Cool Ideas Fibre ISP – Feedback Thread 4

gool

Active Member
Joined
Mar 29, 2022
Messages
68
The common thread here is that it's not our lines, access network, or transit to the UK. But Valorant itself, possibly due to how we connect to them in the UK. (Which is why other ISP's may not exhibit the same problem).

I'm now monitoring several of their servers, to establish some trends. If we can bypass a bad peeringing relationship with them we will, but it's not simple. They have servers on AWS, and also some of their own, all of which take different paths.

Again, as I always encourage gamers, insist that they at least deploy some local servers. We now have AWS, and Azure, so their excuses are running out.

I refuse to even install Valorant (being a keen FPS gamer myself). I refuse to accept 140ms pings.

Thou shalt not have my money.
I don't think Riot gives a hoot about SA, we don't even have local League of legends servers here and that games been out forever. Highly doubt they'll ever deploy here. Valorant's a great game, modern interpolation like it has has improved a lot, very good considering. I played CS 1.3,1.5,1.6/CS-source/CSGO since 2000 for 20 odd years and can't go back now, feels outdated, kills are more satisfying in Valorant and the game has far more depth.
Lot of locals play Apex and Fortnite internationally as well, nothing beats low ping but we'll miss out on all these modern titles if we don't just accept high ping.

Thanks for the follow up.
 

tm458

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 9, 2019
Messages
247
Again, as I always encourage gamers, insist that they at least deploy some local servers. We now have AWS, and Azure, so their excuses are running out.
One of the excuses i hear that circulates alot (not from Riot themselves) is that we don't have a large enough player base to warrant getting servers but then a place like middle east got a server after launch. It would take me a while to find an immortal game even in peak queuing times unless i selected EU servers along with bahrain.

Even though i've heard something different from one of their employees, i still think that Riot has something against ZA :/
 

TheRoDent

Cool Ideas Rep
Joined
Aug 6, 2003
Messages
5,963
One of the excuses i hear that circulates alot (not from Riot themselves) is that we don't have a large enough player base to warrant getting servers but then a place like middle east got a server after launch. It would take me a while to find an immortal game even in peak queuing times unless i selected EU servers along with bahrain.

Even though i've heard something different from one of their employees, i still think that Riot has something against ZA :/
One of the reasons the don't have a large playerbase over here is because they don't have local servers. :)
 

Seeyou

Expert Member
Joined
May 1, 2007
Messages
2,451
Getting some pretty crappy packet loss to Apex servers in Frankfurt as well, when assigned to them. Doesn't show up on MTR but present in game. Could be the crappy servers too, but thought I'd mention it anyway:

Code:
|------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------|
|                                      WinMTR statistics                                   |
|                       Host              -   %  | Sent | Recv | Best | Avrg | Wrst | Last |
|------------------------------------------------|------|------|------|------|------|------|
|                             192.168.1.1 -    0 |   39 |   39 |    0 |    0 |    0 |    0 |
|                             154.0.0.242 -    0 |   39 |   39 |    0 |    0 |    3 |    1 |
|                   No response from host -  100 |    8 |    0 |    0 |    0 |    0 |    0 |
|                   No response from host -  100 |    8 |    0 |    0 |    0 |    0 |    0 |
|                   No response from host -  100 |    8 |    0 |    0 |    0 |    0 |    0 |
|           ae-6.edge7.London1.Level3.net -    0 |   39 |   39 |  140 |  141 |  151 |  140 |
|                   No response from host -  100 |    8 |    0 |    0 |    0 |    0 |    0 |
|     LIMELIGHT-N.ear2.London2.Level3.net -    0 |   39 |   39 |  141 |  141 |  144 |  141 |
|            siteprotect.security.neustar -    0 |   39 |   39 |  141 |  143 |  183 |  141 |
|                         156.154.217.130 -    0 |   39 |   39 |  154 |  155 |  178 |  154 |
|                   No response from host -  100 |    8 |    0 |    0 |    0 |    0 |    0 |
|  gre01.fra.siteprotect.security.neustar -    0 |   39 |   39 |  153 |  154 |  204 |  153 |
|                         156.154.253.115 -    0 |   39 |   39 |  154 |  154 |  165 |  154 |
|        ae0.fra7-pe-electra.bb.gdinf.net -    0 |   39 |   39 |  154 |  155 |  177 |  154 |
|         ae0.fra7.sr-right.dcn.gdinf.net -    0 |   39 |   39 |  154 |  154 |  158 |  154 |
|et-51.ds1-right.ieg47.frankfurt.de.velia.net -    0 |   39 |   39 |  154 |  154 |  159 |  154 |
|                            85.195.76.95 -    0 |   39 |   39 |  154 |  154 |  160 |  154 |
|________________________________________________|______|______|______|______|______|______|
   WinMTR v0.92 GPL V2 by Appnor MSP - Fully Managed Hosting & Cloud Provider
 

CrypticZA

Expert Member
Joined
Sep 21, 2019
Messages
2,271
Getting some pretty crappy packet loss to Apex servers in Frankfurt as well, when assigned to them. Doesn't show up on MTR but present in game. Could be the crappy servers too, but thought I'd mention it anyway:

