 5 mins on and off. For more info it's the Rocket League EU servers (some of them I think). Didn't just happen last night. It started happening since the beginning of the month.
If their traces were from last night things were not great last night again. Went through a few days where things were perfect but seems to be going back to its old way during peak again.

Noticed it in Overwatch and Valorant now
Nah it was a few days ago when I ran the traces
 

PBCool

Cool Ideas
Company Rep
Joined
Jan 11, 2016
Messages
10,778
connection has dropped 3 times today out in Blouberg, on Octotel. Something wrong? This is a lot more than 'usual'.

edit: make that 4 times.
If nothing on announcements then please log it.
 

PBCool

Cool Ideas
Company Rep
Joined
Jan 11, 2016
Messages
10,778
It seems to happen at night generally around 9pm where latency is 100% fine but packet loss last for about 5 mins on and off. For more info it's the Rocket League EU servers (some of them I think). Didn't just happen last night. It started happening since the beginning of the month.

Nah it was a few days ago when I ran the traces
Thanks we suspect it is microbursts and this is causing loss at peak times, Wiocc have been battling to make their change for a week now. Apparently they have a solution they want to implement tomorrow.
 

Loppas

Senior Member
Joined
Dec 16, 2014
Messages
678
@PBCool

When i put in my new house address in check coverage and go place order, it doesn't want to pick up the street number despite entering it. What should i do. I'v already got an existing account but I'm not sure if i can place the order through cool zone.
 

Diabolix

Well-Known Member
Joined
Sep 26, 2009
Messages
465
@PBCool I have a connection with you guys in KZN and CPT (both Openserve).

From my CPT connection I can reach a specific IP 204.8.205.9, my source IP: 102.132.228.213

Trace:

Tracing route to 204.8.205.9 over a maximum of 30 hops

1 3 ms 1 ms 1 ms 172.26.155.253
2 * * * Request timed out.
3 6 ms 5 ms 6 ms 192.168.10.5
4 9 ms 7 ms 4 ms 192.168.11.6
5 4 ms 6 ms 6 ms 100.98.0.1
6 4 ms 4 ms 5 ms 100.98.0.2
7 5 ms 10 ms 9 ms 196.26.90.82
8 5 ms 16 ms 6 ms mi-za-cpt-p7-te0-7-0-0.ip.isnet.net [168.209.2.12]
9 23 ms 24 ms 24 ms 168.209.100.20
10 22 ms 21 ms 23 ms 168.209.1.170
11 22 ms 20 ms 25 ms xdsl-3.jinx.net.za [196.223.14.89]
12 20 ms 20 ms 21 ms core-01-tjhb1-10gig-0-0-0-200-xdsl.co.za [41.223.60.67]
13 22 ms 22 ms 20 ms core-01-htz-10gig-0-0-0-100-xdsl.co.za [41.223.60.6]
14 23 ms 23 ms 21 ms 204.8.205.9

From my KZN connection I can't reach the same IP (204.8.205.9), src: 102.132.198.76

Trace:

traceroute to 204.8.205.9 (204.8.205.9), 30 hops max, 38 byte packets
1 * * *
2 154.0.1.77 3.500 ms 5.923 ms 5.054 ms
3 154.0.1.86 2.047 ms 2.525 ms 2.694 ms
4 100.99.1.169 3.401 ms 2.052 ms 3.231 ms
5 100.99.1.157 2.411 ms 2.378 ms 3.146 ms
6 * * *
7 * * *
8 * * *

Perhaps some specific peering in KZN? Any ideas?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top