Cool Ideas Fibre ISP – Feedback Thread 4

CrypticZA

Expert Member
Joined
Sep 21, 2019
Messages
1,605
And because your target of 24.105.62.129 (BLIZZARD) does not respond to pings, it's impossible to tell what the loss to the endpoint actually is.

137.221.69.49 (et-0-0-0-pe02-eqch2.as57976.net) is loss-free.
24.105.30.129 (US West)
24.105.62.129 (US Central)
137.221.105.2

These three IP's that are advertised on Blizzards site to test with for USA

Strange that 24.105.62.129 is not showing the last hop, since its advertised in their network troubleshooting section
 

TheRoDent

Cool Ideas Rep
Joined
Aug 6, 2003
Messages
5,461
Remember loss along a path is very normal, if you look at your 10th hop there is no loss which means up to that host there is no packet loss between you and it.
1619013095083.png

The penultimate destination looks fine. It's just the routers in-between that seems to struggle, but it still means the packet made it fine.
 

TheRoDent

Cool Ideas Rep
Joined
Aug 6, 2003
Messages
5,461
24.105.30.129 (US West)
24.105.62.129 (US Central)
137.221.105.2

These three IP's that are advertised on Blizzards site to test with for USA

Strange that 24.105.62.129 is not showing the last hop, since its advertised in their network troubleshooting section
Yeah, Blizzard disables pings because people ping them to death. 24.105.30.129 does respond though....


1619013210093.png
 

CrypticZA

Expert Member
Joined
Sep 21, 2019
Messages
1,605
Yeah, Blizzard disables pings because people ping them to death. 24.105.30.129 does respond though....


View attachment 1056283
Ah i see, saw your comment of "And because your target of 24.105.62.129 (BLIZZARD) does not respond to pings, it's impossible to tell what the loss to the endpoint actually is." so thought i'd give the alternatives.

Blizzards network use to respond very well to pings but since Covid a lot of the hops you will see won't resspond of response time will be like 2000ms.
 

r00igev@@r

Executive Member
Joined
Dec 14, 2009
Messages
6,940
And because your target of 24.105.62.129 (BLIZZARD) does not respond to pings, it's impossible to tell what the loss to the endpoint actually is.

137.221.69.49 (et-0-0-0-pe02-eqch2.as57976.net) is loss-free.
May the fleas of a million camels curse the bastards who disable ICMP. (Or if you give me their shipping address I'll send them a Christmas present of a wifi extender!) :ROFL:
 

chrisGolf

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 30, 2019
Messages
150
link down again?
SADV / East JHB

Apr 21 21:02:08 pppd[448]: Serial link appears to be disconnected.
Apr 21 21:02:11 WAN Connection: Fail to connect with some issues.
Apr 21 21:02:11 nat: apply redirect rules
Apr 21 21:02:14 pppd[448]: Connection terminated.

at 21h00 > might be scheduled maintenance .. checking announcements...
#edit > could not see any

Ticket: #COOL-20210421-668539

@TheRoDent @PBCool
 
Last edited:

LLoydizle

Senior Member
Joined
Aug 3, 2015
Messages
596
Line just
link down again?
SADV / East JHB

Apr 21 21:02:08 pppd[448]: Serial link appears to be disconnected.
Apr 21 21:02:11 WAN Connection: Fail to connect with some issues.
Apr 21 21:02:11 nat: apply redirect rules
Apr 21 21:02:14 pppd[448]: Connection terminated.

at 21h00 > might be scheduled maintenance .. checking announcements...
#edit > could not see any
down as well... This is seriously a problem that I am honestly getting sick off now.
 

chrisGolf

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 30, 2019
Messages
150
Line just

down as well... This is seriously a problem that I am honestly getting sick off now.
I've bought myself a MTN LTE modem / package thing as backup, VUMA/SADV/CISP are not very reliable. I had to with WFH situation.
 