Code:
|------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------|
|                                      WinMTR statistics                                   |
|                       Host              -   %  | Sent | Recv | Best | Avrg | Wrst | Last |
|------------------------------------------------|------|------|------|------|------|------|
|                             192.168.1.1 -    0 |   39 |   39 |    0 |    0 |    0 |    0 |
|                             154.0.0.242 -    0 |   39 |   39 |    0 |    0 |    3 |    1 |
|                   No response from host -  100 |    8 |    0 |    0 |    0 |    0 |    0 |
|                   No response from host -  100 |    8 |    0 |    0 |    0 |    0 |    0 |
|                   No response from host -  100 |    8 |    0 |    0 |    0 |    0 |    0 |
|           ae-6.edge7.London1.Level3.net -    0 |   39 |   39 |  140 |  141 |  151 |  140 |
|                   No response from host -  100 |    8 |    0 |    0 |    0 |    0 |    0 |
|     LIMELIGHT-N.ear2.London2.Level3.net -    0 |   39 |   39 |  141 |  141 |  144 |  141 |
|            siteprotect.security.neustar -    0 |   39 |   39 |  141 |  143 |  183 |  141 |
|                         156.154.217.130 -    0 |   39 |   39 |  154 |  155 |  178 |  154 |
|                   No response from host -  100 |    8 |    0 |    0 |    0 |    0 |    0 |
|  gre01.fra.siteprotect.security.neustar -    0 |   39 |   39 |  153 |  154 |  204 |  153 |
|                         156.154.253.115 -    0 |   39 |   39 |  154 |  154 |  165 |  154 |
|        ae0.fra7-pe-electra.bb.gdinf.net -    0 |   39 |   39 |  154 |  155 |  177 |  154 |
|         ae0.fra7.sr-right.dcn.gdinf.net -    0 |   39 |   39 |  154 |  154 |  158 |  154 |
|et-51.ds1-right.ieg47.frankfurt.de.velia.net -    0 |   39 |   39 |  154 |  154 |  159 |  154 |
|                            85.195.76.95 -    0 |   39 |   39 |  154 |  154 |  160 |  154 |
|________________________________________________|______|______|______|______|______|______|
   WinMTR v0.92 GPL V2 by Appnor MSP - Fully Managed Hosting & Cloud Provider
Frankfurt is AWS you need to do quite a bit of digging to find the IPs normally I use to find this same host as well but it's actually hosted on AWS
 

EpicPotato

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 28, 2021
Messages
109
You guys get +- 150 to London in CT?!
This makes me sad. Durban, Metrofibre and this is the usual. In game, it averages about 3-4ms higher, and packet loss is around 500 per game. Bahrain is an absolute horror show and usually packet loss is in the 1000s.
The VPN drops London by about 3ms, so not enough to be worth using.

1652785517520.png
 

CrypticZA

Expert Member
Joined
Sep 21, 2019
Messages
2,271
You guys get +- 150 to London in CT?!
This makes me sad. Durban, Metrofibre and this is the usual. In game, it averages about 3-4ms higher, and packet loss is around 500 per game. Bahrain is an absolute horror show and usually packet loss is in the 1000s.
The VPN drops London by about 3ms, so not enough to be worth using.

View attachment 1310346
We average around 145-150 for London/Bahrain (when that route is on) and then Paris is like 5ms higher.\

AWS route us generally the same way as the VPN would go so make sense it doesn't help you much, sadly Durban is like the neglected kid when it comes to latency etc you guys have it extra rough :(
 

DYreX146

Senior Member
Joined
Nov 14, 2018
Messages
613
You guys get +- 150 to London in CT?!
This makes me sad. Durban, Metrofibre and this is the usual. In game, it averages about 3-4ms higher, and packet loss is around 500 per game. Bahrain is an absolute horror show and usually packet loss is in the 1000s.
The VPN drops London by about 3ms, so not enough to be worth using.

View attachment 1310346
I uninstalled Valorant now but when I tried it a few days ago I got 173ms to London and 178ms to Paris (also in KZN), but I honestly think the game is unplayable with KZN ping.

At least Apex isn't so bad by comparison because I feel like Valorant has some sort of server side movement validation because I kept getting pulled backwards after jumping or getting shot at.
 

Enzo Matrix

Honorary Master
Joined
Dec 15, 2006
Messages
12,302
Question

Do you guys plan on offering a 200/200 on vuma?

Im on your 100/100 for 1099, and for 60 bucks more i can get 200/200 from another isp.

Just checking before i pull the trigger

Thanks
 

CrypticZA

Expert Member
Joined
Sep 21, 2019
Messages
2,271
I uninstalled Valorant now but when I tried it a few days ago I got 173ms to London and 178ms to Paris (also in KZN), but I honestly think the game is unplayable with KZN ping.

At least Apex isn't so bad by comparison because I feel like Valorant has some sort of server side movement validation because I kept getting pulled backwards after jumping or getting shot at.
I agree here, Valorant on 150 vs 170 is a huge difference even but Apex 150 vs 210 feels the same.

