Cool Ideas Fibre ISP – Feedback Thread 3

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mr Scratch

Expert Member
Joined
May 15, 2013
Messages
4,821
Looks like PUBG uses both AWS and Azure, which explains how they have a local server for mobile. They use Azure ZA North
 

Mr Scratch

Expert Member
Joined
May 15, 2013
Messages
4,821
Azure ZA

Code:
["13.104.144.160/27","20.38.121.0/25","20.45.136.0/21","20.150.20.0/25","40.78.209.0/24","40.82.64.0/22","40.90.17.0/27","40.90.128.96/28","40.90.152.224/27","40.117.0.0/19","40.119.68.0/22","52.108.220.0/23","52.111.238.0/24","52.114.228.0/24","52.143.203.0/24","52.239.232.128/25","102.133.0.0/18","102.133.64.0/19","102.133.96.0/20","102.133.112.0/28"]

["13.104.158.128/27","13.104.158.160/28","13.104.158.192/27","20.38.114.128/25","20.45.128.0/21","20.150.21.0/24","20.150.62.0/24","40.79.203.0/24","40.82.20.0/22","40.82.120.0/22","40.90.19.0/27","40.90.128.144/28","40.90.130.144/28","40.90.133.160/27","40.90.143.128/27","40.90.151.64/27","40.90.157.224/27","40.119.64.0/22","40.120.16.0/20","40.123.240.0/20","40.127.0.0/19","52.108.54.0/23","52.111.237.0/24","52.114.224.0/24","52.143.204.0/23","52.143.206.0/24","52.239.232.0/25","102.37.0.0/20","102.37.16.0/21","102.37.24.0/23","102.37.32.0/19","102.133.120.0/21","102.133.128.0/18","102.133.192.0/19","102.133.224.0/20","102.133.240.0/25","102.133.240.128/26","102.133.248.0/21"]
 

CrypticZA

Expert Member
Joined
Sep 21, 2019
Messages
2,239
which regions are the best for PUBG at the moment?
EU ping and SACS should be more or less the same for Cape Town i would assume not sure about other regions but in Apex i get 142 in Apex to London and 144 to Brazil - the game lets you choose where to play though PUBG servers might be more inside EU but you would have to play EU due to small player base in Brazil (assumption) as well as time difference. I know playing on Overwatch Brazil servers you play with the same people every game since there is a low player base
 

Mr Scratch

Expert Member
Joined
May 15, 2013
Messages
4,821
EU ping and SACS should be more or less the same for Cape Town i would assume not sure about other regions but in Apex i get 142 in Apex to London and 144 to Brazil - the game lets you choose where to play though PUBG servers might be more inside EU but you would have to play EU due to small player base in Brazil (assumption) as well as time difference. I know playing on Overwatch Brazil servers you play with the same people every game since there is a low player base

Okay I see your point about time differences for Brazil, so optimal ping/time zone would be EU (UK and France) - so for PUBG, would a script that blocks AWS except for those two regions be useful?
 

CrypticZA

Expert Member
Joined
Sep 21, 2019
Messages
2,239
Okay I see your point about time differences for Brazil, so optimal ping/time zone would be EU (UK and France) - so for PUBG, would a script that blocks AWS except for those two regions be useful?
I personally don't own PUBG so can't really comment but a little research which shows some sites you can see an estimate on pings it seems PUBG servers are in London and Ireland (well the ones with the lowest latency) https://pubgserverping.com/ i would imagine it would be useless for the players maybe one can test it out and let you know :)
 

Rouxenator

Dank meme lord
Joined
Oct 31, 2007
Messages
41,860
I host my own Xonotic server at home, lunch time me and some guys in the office play, we get 20ms to my home. Always fun when folks from Europe or America join and they have to deal with 200+ms
 

Hunted

Senior Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2003
Messages
985
So I think since turning up the GCore peer this is what happens, do you have an IP for me? Apologies if I have asked this before.
Sorry, I've have been out for most of the day.

This is one of the server IPs I managed to capture the last time we had this issue. However if you ping it it will show fine. ec2.eu-central-1.amazonaws.com

It's how the damn game forces you after it launches. The launcher does a check at startup I think since I say it connecting to loads of IPs all over the world before it settles to its region. See below.

pungservers.jpg

I'm not sure how to test it any other way.
 

PBCool

Cool Ideas
Company Rep
Joined
Jan 11, 2016
Messages
11,706
Yeah so I see AWS announcing stuff at Sao Paulo now, so this is why. I will filter it out but there was the request to connect to a game via AWS in the region previously?
 

PBCool

Cool Ideas
Company Rep
Joined
Jan 11, 2016
Messages
11,706
Yeah so I see AWS announcing stuff at Sao Paulo now, so this is why. I will filter it out but there was the request to connect to a game via AWS in the region previously? Try again for me?
 

CrypticZA

Expert Member
Joined
Sep 21, 2019
Messages
2,239
Yeah so I see AWS announcing stuff at Sao Paulo now, so this is why. I will filter it out but there was the request to connect to a game via AWS in the region previously?
That was probably Fortnite i think they use AWS but Fortnite you can choose region
 

dotdan

Expert Member
Joined
Jul 17, 2008
Messages
1,331
Yeah so I see AWS announcing stuff at Sao Paulo now, so this is why. I will filter it out but there was the request to connect to a game via AWS in the region previously? Try again for me?

Did you change something now? Mid game latency to Brazil jumped to 260?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top