Status
Not open for further replies.

Tinuva

The Magician
Joined
Feb 10, 2005
Messages
10,675
If I recall Kenridge has some sort of main POP, Brackenfell has a bunch of their own POP's as well, think we have around 4 scattered around in the area, those big white buildings that look like walk in freezers.

I believe the POPS connect to each other and then to Kendridge before it heads into town, that is why I say Kenrdige perhaps has some sort of main POP before it hits the main lines into town, chances are good all other surrounding areas also go via Kenridge into town before the handoff to the ISPs.

Don't quote me on this, but that is what I got from one of the Vuma technicians when they installed in our area end of last year.

Interesting and maybe plausable, but not sure. Usually in networks you make use of rings, so that you always have redundant paths in case of a fibre break. So I would be surprised if everything has to be forced through kenrdige. I do however know Kenridge was the very first northern suburbs hub, so plausible.
 

Sinbad

Honorary Master
Joined
Jun 5, 2006
Messages
77,440
I see Vumatel are announcing some maintenance in Blairgowrie, to resplice a dome joint. Any idea whether this is related to performance issues that have been experienced by some?
 

Kloon

Expert Member
Joined
Nov 6, 2006
Messages
1,665
Feedback I got now from another group is that Vuma said the issue is fixed now and everything should be back to normal.

Our main links was over utilized so we needed to add more additional links to accommodate to traffic
We apologize for the inconvenience this has caused , but it’s sorted now.
[MENTION=8066]Tinuva[/MENTION] so it looks like they did not have much redundancy in place after all and everything was going through a main link.
 
Last edited:

PBCool

Cool Ideas
Company Rep
Joined
Jan 11, 2016
Messages
11,122
I see Vumatel are announcing some maintenance in Blairgowrie, to resplice a dome joint. Any idea whether this is related to performance issues that have been experienced by some?
Vumatel says there are no known issues in the Parkhurst Parkwood area, so will need to continue sending them proof.
 

Tinuva

The Magician
Joined
Feb 10, 2005
Messages
10,675
Feedback I got now from another group is that Vuma said the issue is fixed now and everything should be back to normal.


[MENTION=8066]Tinuva[/MENTION] so it looks like they did not have much redundancy in place after all and everything was going through a main link.

ok thats awesome :( Lets pray that DFA cable path never gets damaged.
 

Jordan_Za

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 5, 2007
Messages
224
Hi PBCool,
I'm getting TTL Expired in Transit on ICMP to my link.
154.0.4.53
154.0.3.21
196.10.141.171
and the odd time out.


#COOL-20180716-124163

Has someone looped something? either physically or on a router?
 

PBCool

Cool Ideas
Company Rep
Joined
Jan 11, 2016
Messages
11,122
Feedback I got now from another group is that Vuma said the issue is fixed now and everything should be back to normal.


[MENTION=8066]Tinuva[/MENTION] so it looks like they did not have much redundancy in place after all and everything was going through a main link.
Yeah they say they've added additional capacity, it often isn't designed in a ring but multipath between pops which then formulates the right.
 

PBCool

Cool Ideas
Company Rep
Joined
Jan 11, 2016
Messages
11,122
Hi PBCool,
I'm getting TTL Expired in Transit on ICMP to my link.
154.0.4.53
154.0.3.21
196.10.141.171
and the odd time out.


#COOL-20180716-124163

Has someone looped something? either physically or on a router?
Should be resolved was a flapping route, let me know.
 

ChadKay

Well-Known Member
Joined
Sep 14, 2013
Messages
156
Hi,
How do I change my package and how long does it take to reflect? Will I be billed pro rata or the full amount if done half way through the month?
TIA
 

PBCool

Cool Ideas
Company Rep
Joined
Jan 11, 2016
Messages
11,122
Hi,
How do I change my package and how long does it take to reflect? Will I be billed pro rata or the full amount if done half way through the month?
TIA

Hi there, which fibre network :)
 

PBCool

Cool Ideas
Company Rep
Joined
Jan 11, 2016
Messages
11,122
My bad... i'm with Vumatel. Thanks

If trenched then just go to https://shop.vumatel.co.za login and browse for the package you want then click order, you will be pro-rata for the difference in new package and old for the difference of the month. If you have issues logging into the Vumatel portal and reset password doesn't work, don't register as a new user, rather reach out to me.
 

