Cool Ideas Fibre ISP – Feedback Thread 4

leppie

Senior Member
Joined
Mar 25, 2019
Messages
527
Should 8.8.8.8 not be in CPT? Seems mine is routing to JHB. 1.1.1.1 is fine. My IP is 102.132.253.46

Code:
|------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------|
|                                      WinMTR statistics                                   |
|                       Host              -   %  | Sent | Recv | Best | Avrg | Wrst | Last |
|------------------------------------------------|------|------|------|------|------|------|
|                             192.168.0.1 -    0 |   44 |   44 |    0 |    0 |   17 |    0 |
|                             154.0.0.242 -    0 |   44 |   44 |    2 |    3 |   19 |    2 |
|                              100.98.0.1 -    0 |   44 |   44 |    2 |    2 |   19 |    2 |
|                            100.99.1.141 -    0 |   44 |   44 |   17 |   18 |   35 |   17 |
|                            100.99.0.180 -    0 |   44 |   44 |   18 |   18 |   35 |   18 |
|                           196.223.14.41 -    0 |   44 |   44 |   18 |   19 |   36 |   19 |
|                          172.253.65.161 -    0 |   44 |   44 |   18 |   19 |   36 |   19 |
|                          172.253.65.249 -    0 |   44 |   44 |   19 |   20 |   37 |   19 |
|                                 8.8.8.8 -    0 |   44 |   44 |   18 |   19 |   35 |   18 |
|________________________________________________|______|______|______|______|______|______|
   WinMTR v0.92 GPL V2 by Appnor MSP - Fully Managed Hosting & Cloud Provider
 

semaphore

Honorary Master
Joined
Nov 13, 2007
Messages
13,282
@PBCool Seems like there is packetloss on international transit

Code:
|------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------|
|                                      WinMTR statistics                                   |
|                       Host              -   %  | Sent | Recv | Best | Avrg | Wrst | Last |
|------------------------------------------------|------|------|------|------|------|------|
|                               ARCHER_C5 -    0 |   96 |   96 |    1 |    1 |   11 |    7 |
|                             154.0.0.110 -    0 |   96 |   96 |    3 |    3 |   15 |   15 |
|                             154.0.4.193 -    3 |   89 |   87 |    3 |    4 |   43 |    3 |
|                            100.98.0.179 -    2 |   93 |   92 |    3 |    4 |   53 |    3 |
|                             100.99.0.82 -    2 |   93 |   92 |    3 |    5 |   53 |    4 |
|                             100.98.1.78 -   13 |   65 |   57 |  159 |  160 |  168 |  159 |
|                             100.98.1.98 -   11 |   68 |   61 |  159 |  161 |  167 |  159 |
|                          195.66.226.234 -    0 |   96 |   96 |  162 |  167 |  226 |  191 |
|              ae1-br01-eqld5.as57976.net -   12 |   61 |   54 |  166 |  416 | 3300 | 3300 |
|                   No response from host -  100 |   19 |    0 |    0 |    0 |    0 |    0 |
|                           137.221.65.77 -   14 |   61 |   53 |  166 |  266 | 2989 | 2989 |
|                           137.221.78.55 -    3 |   89 |   87 |  167 |  170 |  214 |  168 |
|                           137.221.66.41 -    0 |   96 |   96 |  166 |  169 |  264 |  166 |
|                          185.60.112.158 -   11 |   69 |   62 |  166 |  168 |  176 |  167 |
|________________________________________________|______|______|______|______|______|______|
   WinMTR v0.92 GPL V2 by Appnor MSP - Fully Managed Hosting & Cloud Provider
 

Markd

Expert Member
Joined
Oct 8, 2009
Messages
1,406
I've had 3 disconnects today, the last 2 coming within an hour of each other......
 

CrypticZA

Expert Member
Joined
Sep 21, 2019
Messages
1,927
@PBCool Seems like there is packetloss on international transit

Code:
|------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------|
|                                      WinMTR statistics                                   |
|                       Host              -   %  | Sent | Recv | Best | Avrg | Wrst | Last |
|------------------------------------------------|------|------|------|------|------|------|
|                               ARCHER_C5 -    0 |   96 |   96 |    1 |    1 |   11 |    7 |
|                             154.0.0.110 -    0 |   96 |   96 |    3 |    3 |   15 |   15 |
|                             154.0.4.193 -    3 |   89 |   87 |    3 |    4 |   43 |    3 |
|                            100.98.0.179 -    2 |   93 |   92 |    3 |    4 |   53 |    3 |
|                             100.99.0.82 -    2 |   93 |   92 |    3 |    5 |   53 |    4 |
|                             100.98.1.78 -   13 |   65 |   57 |  159 |  160 |  168 |  159 |
|                             100.98.1.98 -   11 |   68 |   61 |  159 |  161 |  167 |  159 |
|                          195.66.226.234 -    0 |   96 |   96 |  162 |  167 |  226 |  191 |
|              ae1-br01-eqld5.as57976.net -   12 |   61 |   54 |  166 |  416 | 3300 | 3300 |
|                   No response from host -  100 |   19 |    0 |    0 |    0 |    0 |    0 |
|                           137.221.65.77 -   14 |   61 |   53 |  166 |  266 | 2989 | 2989 |
|                           137.221.78.55 -    3 |   89 |   87 |  167 |  170 |  214 |  168 |
|                           137.221.66.41 -    0 |   96 |   96 |  166 |  169 |  264 |  166 |
|                          185.60.112.158 -   11 |   69 |   62 |  166 |  168 |  176 |  167 |
|________________________________________________|______|______|______|______|______|______|
   WinMTR v0.92 GPL V2 by Appnor MSP - Fully Managed Hosting & Cloud Provider
Thats coming from your fibre network
 

r00igev@@r

Executive Member
Joined
Dec 14, 2009
Messages
7,568
Should 8.8.8.8 not be in CPT? Seems mine is routing to JHB. 1.1.1.1 is fine. My IP is 102.132.253.46

