Cool Ideas Fibre ISP – Feedback Thread 4

DrJohnZoidberg

Honorary Master
Joined
Jul 24, 2006
Messages
22,979
Definitely an Octotel issue. I had the same until they changed the profile on their side when they first did the upgrades.
CI support insists I connect directly to the ONT and run tests that way but it's such a pain doing this as I have to disconnect the internet for the house and then connect up a laptop and remember which bloody commands I need to run for PPPOE on linux.
 

PBCool

Cool Ideas
Company Rep
Joined
Jan 11, 2016
Messages
11,825
CI support insists I connect directly to the ONT and run tests that way but it's such a pain doing this as I have to disconnect the internet for the house and then connect up a laptop and remember which bloody commands I need to run for PPPOE on linux.
Your best bet is just to confirm that everything is negotiated at 1Gbps, so login to router and check the status of the port to ONT and to LAN/Switch. Then check on the PC in question and if all at 1Gbps then we can chase Octotel some more.
 

DrJohnZoidberg

Honorary Master
Joined
Jul 24, 2006
Messages
22,979
Your best bet is just to confirm that everything is negotiated at 1Gbps, so login to router and check the status of the port to ONT and to LAN/Switch. Then check on the PC in question and if all at 1Gbps then we can chase Octotel some more.
1656498024817.png

The speedtest is run directly from the router. I have also run tests from another machine connected to the router which is connected at 1Gbit and it's never gone above 100Mbps up since I've moved into the new house.

Download speed is fine.
 

Seeyou

Expert Member
Joined
May 1, 2007
Messages
2,451
Your best bet is just to confirm that everything is negotiated at 1Gbps, so login to router and check the status of the port to ONT and to LAN/Switch. Then check on the PC in question and if all at 1Gbps then we can chase Octotel some more.

How would he be achieving >600mbps download if it wasn't 1Gbps across the board?
 

PBCool

Cool Ideas
Company Rep
Joined
Jan 11, 2016
Messages
11,825
View attachment 1337470

The speedtest is run directly from the router. I have also run tests from another machine connected to the router which is connected at 1Gbit and it's never gone above 100Mbps up since I've moved into the new house.

Download speed is fine.
I am not doubting what you are saying but these things are in the detail, so if router is negotiated at 1Gbps both ways then that's great. What is your ref for me?
 

DrJohnZoidberg

Honorary Master
Joined
Jul 24, 2006
Messages
22,979
I am not doubting what you are saying but these things are in the detail, so if router is negotiated at 1Gbps both ways then that's great. What is your ref for me?

COOL-20220511-931647​

Let's hope the forum works now that I'm back in our own timeline.
 

midasza

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 9, 2004
Messages
195
CI support insists I connect directly to the ONT and run tests that way but it's such a pain doing this as I have to disconnect the internet for the house and then connect up a laptop and remember which bloody commands I need to run for PPPOE on linux.
pppoe-on?
 

DYreX146

Senior Member
Joined
Nov 14, 2018
Messages
613
Getting higher than normal latency to Escape From Tarkov EU servers. Managed to get an IP of a London server - 89.187.167.89

1656593242541.png

Seems to be going to France then back to London.
 

PBCool

Cool Ideas
Company Rep
Joined
Jan 11, 2016
Messages
11,825
Getting higher than normal latency to Escape From Tarkov EU servers. Managed to get an IP of a London server - 89.187.167.89

View attachment 1338140

Seems to be going to France then back to London.
Thanks we are tweaking these routes, I'll have a look in the morning. How is KZN local latency looking?
 

Seeyou

Expert Member
Joined
May 1, 2007
Messages
2,451
Curious why every time I select Zapper / SnapScan as a payment method after following the invoice payment link, I get redirected to Payfast for a credit card payment anyway?
 

Praemon

Expert Member
Joined
Jan 11, 2007
Messages
1,619
Anyone else connected to Cape Gate Octotel having issues with the line going down? Happened at the end of load shedding. Came back up just now, but off again now. PON & ALM are red.
 

Tinuva

The Magician
Joined
Feb 10, 2005
Messages
11,529
Hi @PBCool @TheRoDent

I find whatsapp web painfully slow.
Looks like there is a new CPT facebook pop that is not peered. Not sure if it is part of the problem.

Code:
~ % mtr web.whatsapp.com --report-wide --show-ips
Start: 2022-07-01T15:40:37+0200
HOST: 909c4ace21ef.                                                    Loss%   Snt   Last   Avg  Best  Wrst StDev
  1.|-- 10.0.0.1                                                        0.0%    10    0.8   1.3   0.6   6.9   2.0
  2.|-- nn41-cust.coolideas.co.za (102.132.245.1)                       0.0%    10   59.5   8.2   1.5  59.5  18.1
  3.|-- um5g-cust.coolideas.co.za (155.93.240.36)                       0.0%    10   13.6  10.1   3.7  41.6  11.5
  4.|-- 154.0.1.125                                                     0.0%    10    2.5   2.4   1.5   5.5   1.2
  5.|-- 100.98.0.2                                                      0.0%    10    3.6   3.2   1.5   8.9   2.1
        100.98.0.3
        100.98.0.1
  6.|-- 100.99.0.126                                                    0.0%    10  142.1 142.6 141.4 147.5   1.8
  7.|-- ???                                                            100.0    10    0.0   0.0   0.0   0.0   0.0
  8.|-- be2185.rcr21.b015534-1.lon01.atlas.cogentco.com (154.54.61.61)  0.0%    10  142.8 142.6 142.0 143.7   0.5
  9.|-- 149.14.251.186                                                  0.0%    10  173.7 160.9 142.5 182.4  17.2
 10.|-- ???                                                            100.0    10    0.0   0.0   0.0   0.0   0.0
 11.|-- ae121.ar01.lhr6.tfbnw.net (157.240.40.68)                       0.0%    10  143.3 145.2 142.5 157.9   4.8
 12.|-- ae10.bb01.lhr6.tfbnw.net (74.119.79.140)                        0.0%    10  143.4 144.7 142.9 147.7   1.6
 13.|-- ae507.bb01.lhr8.tfbnw.net (129.134.47.89)                       0.0%    10  143.0 145.7 143.0 149.4   2.3
 14.|-- ae4.bb01.cpt1.tfbnw.net (129.134.42.172)                        0.0%    10  154.4 153.1 146.8 179.6  10.4
 15.|-- ae20.ar02.cpt1.tfbnw.net (129.134.54.99)                        0.0%    10  147.5 152.4 146.8 168.7   7.3
 16.|-- ae120.pr02.cpt1.tfbnw.net (129.134.38.125)                      0.0%    10  147.7 161.9 147.2 192.8  18.1
 17.|-- po102.psw01.cpt1.tfbnw.net (129.134.55.33)                      0.0%    10  147.3 148.1 146.5 155.8   3.0
 18.|-- 173.252.67.3                                                    0.0%    10  147.3 147.7 146.5 151.7   1.6
 19.|-- whatsapp-cdn-shv-01-cpt1.fbcdn.net (102.132.99.60)              0.0%    10  146.7 147.0 146.5 149.0   0.
 

DrJohnZoidberg

Honorary Master
Joined
Jul 24, 2006
Messages
22,979
I am not doubting what you are saying but these things are in the detail, so if router is negotiated at 1Gbps both ways then that's great. What is your ref for me?
Thanks for lighting some fires on this one, after Octotel failed their first attempt it is now resolved after they did something a second time. Just wish it could have been resolved this quickly when I opened the ticket in May.
 
Top