Cool Ideas Fibre ISP – Feedback Thread 3

Status
Not open for further replies.

jannier

Expert Member
Joined
Jul 31, 2005
Messages
1,778
@PBCool

When i put in my new house address in check coverage and go place order, it doesn't want to pick up the street number despite entering it. What should i do. I'v already got an existing account but I'm not sure if i can place the order through cool zone.
send an email to connect@cisp.co.za they should be able to figure it out and help.
 

CrypticZA

Expert Member
Joined
Sep 21, 2019
Messages
1,721
@PBCool I have a connection with you guys in KZN and CPT (both Openserve).

From my CPT connection I can reach a specific IP 204.8.205.9, my source

Trace:

Tracing route to 204.8.205.9 over a maximum of 30 hops

1 3 ms 1 ms 1 ms 172.26.155.253
2 * * * Request timed out.
3 6 ms 5 ms 6 ms 192.168.10.5
4 9 ms 7 ms 4 ms 192.168.11.6
5 4 ms 6 ms 6 ms 100.98.0.1
6 4 ms 4 ms 5 ms 100.98.0.2
7 5 ms 10 ms 9 ms 196.26.90.82
8 5 ms 16 ms 6 ms mi-za-cpt-p7-te0-7-0-0.ip.isnet.net [168.209.2.12]
9 23 ms 24 ms 24 ms 168.209.100.20
10 22 ms 21 ms 23 ms 168.209.1.170
11 22 ms 20 ms 25 ms xdsl-3.jinx.net.za [196.223.14.89]
12 20 ms 20 ms 21 ms core-01-tjhb1-10gig-0-0-0-200-xdsl.co.za [41.223.60.67]
13 22 ms 22 ms 20 ms core-01-htz-10gig-0-0-0-100-xdsl.co.za [41.223.60.6]
14 23 ms 23 ms 21 ms 204.8.205.9

From my KZN connection I can't reach the same IP (204.8.205.9),

Trace:

traceroute to 204.8.205.9 (204.8.205.9), 30 hops max, 38 byte packets
1 * * *
2 154.0.1.77 3.500 ms 5.923 ms 5.054 ms
3 154.0.1.86 2.047 ms 2.525 ms 2.694 ms
4 100.99.1.169 3.401 ms 2.052 ms 3.231 ms
5 100.99.1.157 2.411 ms 2.378 ms 3.146 ms
6 * * *
7 * * *
8 * * *

Perhaps some specific peering in KZN? Any ideas?
This is a public forum, best practice would be to hide your IP :) send it via a DM to him
 

PBCool

Cool Ideas
Company Rep
Joined
Jan 11, 2016
Messages
10,473
@PBCool I have a connection with you guys in KZN and CPT (both Openserve).

From my CPT connection I can reach a specific IP 204.8.205.9, my source IP: 102.132.228.213

Trace:

Tracing route to 204.8.205.9 over a maximum of 30 hops

1 3 ms 1 ms 1 ms 172.26.155.253
2 * * * Request timed out.
3 6 ms 5 ms 6 ms 192.168.10.5
4 9 ms 7 ms 4 ms 192.168.11.6
5 4 ms 6 ms 6 ms 100.98.0.1
6 4 ms 4 ms 5 ms 100.98.0.2
7 5 ms 10 ms 9 ms 196.26.90.82
8 5 ms 16 ms 6 ms mi-za-cpt-p7-te0-7-0-0.ip.isnet.net [168.209.2.12]
9 23 ms 24 ms 24 ms 168.209.100.20
10 22 ms 21 ms 23 ms 168.209.1.170
11 22 ms 20 ms 25 ms xdsl-3.jinx.net.za [196.223.14.89]
12 20 ms 20 ms 21 ms core-01-tjhb1-10gig-0-0-0-200-xdsl.co.za [41.223.60.67]
13 22 ms 22 ms 20 ms core-01-htz-10gig-0-0-0-100-xdsl.co.za [41.223.60.6]
14 23 ms 23 ms 21 ms 204.8.205.9

From my KZN connection I can't reach the same IP (204.8.205.9), src: 102.132.198.76

Trace:

traceroute to 204.8.205.9 (204.8.205.9), 30 hops max, 38 byte packets
1 * * *
2 154.0.1.77 3.500 ms 5.923 ms 5.054 ms
3 154.0.1.86 2.047 ms 2.525 ms 2.694 ms
4 100.99.1.169 3.401 ms 2.052 ms 3.231 ms
5 100.99.1.157 2.411 ms 2.378 ms 3.146 ms
6 * * *
7 * * *
8 * * *

Perhaps some specific peering in KZN? Any ideas?
PM me both IPs and Ill have a look.
 

