Cool Ideas Fibre ISP – Feedback Thread 4

Benji_

Member
Joined
Dec 23, 2021
Messages
20
Internet is on again after 24+ hours inactivity. But games are lagging and im only getting 5mbps download speed it even drops to 1mb. Somethings wrong line doesn't seem secure yet.
 

PBCool

Cool Ideas
Company Rep
Joined
Jan 11, 2016
Messages
11,711
Internet is on again after 24+ hours inactivity. But games are lagging and im only getting 5mbps download speed it even drops to 1mb. Somethings wrong line doesn't seem secure yet.
Could just be the initial demand, please let me know if it's ongoing
 

midasza

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 9, 2004
Messages
185
Any one else having issues on OpenServe this morning. Woke up to no internet, PPPOE sessions activate and then terminate immediately. PON light green on the CPE and PPPOE scan shows rndf-ip-bng-1 as being off my WAN port.
 

PBCool

Cool Ideas
Company Rep
Joined
Jan 11, 2016
Messages
11,711
Any one else having issues on OpenServe this morning. Woke up to no internet, PPPOE sessions activate and then terminate immediately. PON light green on the CPE and PPPOE scan shows rndf-ip-bng-1 as being off my WAN port.
If nothing on announcements please log as normal for me.
 

TheRoDent

Cool Ideas Rep
Joined
Aug 6, 2003
Messages
5,917

Overblaze

Active Member
Joined
Jun 12, 2013
Messages
83
Monitoring that valorant IP from Joburg over the course of the weekend shows practically zero packet loss.

Jacques is going to contact you to get a static IP deployed, and open up ping on your router so we can monitor your line for a bit.
@TheRoDent Hi there, would it be possible to get a static IP as well. I have the same issue @gool has. Thanks
 

CrypticZA

Expert Member
Joined
Sep 21, 2019
Messages
2,243
Monitoring that valorant IP from Joburg over the course of the weekend shows practically zero packet loss.

Jacques is going to contact you to get a static IP deployed, and open up ping on your router so we can monitor your line for a bit.
I tested this from my side as well and was getting bad spikes as well and my line is clean all my other games are running fine (don't have any other AWS server games that i know of).

I have a static IP as well (Vuma trenched CT so practically static)
 
Last edited:

chrisGolf

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 30, 2019
Messages
172
We haven't had any failures, it's either a line issue or a Vumatel outage. I will see where the team is up to with the ticket.
Hi @PBCool, with regards to ticket #COOL-20220510-930871;
this was the last response from your technical team;
As discussed, when we spoke to Vumatel yesterday they confirmed they was an outage affecting you.
The issue was later resolved in the afternoon yesterday.

And the connection has been stable since(since last week Thursday)

However a few minutes ago, PPPOE connection disconnected and reconnected twice.
Please check, or log a ticket with Vumatel to investigate. The ticket is a week old and still not resolved.
thanks.
 

gool

Active Member
Joined
Mar 29, 2022
Messages
68
Monitoring that valorant IP from Joburg over the course of the weekend shows practically zero packet loss.

Jacques is going to contact you to get a static IP deployed, and open up ping on your router so we can monitor your line for a bit.
Great thanks!:thumbsup: Gumani got the static IP going (he's been great so far, lots of contact and follow ups). Was some umming and ahing about the ICMP stuff but all seems alright? You're welcome to Anydesk in as well if need be.
 

TheRoDent

Cool Ideas Rep
Joined
Aug 6, 2003
Messages
5,917
Great thanks!:thumbsup: Gumani got the static IP going (he's been great so far, lots of contact and follow ups). Was some umming and ahing about the ICMP stuff but all seems alright? You're welcome to Anydesk in as well if need be.
Yeah we need the ICMP to trend your line. Got the details from Jacques will add it to our system.
 

Umzimbeet

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 9, 2011
Messages
211
I've raised a ticket #COOL-20220516-934036. Internet is dead. The LOS light on the ONT is flashing red.
I'm in Midrand on openserve, is there an issue?
 

TheRoDent

Cool Ideas Rep
Joined
Aug 6, 2003
Messages
5,917
Should I create a ticket?
Let's diagnose with @gool first. A static IP wont change anything on your side unless there's an FNO issue that we're trying to debug.

At this point, it simply seems like riotgames have issues occasionally that we cannot control
 

Overblaze

Active Member
Joined
Jun 12, 2013
Messages
83
Ok cool. I'll keep up to date with the thread.

I've essentially had this packet loss from Valorant launch.

Mine could be an unrelated Octotel issue, but let's see what @gool 's investigation uncovers.
 

CrypticZA

Expert Member
Joined
Sep 21, 2019
Messages
2,243
Ok cool. I'll keep up to date with the thread.

I've essentially had this packet loss from Valorant launch.

Mine could be an unrelated Octotel issue, but let's see what @gool 's investigation uncovers.
Well I've never had the issue until now and my lines performing as it should
 

TheRoDent

Cool Ideas Rep
Joined
Aug 6, 2003
Messages
5,917
Well I've never had the issue until now and my lines performing as it should
The common thread here is that it's not our lines, access network, or transit to the UK. But Valorant itself, possibly due to how we connect to them in the UK. (Which is why other ISP's may not exhibit the same problem).

I'm now monitoring several of their servers, to establish some trends. If we can bypass a bad peeringing relationship with them we will, but it's not simple. They have servers on AWS, and also some of their own, all of which take different paths.

Again, as I always encourage gamers, insist that they at least deploy some local servers. We now have AWS, and Azure, so their excuses are running out.

I refuse to even install Valorant (being a keen FPS gamer myself). I refuse to accept 140ms pings.

Thou shalt not have my money.
 
Last edited:

CrypticZA

Expert Member
Joined
Sep 21, 2019
Messages
2,243
The common thread here is that it's not our lines, access network, or transit to the UK. But Valorant itself, possibly due to how we connect to them in the UK. (Which is why other ISP's may not exhibit the same problem).

I'm now monitoring several of their servers, to establish some trends. If we can bypass a bad peeringing relationship with them we will, but it's not simple. They have servers on AWS, and also some of their own, all of which take different paths.

Again, as I always encourage gamers, insist that they at least deploy some local servers. We now have AWS, and Azure, so their excuses are running out.

I refuse to even install Valorant (being a keen FPS gamer myself). I refuse to accept 140ms pings.

Thou shalt not have my money.
I wouldn't recommend it, it's anti cheat is the most annoying programme ever that has to run whenever the pc is on and if you close it you need to restart the pc to get it to run again....

I'm not the biggest fan of the game but more concerned it causing issues in other games.

I'll try do some testing with Apex which has a AWS region as well but sadly Eskom has my loadshedding schedule on 8pm to 10pm for the next like 4 days.

When I last got to play I chose New York since its an independent provider and guarantees a good experience... unlike Google....
 
Top