LLoydizle

Senior Member
Joined
Aug 3, 2015
Messages
596
I've bought myself a MTN LTE modem / package thing as backup, VUMA/SADV/CISP are not very reliable. I had to with WFH situation.
I was literally about to start the Warzone event tonight and my line gets cut the moment I finally got into a lobby!

and as much as I hate to say it - yes. VUMA/SADV/CISP are not the most reliable. Getting help from support is pointless and with the fixes they implement seem to be very temporary.
 

CrypticZA

Expert Member
Joined
Sep 21, 2019
Messages
1,605
link down again?
SADV / East JHB

Apr 21 21:02:08 pppd[448]: Serial link appears to be disconnected.
Apr 21 21:02:11 WAN Connection: Fail to connect with some issues.
Apr 21 21:02:11 nat: apply redirect rules
Apr 21 21:02:14 pppd[448]: Connection terminated.

at 21h00 > might be scheduled maintenance .. checking announcements...
#edit > could not see any

Ticket: #COOL-20210421-668539

@TheRoDent @PBCool
This anywhere near you?

Good Day,

We are experiencing the following Network Incident.

Network Incident Reference:#4975
Network Incident Description:Fibre Break
Network Incident Grade:Low
Region Affected:Ekurhuleni
Area/s Affected:
Primrose Hill:

Lobelia Road
Eugenia Road
Hamblin Road
Alyosia Road
Fuchsia Road
Deutzia Road
lxia Road
Gardenia Road
Begonia Road
Protea Road
Network Type Affected:GPON
Current Resident Impact:Residents have no connectivity
Current Network Incident Status:Technicians are still busy with repairs
 

chrisGolf

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 30, 2019
Messages
150
This anywhere near you?

Good Day,

We are experiencing the following Network Incident.

Network Incident Reference:#4975
Network Incident Description:Fibre Break
Network Incident Grade:Low
Region Affected:Ekurhuleni
Area/s Affected:
Primrose Hill:

Lobelia Road
Eugenia Road
Hamblin Road
Alyosia Road
Fuchsia Road
Deutzia Road
lxia Road
Gardenia Road
Begonia Road
Protea Road
Network Type Affected:GPON
Current Resident Impact:Residents have no connectivity
Current Network Incident Status:Technicians are still busy with repairs
Hi Cryptic,
Yes, it's close enough. My road is not mentioned, but guessing it could be related? When did this happen? At 21h00?
 

LLoydizle

Senior Member
Joined
Aug 3, 2015
Messages
596
21:07 notification came through via Rocketnet RSS feed
Would something like that effect other areas, even if you’re not close to any of those roads?

Mainly asking because I’m down as well, but none of those roads are close to me
 

CrypticZA

Expert Member
Joined
Sep 21, 2019
Messages
1,605
Would something like that effect other areas, even if you’re not close to any of those roads?

Mainly asking because I’m down as well, but none of those roads are close to me
So technically it could, the network is seen as a circuit if a part of it breaks and you go via it, things won't work - anyone can happily correct me if i am wrong here. They could reroute traffic around if there is another route i would assume too

mmm, yea, time is close and area is close. Is it the Vuma network?
Edit:
found the thread: https://rss.rocketnet.co.za/i/ > i can see its VUMA.

Looks quite useful this feed... bookmarked!
Yes it is the Vumatel Network
 

chrisGolf

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 30, 2019
Messages
150
So technically it could, the network is seen as a circuit if a part of it breaks and you go via it, things won't work - anyone can happily correct me if i am wrong here. They could reroute traffic around if there is another route i would assume too


Yes it is the Vumatel Network
yea, not sure it it's related > this issue #4975 seems to have been occurring since yesterday ...

Re: Network Incident #4975 | Fibre Break |Primrose Hill

20 April 2021 at 20:19


Anyway, ticket logged with CISP > await their response.
 

LLoydizle

Senior Member
Joined
Aug 3, 2015
Messages
596
So technically it could, the network is seen as a circuit if a part of it breaks and you go via it, things won't work - anyone can happily correct me if i am wrong here. They could reroute traffic around if there is another route i would assume too


Yes it is the Vumatel Network
Thank you! So it looks like no internet for me tonight.
 
Top