I have been playing on New York servers and honestly the game feels the same as a good day on EU.

When you get the horrible 195ms (CT to Finland) vs the 145 to London it feels the same. Where i did feel a difference was when i used exitlag to get around 130ms to Singapore i could feel a difference there more shots hit etc but then again it could have been an ultra smooth connection to the server - similar to what i am experncing playing on New York at 210ms.
 

Seeyou

Expert Member
Joined
May 1, 2007
Messages
2,451
I agree here, Valorant on 150 vs 170 is a huge difference even but Apex 150 vs 210 feels the same.

I have been playing on New York servers and honestly the game feels the same as a good day on EU.

When you get the horrible 195ms (CT to Finland) vs the 145 to London it feels the same. Where i did feel a difference was when i used exitlag to get around 130ms to Singapore i could feel a difference there more shots hit etc but then again it could have been an ultra smooth connection to the server - similar to what i am experncing playing on New York at 210ms.

I tried New York this morning after reading your previous post. First game I played, latency was hovering between 205 and 210ms but it felt really responsive - moreso than London at 150ms recently. But every game after that I was clearly being shunted over to any server that needed players further away from the east coast, as pings ranged from 230 to 280 and the game felt terrible. But if Apex could consistently put you on the server region you selected, I agree with you, New York was far better than any of the EU servers.
 

gool

Active Member
Joined
Mar 29, 2022
Messages
68
One of the reasons the don't have a large playerbase over here is because they don't have local servers. :)
Most modern games have ranking systems in competitive modes, then the limited playerbase is a problem. SA just doesn't have the numbers in that case. On CSGO local SA competitive matchmaking, you often get games mixed with players of all ranks, global elites mixed with silvers and golds. Same for Rocket League with SA servers which has stricter competitive matchmaking, you'll sit waiting forever for a game in higher ranks. Sure you can find matches in casual modes in some games, but ranked is a different story.
I uninstalled Valorant now but when I tried it a few days ago I got 173ms to London and 178ms to Paris (also in KZN), but I honestly think the game is unplayable with KZN ping.

At least Apex isn't so bad by comparison because I feel like Valorant has some sort of server side movement validation because I kept getting pulled backwards after jumping or getting shot at.
Yeah Valorant is a short time-to-kill game all about 1-tap headshots. I've found the sweet spot is below 155/160ms, above that it becomes more painful and you really start to notice the ping. Apex you get what, 100-220HP with self-healing and a long time-to-kill so it's more forgiving with high ping. Haven't played it in a while, I should get it updated to test packet loss.
 

Seeyou

Expert Member
Joined
May 1, 2007
Messages
2,451
Apex's netcode is absolute garbage, and highly favours the initiator of any action over the recipient, so higher latency is less noticeable, and peaker's advantage is huge. AFAIK, Valorant was built from the ground up with far better netcode, but is also less forgiving when it comes to higher latency and packet loss.
 

ItherNiT

Senior Member
Joined
Jan 31, 2011
Messages
863
Hmm ok didn't see that. But also R200 more than rsaweb
RSAWEB is one of those, goedkoop koop is duur koop.

They might be cheaper but their international is not great. I recently helped someone from the work move over to cisp for better ping and speed international.

He had a 100mbps line and couldn't even stream twitch on 1080p without buffering every 10 seconds.
 

CrypticZA

Expert Member
Joined
Sep 21, 2019
Messages
2,271
I tried New York this morning after reading your previous post. First game I played, latency was hovering between 205 and 210ms but it felt really responsive - moreso than London at 150ms recently. But every game after that I was clearly being shunted over to any server that needed players further away from the east coast, as pings ranged from 230 to 280 and the game felt terrible. But if Apex could consistently put you on the server region you selected, I agree with you, New York was far better than any of the EU servers.
Hmm interesting i only play in the evening when server population must be decent since i have not experienced this, i have played a bit in the past on NY servers.

I find EU servers during the morning, early afternoon feel good but during peak they obviously strained and it becomes unpleasant at times.
 

tm458

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 9, 2019
Messages
247
On CSGO local SA competitive matchmaking, you often get games mixed with players of all ranks, global elites mixed with silvers and golds.
We must be playing different versions of csgo because i never go against a mix of silver/golds in by GE games. No matter what time me and my friends queue, we always go against Globals/Supremes and sometimes a mix of DMGs with those globals but never against low ranks.
 

CrypticZA

Expert Member
Joined
Sep 21, 2019
Messages
2,271
Hmm ok didn't see that. But also R200 more than rsaweb
RSAWEB is one of those, goedkoop koop is duur koop.

They might be cheaper but their international is not great. I recently helped someone from the work move over to cisp for better ping and speed international.

He had a 100mbps line and couldn't even stream twitch on 1080p without buffering every 10 seconds.
https://www.speedtest.net/result/13149435232.png local

https://www.speedtest.net/result/13149439676.png international this is our work business account that costs like R3k per month...

Spend the R200 more for a better experience imo
 
Top