Cool Ideas Fibre ISP – Feedback Thread 4

Impala

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 24, 2019
Messages
370
Just curious, what will my ping be on Valorant and Apex Legends on the Bahrain servers?

Not sure how to test without downloading the games.
 

PBCool

Cool Ideas
Company Rep
Joined
Jan 11, 2016
Messages
11,114
Just curious, what will my ping be on Valorant and Apex Legends on the Bahrain servers?

Not sure how to test without downloading the games.
Depends on AWS at the moment, but it would use their transit.
 

CrypticZA

Expert Member
Joined
Sep 21, 2019
Messages
1,933
Just curious, what will my ping be on Valorant and Apex Legends on the Bahrain servers?

Not sure how to test without downloading the games.
You can do an MTR to a Bahrain AWS IP to see ping.

CT ping is 140 to both but AWS remove this route quite a bit, a work around is using Exitlag, they have a direct route, they get me 118 to 125ms to Bahrain so performance is better than AWS
 

SFW007

Expert Member
Joined
Jan 26, 2005
Messages
1,574
You can do an MTR to a Bahrain AWS IP to see ping.

CT ping is 140 to both but AWS remove this route quite a bit, a work around is using Exitlag, they have a direct route, they get me 118 to 125ms to Bahrain so performance is better than AWS
Do you know of other VPN servers that will allow you to setup VPN on rb2011
 

RonSwanson

Executive Member
Joined
May 21, 2018
Messages
7,825
Please log if not on announcements
Done. It seems that Metrofibre is doing "emergency maintenance", and it was supposed to be back up at 07H00 this morning, via SMS from someone who uses them as an ISP:
Emergency fibre maintenance is scheduled on 27/09 from 19:00-07:00. Your service may be affected. Sales.support@metrofibre.co.za for queries
then this was sent out earlier this morning again via SMS to their ISP customers:
Please note our technicians are still busy with the repair in the Carlswald area. ETA of repair is 17:00. Sales.support@metrofibre.co.za for queries
So if one uses Metrofibre for fibre, and another ISP (like Cool Ideas), then you don't get notifications. :(
 

PBCool

Cool Ideas
Company Rep
Joined
Jan 11, 2016
Messages
11,114
Done. It seems that Metrofibre is doing "emergency maintenance", and it was supposed to be back up at 07H00 this morning, via SMS from someone who uses them as an ISP:

then this was sent out earlier this morning again via SMS to their ISP customers:

So if one uses Metrofibre for fibre, and another ISP (like Cool Ideas), then you don't get notifications. :(
Is this not on announcements? Obviously it's easier being the FNO to advise customers of emergency work.
 

PBCool

Cool Ideas
Company Rep
Joined
Jan 11, 2016
Messages
11,114
Yes it is https://coolideas.co.za/announcements/10957
But it's reactive, only happens after it gets reported, and a lot of the info is missing and vague.
That is based on the report we get from the FNO unfortunately or in this case we didn't even, and emergency maintenance is very much a reactive situation in nature.

If we had control of that part of the network we would have much more visibility.
 

Intox

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 1, 2008
Messages
453
Yes it is https://coolideas.co.za/announcements/10957
But it's reactive, only happens after it gets reported, and a lot of the info is missing and vague.
Keep an eye on MTS status board they are providing more updated info about the issue in Midrand
Currently says the ETA was updated to 20:00

Last update from MTS
Please note our engineers are still busy with the emergency maintenance repair in Carlswald. The teams are still busy with identifying fibres. Estimated time of repair is now 20:00.


We apologise for the inconvenience.
 

RonSwanson

Executive Member
Joined
May 21, 2018
Messages
7,825
Keep an eye on MTS status board they are providing more updated info about the issue in Midrand
Currently says the ETA was updated to 20:00

Last update from MTS
Thanks, but that's probably another one. They fixed it around 11H00 today.
 
Top