Status
Not open for further replies.

SeaSickMama

Expert Member
Joined
Dec 26, 2013
Messages
2,119
The transfer above your post was a Google drive transfer using their Windows File Stream app ;)

Okay yeah pretty keen to move over to cool ideas then im with Metro fibre just dont want to have 2mbps international traffic as that is sad
 

Mr Scratch

Expert Member
Joined
May 15, 2013
Messages
4,822
Okay yeah pretty keen to move over to cool ideas then im with Metro fibre just dont want to have 2mbps international traffic as that is sad

Did a Wireshark, I was pulling from the JHB Google POP, I can't force an international transfer but if you have any further tests you'd like me to do just shout :D
 

SeaSickMama

Expert Member
Joined
Dec 26, 2013
Messages
2,119
Did a Wireshark, I was pulling from the JHB Google POP, I can't force an international transfer but if you have any further tests you'd like me to do just shout :D

Well as for google nice thing is they route it all local, just use google drive a ***** load got about 11TB worth of stuff on there so i need to make sure that works.

Many thanks i take it steam games max out also

Tried to download wireshark and this is the speeds my ISP gives me via Seacom, what does Cool Ideas throw Untitled.jpg 360 Kbps on a 50Mbps+ line via the MFN
 
Last edited:

ghostR

Executive Member
Joined
Feb 11, 2015
Messages
6,115
Well as for google nice thing is they route it all local, just use google drive a ***** load got about 11TB worth of stuff on there so i need to make sure that works.

Many thanks i take it steam games max out also

Tried to download wireshark and this is the speeds my ISP gives me via Seacom, what does Cool Ideas throw /snip 360 Kbps on a 50Mbps+ line via the MFN

That's MFN(Seacom) for ya.
 

SeaSickMama

Expert Member
Joined
Dec 26, 2013
Messages
2,119
That's MFN(Seacom) for ya.

being with Cool Ideas on MFN do you think i should be in a better place as my tracerts give very good results on my current network
I live on a plot so no congestion here luckily

C:\Users\Tyrone>tracert cisp.co.za

Tracing route to cisp.co.za [154.0.13.95]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms USG [192.168.5.1]
2 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms 192.168.4.1
3 2 ms 2 ms 2 ms 100.64.96.1
4 2 ms 3 ms 2 ms 196.192.178.9
5 2 ms 3 ms 2 ms 196.50.234.9
6 16 ms 21 ms 10 ms 196.50.234.5
7 3 ms 2 ms 4 ms coolideas.ixp.joburg [196.60.8.171]
8 3 ms 3 ms 3 ms unp-cust.coolideas.co.za [154.0.3.85]
9 6 ms 22 ms 14 ms 154.0.4.53
10 16 ms 10 ms 3 ms c3t-backbone.coolideas.co.za [154.0.1.137]
11 4 ms 3 ms 4 ms urm-cust.coolideas.co.za [154.0.3.226]
12 4 ms 3 ms 4 ms u2n3-cust.coolideas.co.za [154.0.13.95]
 

ghostR

Executive Member
Joined
Feb 11, 2015
Messages
6,115
being with Cool Ideas on MFN do you think i should be in a better place as my tracerts give very good results on my current network
I live on a plot so no congestion here luckily

C:\Users\Tyrone>tracert cisp.co.za

Tracing route to cisp.co.za [154.0.13.95]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms USG [192.168.5.1]
2 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms 192.168.4.1
3 2 ms 2 ms 2 ms 100.64.96.1
4 2 ms 3 ms 2 ms 196.192.178.9
5 2 ms 3 ms 2 ms 196.50.234.9
6 16 ms 21 ms 10 ms 196.50.234.5
7 3 ms 2 ms 4 ms coolideas.ixp.joburg [196.60.8.171]
8 3 ms 3 ms 3 ms unp-cust.coolideas.co.za [154.0.3.85]
9 6 ms 22 ms 14 ms 154.0.4.53
10 16 ms 10 ms 3 ms c3t-backbone.coolideas.co.za [154.0.1.137]
11 4 ms 3 ms 4 ms urm-cust.coolideas.co.za [154.0.3.226]
12 4 ms 3 ms 4 ms u2n3-cust.coolideas.co.za [154.0.13.95]

Yeah you should be in a better position using Cool Ideas as your ISP over the MFN fibre infrastructure as you'll be removing MFN's Internet breakout from the mix.
 

JazzeD

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 26, 2006
Messages
482
Can i Pre-order from Cool Ideas even thought Vumatel are still busy trenching in my are only.
 

PBCool

Cool Ideas
Company Rep
Joined
Jan 11, 2016
Messages
11,849
Can i Pre-order from Cool Ideas even thought Vumatel are still busy trenching in my are only.

You can but there isn't much of a point, the line order is what you need to get pre-ordered with Vumatel as that is the part that delays things the most.
 

rash1233

Active Member
Joined
Sep 6, 2015
Messages
82
Hey PBCool, was wondering if you could provide some insight.

On my iPhone if I run a speedtest to a server in London I can hit around 40/70 (on a 100/100 line).
If I run the same test on my windows PC (wired), I'm hitting around 20/5.

I know this has been brought up on the forums before, and it's to do with the tcp buffer size. But any ideas on how to fix this on my PC to get closer to the speeds I'm getting on my phone?
It seems to be affecting my uploads to sites like streamable or sometimes dropbox.

(Local is solid 100/100).
 

ghostR

Executive Member
Joined
Feb 11, 2015
Messages
6,115
Hey PBCool, was wondering if you could provide some insight.

On my iPhone if I run a speedtest to a server in London I can hit around 40/70 (on a 100/100 line).
If I run the same test on my windows PC (wired), I'm hitting around 20/5.

I know this has been brought up on the forums before, and it's to do with the tcp buffer size. But any ideas on how to fix this on my PC to get closer to the speeds I'm getting on my phone?
It seems to be affecting my uploads to sites like streamable or sometimes dropbox.

(Local is solid 100/100).

try doing what this article says - https://www.ghacks.net/2016/08/05/windows-10-limiting-internet-speed/

TL;DR - Command prompt - run the following as administrator - netsh int tcp set global autotuninglevel=disabled
then run a speedtest to an international server and see if any better.
 
Last edited:

rash1233

Active Member
Joined
Sep 6, 2015
Messages
82
try doing what this article says - https://www.ghacks.net/2016/08/05/windows-10-limiting-internet-speed/

TL;DR - Command prompt - run the following as administrator - netsh int tcp set global autotuninglevel=disabled
then run a speedtest to an international server and see if any better.

I know about this and tried messing around with it before. Setting it to disabled dropped the speeds to around 14/3. I had it on experimental and the speeds I mentioned previously was what I was getting. Setting it to normal gets the same speeds as experimental. Still way different compared to on the phone.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top