S.Claus

Expert Member
Joined
Nov 14, 2017
Messages
1,460
E5697BEC-8EE4-4AA9-B44D-B331A9BF3D3F.jpeg
Had a interesting morning. Wonder what the previous owner of the IP did to get it banned
 

AsianSpaceman

Well-Known Member
Joined
May 9, 2019
Messages
128
Not sure when this started, and not too sure how to test it for solid results, but recently while watching twitch streams from 720p and up buffer quite a bit, used to be able to watch 1080p without a problem. On Century City Connect. Any advice?
 

Zertop

Expert Member
Joined
Mar 9, 2013
Messages
3,071
Hi There

Looks like cloudflare seems to be routing via Perth tonight haha. Would this be a routing issue from CISP, or just cloudflare pushing traffic due to demand? :)
 

PBCool

Cool Ideas
Company Rep
Joined
Jan 11, 2016
Messages
10,473
Not sure when this started, and not too sure how to test it for solid results, but recently while watching twitch streams from 720p and up buffer quite a bit, used to be able to watch 1080p without a problem. On Century City Connect. Any advice?
Are you in JHB or CPT?
 

PBCool

Cool Ideas
Company Rep
Joined
Jan 11, 2016
Messages
10,473
Hi There

Looks like cloudflare seems to be routing via Perth tonight haha. Would this be a routing issue from CISP, or just cloudflare pushing traffic due to demand? :)
Cloud flare manages all their announces and transit, so would be them :(
 

CrypticZA

Expert Member
Joined
Sep 21, 2019
Messages
1,721
Hi There

Looks like cloudflare seems to be routing via Perth tonight haha. Would this be a routing issue from CISP, or just cloudflare pushing traffic due to demand? :)
Cloudflares VPN is even not working great so must be them

EDIT: I see CT is being re-rerouted so explain the much higher latency from Warp
 
Last edited:

CrypticZA

Expert Member
Joined
Sep 21, 2019
Messages
1,721
Cape town
What stream were you trying to watch? I tried watching Forsen 1080P and was running perfect for me, majority of the streamers i watch run on 900P (i am Vuma CT). I find though on a 50meg i can't run 1080P via my chromecast for some odd reason though
 

AsianSpaceman

Well-Known Member
Joined
May 9, 2019
Messages
128
What stream were you trying to watch? I tried watching Forsen 1080P and was running perfect for me, majority of the streamers i watch run on 900P (i am Vuma CT). I find though on a 50meg i can't run 1080P via my chromecast for some odd reason though
It happens to all the streams my side. I'm on a 50mbps down and watching on my pc hardwired to the router. Previously I could watch 1080p with a bit of buffer in the beginning but then fine after about a min or 2 of watching.
 

PBCool

Cool Ideas
Company Rep
Joined
Jan 11, 2016
Messages
10,473
It happens to all the streams my side. I'm on a 50mbps down and watching on my pc hardwired to the router. Previously I could watch 1080p with a bit of buffer in the beginning but then fine after about a min or 2 of watching.
And if you try using the proxy in JHB?
 

Overblaze

Active Member
Joined
Jun 12, 2013
Messages
66
@PBCool I'm also having packet loss issue and been having it pretty much every night. It seems to be some route to a server in Paris or something that's one of the issues. Any chance you guys might be able to help? I don't think the guy from support is gonna be able to help me with this as I don't really know how to respond to his latest answer.
MTR traces attached in ticket (router and ont connected tests)
#COOL-20210116-587878

Thanks we suspect it is microbursts and this is causing loss at peak times, Wiocc have been battling to make their change for a week now. Apparently they have a solution they want to implement tomorrow.

Yeah, having the same issue as well. So fingers crossed that the Wiocc change does the trick
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top