Cool Ideas Fibre ISP – Feedback Thread 4

PBCool

Cool Ideas
Company Rep
Joined
Jan 11, 2016
Messages
11,118
Feedback on my ticket from Cool Ideas is that Octotel reset the OTL (no idea what this is) and made some fixes yesterday. So far (holding thumbs) I haven't had the random disconnect issue that has been troubling me for so long.
OLT :) is basically the PON headend
 

Jaseyyxx

Senior Member
Joined
Sep 21, 2019
Messages
595
Octotel just called. Sending technicians out to my place tomorrow morning to "sort out" my line.

How many ONTs do you think they can fit in their orange NP200?
At this rate they might as well install an OLT at your place and give you a 1m Ethernet cable directly into that.
 

PBCool

Cool Ideas
Company Rep
Joined
Jan 11, 2016
Messages
11,118
@PBCool @CoolChick @TheRoDent

Any update on the 1gbps Octotel pricing I asked about 3 weeks ago?

This was posted on MyBB a on Saturday, and CI is the most expensive.

View attachment 1147576

Unfortunately not at this point, changing products is not a quick thing. As you can imagine the nightmare that is Octotel we may even charge more.
 

jannier

Expert Member
Joined
Jul 31, 2005
Messages
1,836
Unfortunately not at this point, changing products is not a quick thing. As you can imagine the nightmare that is Octotel we may even charge more.
LoL that is actually a very good strategy, charge so much more for a service that a customer can get cheaper somewhere else, loose all the customer on these troubled networks, make them someone else's nightmare! :laugh:
 

leppie

Senior Member
Joined
Mar 25, 2019
Messages
527
Unfortunately not at this point, changing products is not a quick thing. As you can imagine the nightmare that is Octotel we may even charge more.
How is a price change a product change? You seem to be able to do this pretty fast for other FNO's and even Octotel's 100mbps and lower packages when they announce price drops.

Anyways, I would like to stay with CI, but the pricing is too much compared to other ISP's.
 

PBCool

Cool Ideas
Company Rep
Joined
Jan 11, 2016
Messages
11,118
How is a price change a product change? You seem to be able to do this pretty fast for other FNO's and even Octotel's 100mbps and lower packages when they announce price drops.

Anyways, I would like to stay with CI, but the pricing is too much compared to other ISP's.
A product is a service at a price, so it's seen as a product change from a systems perspective. It may seem as done pretty fast but it takes a ton of work to accomplish. You don't have Openserve as an option at 500Mbps?
 

phoenix99

Expert Member
Joined
Apr 24, 2011
Messages
2,107
LoL that is actually a very good strategy, charge so much more for a service that a customer can get cheaper somewhere else, loose all the customer on these troubled networks, make them someone else's nightmare! :laugh:
I'd give my left nut for another, ANY other fibre network in my suburb.
 

Cage Rattler

Senior Member
Joined
Nov 29, 2005
Messages
568
Amazing ... first day in weeks that I haven't had one disconnect the entire day. Cavendish Square area.
 

Jason-ZA

Well-Known Member
Joined
Sep 23, 2019
Messages
333
Looks like google's ports are saturated at JINX tonight.

Code:
|------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------|
|                                      WinMTR statistics                                   |
|                       Host              -   %  | Sent | Recv | Best | Avrg | Wrst | Last |
|------------------------------------------------|------|------|------|------|------|------|
|                            gateway.home -    0 |   59 |   59 |    0 |    0 |    1 |    0 |
|                             154.0.0.246 -    0 |   59 |   59 |   10 |   11 |   13 |   11 |
|                              100.98.0.3 -    0 |   59 |   59 |   10 |   11 |   13 |   11 |
|                             100.98.0.49 -    0 |   59 |   59 |   26 |   26 |   34 |   27 |
|                            100.99.0.180 -    0 |   59 |   59 |   26 |   26 |   34 |   26 |
|                    google-2.jinx.net.za -    8 |   40 |   37 |   29 |   31 |   38 |   33 |
|                          172.253.65.181 -   50 |   12 |    6 |   29 |   31 |   32 |   32 |
|                            172.253.66.3 -   16 |   25 |   21 |   27 |   30 |   36 |   32 |
|                              dns.google -   14 |   29 |   25 |    0 |   31 |   32 |   31 |
|________________________________________________|______|______|______|______|______|______|
   WinMTR v0.92 GPL V2 by Appnor MSP - Fully Managed Hosting & Cloud Provider
 

CrypticZA

Expert Member
Joined
Sep 21, 2019
Messages
1,933
Looks like google's ports are saturated at JINX tonight.