Code:
|------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------|
|                                      WinMTR statistics                                   |
|                       Host              -   %  | Sent | Recv | Best | Avrg | Wrst | Last |
|------------------------------------------------|------|------|------|------|------|------|
|                             192.168.0.1 -    0 |   44 |   44 |    0 |    0 |   17 |    0 |
|                             154.0.0.242 -    0 |   44 |   44 |    2 |    3 |   19 |    2 |
|                              100.98.0.1 -    0 |   44 |   44 |    2 |    2 |   19 |    2 |
|                            100.99.1.141 -    0 |   44 |   44 |   17 |   18 |   35 |   17 |
|                            100.99.0.180 -    0 |   44 |   44 |   18 |   18 |   35 |   18 |
|                           196.223.14.41 -    0 |   44 |   44 |   18 |   19 |   36 |   19 |
|                          172.253.65.161 -    0 |   44 |   44 |   18 |   19 |   36 |   19 |
|                          172.253.65.249 -    0 |   44 |   44 |   19 |   20 |   37 |   19 |
|                                 8.8.8.8 -    0 |   44 |   44 |   18 |   19 |   35 |   18 |
|________________________________________________|______|______|______|______|______|______|
   WinMTR v0.92 GPL V2 by Appnor MSP - Fully Managed Hosting & Cloud Provider
Nee boet, Quad 8 is dodge especially in South Africa. I use 9.9.9.9, 149.112.112.112 and 1.1.1.2 with very good results as I use the five nines mode of DNSMASQ. (pihole is based on DNSMASQ but haven't implemented five nines in the UI).
I experimented with neustar (ex UltraDNS) @ 156.154.70.2 - they are even available locally in Cape Town. I stopped using them because they had too many false positives.
Quad 9 relies on IBM probes and you can use https://exchange.xforce.ibmcloud.com/ to research abuse. Its the best one out there and if you create a login you can add riskiq and virustoral to your dashboard and it will automatically fetch threat intelligence for your query.
Only problem is IBM has no cloud in South Africa so the xforce portal is a bit slow, IBM South Africa is non existent on cloud and probably can't even spell cloud. In this country they are box droppers.
 

image132

Expert Member
Joined
Apr 3, 2010
Messages
1,378
Nee boet, Quad 8 is dodge especially in South Africa. I use 9.9.9.9, 149.112.112.112 and 1.1.1.2 with very good results as I use the five nines mode of DNSMASQ. (pihole is based on DNSMASQ but haven't implemented five nines in the UI).
I experimented with neustar (ex UltraDNS) @ 156.154.70.2 - they are even available locally in Cape Town. I stopped using them because they had too many false positives.
Quad 9 relies on IBM probes and you can use https://exchange.xforce.ibmcloud.com/ to research abuse. Its the best one out there and if you create a login you can add riskiq and virustoral to your dashboard and it will automatically fetch threat intelligence for your query.
Only problem is IBM has no cloud in South Africa so the xforce portal is a bit slow, IBM South Africa is non existent on cloud and probably can't even spell cloud. In this country they are box droppers.

Quad 9 is awesome fully agree.

So glad they brought their CPT node back online.
 

S.Claus

Expert Member
Joined
Nov 14, 2017
Messages
1,636
What help do you need? Credentials for l2tp should work the same, as before on Openserve?
I haven't received the upgrade yet.

11953716760.png
 

TheRoDent

Cool Ideas Rep
Joined
Aug 6, 2003
Messages
5,695
They asked you to confirm, so please just reply to the ticket. It has been added to the upgrade queue with Openserve already, so Openserve will action it when they can.
 

grantduke

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 12, 2011
Messages
417
:unsure: Just had a drop in my connection for 27 seconds. Why?

1630308890219.png

Update: Not sure why my Mikrotik is in the future :unsure:
1630309250111.png
 
Last edited:

TheHoax

Member
Joined
Aug 30, 2021
Messages
13
Good Day @TheRoDent

I've decided to get fibre installed at home with Vuma Reach. On Saturday I placed an order with Cool Ideas & made the payment. I also uploaded my RICA Documentation.

Since its my first time installing fibre at home, I'd like to know what the next steps are. When will they come and install the fibre at my home? etc.

Vumatel Order Reference:
VR-28821-362285

Kind Regards.
 

TheRoDent

Cool Ideas Rep
Joined
Aug 6, 2003
Messages
5,695
Good Day @TheRoDent

I've decided to get fibre installed at home with Vuma Reach. On Saturday I placed an order with Cool Ideas & made the payment. I also uploaded my RICA Documentation.

Since its my first time installing fibre at home, I'd like to know what the next steps are. When will they come and install the fibre at my home? etc.

Vumatel Order Reference:
VR-28821-362285

Kind Regards.
Vumatel will contact you to schedule an installation date.

They normally are quite quick but weekend volume probably means late today or tomorrow to call you.
 

TheHoax

Member
Joined
Aug 30, 2021
Messages
13
Vumatel will contact you to schedule an installation date.

They normally are quite quick but weekend volume probably means late today or tomorrow to call you.
Alright, I'll await their call.

Thank you so much for the feedback.
 
Top