Cool Ideas Fibre ISP – Feedback Thread 4

DYreX146

Senior Member
Joined
Nov 14, 2018
Messages
603
Since the change i did not have any bad games, but it is tough with Apex since you choose a server and it assigns you a random one in EU so even though i selected Frankfurt (AWS) i could have been on Amsterdam as well since the pings are very similar
My friend and I just finished playing Apex and I didn't have any problems, although we did start playing at 8:30 so it could have been after the change.
 

PBCool

Cool Ideas
Company Rep
Joined
Jan 11, 2016
Messages
11,706
RE: #COOL-20220324-899811
Valorant packet loss

How's it looking here? Is this ever going to be fixed? I seem to be getting the silent treatment now from Gumani and PB.

Just be honest with me. Is it going to be fixed or not?
It's been 3 months of this problem now.
I've been very patient and done all the tests and config stuff you asked for over months.
Is it too much to ask for stable routing that everyone else gets?

Others with the same problem: @Overblaze @DYreX146 @Seeyou @CrypticZA

Thanks for any help
Please try Valorant again since the change yesterday for me?
 

bradza

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 24, 2012
Messages
331
If I move my line and data across to Cool Ideas for a month to month fibre (looking to test for maybe 6 months or a year - if good you have a client for even longer), is there a connect/transfer cost? What are the steps?
 

PBCool

Cool Ideas
Company Rep
Joined
Jan 11, 2016
Messages
11,706
If I move my line and data across to Cool Ideas for a month to month fibre (looking to test for maybe 6 months or a year - if good you have a client for even longer), is there a connect/transfer cost? What are the steps?
2 options, 12 month prorata clawback or pay for once off. If you are planning long term then prorata works and will cost you nothing.
 

gool

Active Member
Joined
Mar 29, 2022
Messages
68
Please try Valorant again since the change yesterday for me?
Still there...
London:
Lost 48 packets in 2 minutes and 166 in 8 minutes
Frankfurt:
Lost 124 packets in 9 minutes
Paris ping increased to 181ms instead of ~150ms.

It seems the packet loss is less like the usual 1-5% every ~3-15 seconds, but more sporadic now with bigger bursts of high loss (10-15%). During them I got got high delay and whipped back and forth in the game.
 
Last edited:

PBCool

Cool Ideas
Company Rep
Joined
Jan 11, 2016
Messages
11,706
Still there...
London:
Lost 48 packets in 2 minutes and 166 in 8 minutes
Frankfurt:
Lost 124 packets in 9 minutes
Paris ping increased to 181ms instead of ~150ms.

It seems the packet loss is less like the usual 1-5% every ~3-15 seconds, but more sporadic now with bigger bursts of high loss (10-15%). During them I got got high delay and whipped back and forth in the game.
So probably unrelated to AWS then I imagine, will do some more tests.

And you got the same issue using the UK VPN right?
 

gool

Active Member
Joined
Mar 29, 2022
Messages
68
So probably unrelated to AWS then I imagine, will do some more tests.

And you got the same issue using the UK VPN right?
Connecting to CI UK VPN makes London ping 198ms instead of 142ms (with VPN on left, without VPN on right)
1653904288633.png

Tests with UK VPN:
Got packet loss on Paris 1, saw a spike of 8%, 90 packets in 7 minutes.
Got packet loss on London as well, spike of 10% below:
1653904052161.png
 
Last edited:

PBCool

Cool Ideas
Company Rep
Joined
Jan 11, 2016
Messages
11,706
Connecting to CI UK VPN makes London ping 198ms instead of 142ms (with VPN on left, without VPN on right)
View attachment 1317984

Tests with UK VPN:
Got packet loss on Paris 1, saw a spike of 8%, 90 packets in 7 minutes.
Got packet loss on London as well, spike of 10% below:
View attachment 1317974
Which doesnt make a lot of sense, unless it is using AWS as benching hosts for latency.
 

CrypticZA

Expert Member
Joined
Sep 21, 2019
Messages
2,239
Which doesnt make a lot of sense, unless it is using AWS as benching hosts for latency.
Something about those pings looks very wrong...

When i use the VPN all my pings just generally go up by 10ms since i hit London at 150-152 vs 140-142 normally..

On those benchmarks you have Tokyo which should be at least 10 difference at a 3ms difference, Bahrain 7ms but then like Warsaw with a 50ms difference

Only pings that look accurate comparison wise there is Frankfurt and Stockholm

I normally play Apex on the VPN and have no issues but i had to stop recently since it would break my game and not let me connect to servers...
 

gool

Active Member
Joined
Mar 29, 2022
Messages
68
Did some tests on Apex now, loaded it just to test, no packet loss it seems:
Left: No VPN, Right: With VPN
1653934493943.png
I opened Valorant again, still the same different pings on and off the VPN.
(Copy/pasted the same screenshot from earlier but it was the same right now):
(Left: VPN, Right: No VPN)
1653933787425.png
 
Last edited:

TheRoDent

Cool Ideas Rep
Joined
Aug 6, 2003
Messages
5,911
Did some tests on Apex now, loaded it just to test, no packet loss it seems:
Left: No VPN, Right: With VPN
View attachment 1318630
I opened Valorant again, still the same different pings on and off the VPN.
(Copy/pasted the same screenshot from earlier but it was the same right now):
(Left: VPN, Right: No VPN)
View attachment 1318614
The additional ms introduced by the VPN server is to be expected, since it's a few hops outside our network, and on a IP that's not part of our network.
 

Seeyou

Expert Member
Joined
May 1, 2007
Messages
2,442
Did some tests on Apex now, loaded it just to test, no packet loss it seems:
Left: No VPN, Right: With VPN
View attachment 1318630
I opened Valorant again, still the same different pings on and off the VPN.
(Copy/pasted the same screenshot from earlier but it was the same right now):
(Left: VPN, Right: No VPN)
View attachment 1318614

You need to test in-game. The servers in that list are lobby / matchmaking servers, not the ones you actually play on.
 

gool

Active Member
Joined
Mar 29, 2022
Messages
68
You need to test in-game. The servers in that list are lobby / matchmaking servers, not the ones you actually play on.
I jumped into one game quick and had net-stats displayed, didn't notice any loss but hot-dropped and died pretty quickly, I'll try again for a longer game and look at the stats.
You getting packet loss to Apex as well?
Going to ask my mate to make a VPN for me to go through his home Vox or his work VM, so tired of this lol, no Valorant in 3 months.
 
Last edited:

Seeyou

Expert Member
Joined
May 1, 2007
Messages
2,442
I jumped into one game quick and had net-stats displayed, didn't notice any loss but hot-dropped and died pretty quickly, I'll try again for a longer game and look at the stats.
You getting packet loss to Apex as well?
Going to ask my mate to make a VPN for me to go through his home Vox or his work VM, so tired of this lol, no Valorant in 3 months.

Yeah, sometimes small amounts, sometimes large spikes. Never shows up on MTR when I trace the actual server's IP and test it.
 
Top