Cool Ideas Fibre ISP – Feedback Thread 4

Soul Assassin

Honorary Master
Joined
Mar 27, 2006
Messages
10,712
I'm trying to setup the test VPN via Softether, but I'm not doing something right.

What should the virtual hub name be? If any? Because if I don't specify anything there, then the "OK" button is not clickable.

I do specify the hostname as well as the username correctly though :unsure:
DEFAULT
 

StoneCold

Expert Member
Joined
Jul 18, 2006
Messages
3,814
Thanks a lot, that did the trick :cool:

Took the VPN for a quick spin for a match of Ground War in MW 2019. Have to say the matchmaking was basically instantaneous and had a solid latency of 176-180ms for the entire match. It's an improvement with what I normally get without the VPN (180-196ms). Keep in mind I live in Bloem, so I will have some added latency compared to my fellow Jhb and Cpt CISP subscribers.

But I'll test some other games too, but overall, a solid experience from what I've seen so far :)
 
Last edited:

TheRoDent

Cool Ideas Rep
Joined
Aug 6, 2003
Messages
5,656
I'm trying to setup the test VPN via Softether, but I'm not doing something right.

What should the virtual hub name be? If any? Because if I don't specify anything there, then the "OK" button is not clickable.

I do specify the hostname as well as the username correctly though :unsure:
You can use "DEFAULT" for the virtual hubname.
 

Praeses

Expert Member
Joined
Oct 29, 2005
Messages
4,881
Anybody else not getting full speeds on their lines?

I'm on 100/100 with frogfoot in Bloem - only getting 50/25 with a local mutlithreaded speedtest to CISP's server.
 

AfricanTech

Honorary Master
Joined
Mar 19, 2010
Messages
36,979
Internet just drop for anyone else?

23h34

Frogfoot Trenched
100/100

Pinelands
Cape Town
 

Markd

Expert Member
Joined
Oct 8, 2009
Messages
1,322
Yes, yesterday and today there have been noticeable drops. Also dropped in Blouberg Cape Town on Octotel. We've gone from a nice stable period of connectivity, to multiple drops a day again....
 

ZANAIDOC

Active Member
Joined
May 24, 2018
Messages
64
Internet died sometime last night on the MFN network , anyone else ?
All ONT lights are on , router also reset
Tongaat Beach area 100/100

#COOL-20210513-682262
 

Frogfoot Fibre

Frogfoot Fibre Rep
Company Rep
Joined
Aug 14, 2018
Messages
204
Hi, our technicians are working with the ISPs directly to resolve this issue. They are attending with urgency, no ETR has been advised as yet. We apologize for the inconvenience caused.
 

furpile

Expert Member
Joined
Jul 14, 2014
Messages
3,409
Multiple connection failures on the Vodacom network in Richards Bay the last few days. Already had 3 or 4 today. Multiple people in the area reported the same issues. Call logged #COOL-20210513-682649.

1620908285348.png

 

linkinpark

Expert Member
Joined
Jun 27, 2005
Messages
1,185
Intermittent loss of connectivity in Durban North Vuma Trenched

EDIT: Currently only able to browse local sites, international completely dead

EDIT: Working now
 
Last edited:

PBCool

Cool Ideas
Company Rep
Joined
Jan 11, 2016
Messages
10,759
Intermittent loss of connectivity in Durban North Vuma Trenched

EDIT: Currently only able to browse local sites, international completely dead

EDIT: Working now
Primary path dropped , have logged with our carrier.
 

PBCool

Cool Ideas
Company Rep
Joined
Jan 11, 2016
Messages
10,759
Hi Paul,

I just want to provide you with an quick update. We continue to investigate this with our Backbone Operations, as we have multiple paths from South Africa into Europe, to see if we can optimize the path the traffic is taking to ensure the lowest latency possible.

Just an update*
 

CrypticZA

Expert Member
Joined
Sep 21, 2019
Messages
1,821
Hi Paul,

I just want to provide you with an quick update. We continue to investigate this with our Backbone Operations, as we have multiple paths from South Africa into Europe, to see if we can optimize the path the traffic is taking to ensure the lowest latency possible.

Just an update*
1620922125368.png
Well if they did something... tell them to leave things how it is because 157ms to Frankfurt is spot on
 

Praeses

Expert Member
Joined
Oct 29, 2005
Messages
4,881
Hi, our technicians are working with the ISPs directly to resolve this issue. They are attending with urgency, no ETR has been advised as yet. We apologize for the inconvenience caused.
Would this be the reason for my low throughput in BFN?
 
Last edited:
Top