Code:
|------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------|
|                                      WinMTR statistics                                   |
|                       Host              -   %  | Sent | Recv | Best | Avrg | Wrst | Last |
|------------------------------------------------|------|------|------|------|------|------|
|                            gateway.home -    0 |   59 |   59 |    0 |    0 |    1 |    0 |
|                             154.0.0.246 -    0 |   59 |   59 |   10 |   11 |   13 |   11 |
|                              100.98.0.3 -    0 |   59 |   59 |   10 |   11 |   13 |   11 |
|                             100.98.0.49 -    0 |   59 |   59 |   26 |   26 |   34 |   27 |
|                            100.99.0.180 -    0 |   59 |   59 |   26 |   26 |   34 |   26 |
|                    google-2.jinx.net.za -    8 |   40 |   37 |   29 |   31 |   38 |   33 |
|                          172.253.65.181 -   50 |   12 |    6 |   29 |   31 |   32 |   32 |
|                            172.253.66.3 -   16 |   25 |   21 |   27 |   30 |   36 |   32 |
|                              dns.google -   14 |   29 |   25 |    0 |   31 |   32 |   31 |
|________________________________________________|______|______|______|______|______|______|
   WinMTR v0.92 GPL V2 by Appnor MSP - Fully Managed Hosting & Cloud Provider
Yea seeing packet loss in Apex Google servers (not that we can play) but yea on status page shows packet loss
 

SeaSickMama

Expert Member
Joined
Dec 26, 2013
Messages
1,996
A product is a service at a price, so it's seen as a product change from a systems perspective. It may seem as done pretty fast but it takes a ton of work to accomplish. You don't have Openserve as an option at 500Mbps?
You pay for what you get and I stand by the higher price. CISP has a far better back bone and routing <3


Like buying hilti tools... Love them though
 

jannier

Expert Member
Joined
Jul 31, 2005
Messages
1,836
Looks like google's ports are saturated at JINX tonight.

Code:
|------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------|
|                                      WinMTR statistics                                   |
|                       Host              -   %  | Sent | Recv | Best | Avrg | Wrst | Last |
|------------------------------------------------|------|------|------|------|------|------|
|                            gateway.home -    0 |   59 |   59 |    0 |    0 |    1 |    0 |
|                             154.0.0.246 -    0 |   59 |   59 |   10 |   11 |   13 |   11 |
|                              100.98.0.3 -    0 |   59 |   59 |   10 |   11 |   13 |   11 |
|                             100.98.0.49 -    0 |   59 |   59 |   26 |   26 |   34 |   27 |
|                            100.99.0.180 -    0 |   59 |   59 |   26 |   26 |   34 |   26 |
|                    google-2.jinx.net.za -    8 |   40 |   37 |   29 |   31 |   38 |   33 |
|                          172.253.65.181 -   50 |   12 |    6 |   29 |   31 |   32 |   32 |
|                            172.253.66.3 -   16 |   25 |   21 |   27 |   30 |   36 |   32 |
|                              dns.google -   14 |   29 |   25 |    0 |   31 |   32 |   31 |
|________________________________________________|______|______|______|______|______|______|
   WinMTR v0.92 GPL V2 by Appnor MSP - Fully Managed Hosting & Cloud Provider

My routing from jinx is different.

Code:
|------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------|
|                                      WinMTR statistics                                   |
|                       Host              -   %  | Sent | Recv | Best | Avrg | Wrst | Last |
|------------------------------------------------|------|------|------|------|------|------|
|                            192.168.88.1 -    0 |  126 |  126 |    0 |    0 |    2 |    0 |
|                            155.93.237.1 -    0 |  126 |  126 |    2 |    7 |   58 |    2 |
|                         102.132.175.109 -    0 |  126 |  126 |    0 |    1 |    8 |    1 |
|                              100.98.0.1 -    0 |  126 |  126 |    0 |    0 |    8 |    0 |
|                             100.98.0.49 -    0 |  126 |  126 |   16 |   16 |   22 |   16 |
|                            100.99.0.180 -    0 |  126 |  126 |   16 |   16 |   23 |   16 |
|                    google-2.jinx.net.za -    0 |  126 |  126 |   18 |   18 |   25 |   18 |
|                          172.253.65.179 -    0 |  126 |  126 |   17 |   17 |   21 |   17 |
|                          172.253.65.249 -    0 |  126 |  126 |   17 |   18 |   28 |   17 |
|                              dns.google -    0 |  126 |  126 |   17 |   17 |   36 |   17 |
|________________________________________________|______|______|______|______|______|______|
   WinMTR v0.92 GPL V2 by Appnor MSP - Fully Managed Hosting & Cloud Provider
 

grantduke

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 12, 2011
Messages
419
@PBCool Do you perhaps have any recommendations on any sort of settings I can look at on Mikrotik? I'm getting drops on my Frogfoot line, and even my phone (Samsung) is switching off from wifi to mobile data. I know there is a setting to prevent that. But Outages are only for a few seconds, but 8 seconds on a Zoom call feels like ages. PPPoE still shows it's running

Date and timeStatus
09/15/2021 9:16:47 AMOnline
09/15/2021 9:16:39 AMNo internet connection
 
Top