phuma

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 19, 2013
Messages
233
[MENTION=394133]PBCool[/MENTION], looks like the night time Vumatel badness was much better last night. There were still a few shades of gray ;-)

Screen Shot 2018-07-17 at 12.50.49.jpg

I was curious about the Cool Ideas VOIP - is that still R85/month? At some stage I thought that was going to fall away, or am I remembering wrong?
 

gmathews

Well-Known Member
Joined
May 5, 2010
Messages
133
Hello. On a 100/100 Package with Cool Ideas - others with the same package, what is your international speed test?
 

jannier

Expert Member
Joined
Jul 31, 2005
Messages
1,836
[MENTION=394133]PBCool[/MENTION] Something just broke!!
YouTube suddenly stopped, timed out and came up with error message.
Then few seconds later it came back up with horrible latency.

youtube.com

|------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------|
| WinMTR statistics |
| Host - % | Sent | Recv | Best | Avrg | Wrst | Last |
|------------------------------------------------|------|------|------|------|------|------|
| 192.168.88.1 - 0 | 101 | 101 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| 155.93.243.1 - 0 | 101 | 101 | 1 | 4 | 99 | 1 |
| c3h-backbone.coolideas.co.za - 0 | 101 | 101 | 1 | 1 | 1 | 1 |
| cd-backbone.coolideas.co.za - 0 | 101 | 101 | 1 | 1 | 2 | 1 |
| 154.0.4.158 - 0 | 101 | 101 | 141 | 141 | 142 | 141 |
| 195.66.224.125 - 0 | 101 | 101 | 141 | 141 | 155 | 155 |
| 108.170.246.175 - 0 | 101 | 101 | 300 | 300 | 303 | 300 |
| 66.249.95.9 - 0 | 101 | 101 | 299 | 300 | 323 | 301 |
| 72.14.239.129 - 0 | 101 | 101 | 300 | 303 | 653 | 300 |
| jnb01s08-in-f46.1e100.net - 0 | 101 | 101 | 299 | 299 | 321 | 299 |
|________________________________________________|______|______|______|______|______|______|
WinMTR v0.92 GPL V2 by Appnor MSP - Fully Managed Hosting & Cloud Provider

cisp.co.za

|------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------|
| WinMTR statistics |
| Host - % | Sent | Recv | Best | Avrg | Wrst | Last |
|------------------------------------------------|------|------|------|------|------|------|
| 192.168.88.1 - 0 | 6 | 6 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| 155.93.243.1 - 0 | 6 | 6 | 1 | 1 | 1 | 1 |
| c3h-backbone.coolideas.co.za - 0 | 6 | 6 | 1 | 1 | 1 | 1 |
| cd-backbone.coolideas.co.za - 0 | 6 | 6 | 1 | 1 | 1 | 1 |
| 154.0.4.158 - 0 | 6 | 6 | 141 | 141 | 141 | 141 |
| 154.0.1.145 - 0 | 6 | 6 | 306 | 308 | 310 | 310 |
| 154.0.4.53 - 0 | 5 | 5 | 307 | 308 | 310 | 307 |
| 154.0.1.137 - 0 | 6 | 6 | 307 | 313 | 338 | 310 |
| 154.0.3.226 - 0 | 6 | 6 | 307 | 309 | 311 | 310 |
| 154.0.13.95 - 0 | 6 | 6 | 307 | 309 | 311 | 311 |
|________________________________________________|______|______|______|______|______|______|
WinMTR v0.92 GPL V2 by Appnor MSP - Fully Managed Hosting & Cloud Provider
 
Last edited:

DrJohnZoidberg

Honorary Master
Joined
Jul 24, 2006
Messages
22,708
Yup. Something is not quite right.

Code:
Tracing route to google.co.za [216.58.223.3]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

  1     2 ms     2 ms     2 ms  155.93.250.1
  2   142 ms   142 ms   142 ms  uoa-cust.coolideas.co.za [154.0.3.106]
  3   142 ms   142 ms   142 ms  195.66.224.125
  4   301 ms   301 ms   300 ms  108.170.246.143
  5   310 ms   301 ms   300 ms  66.249.95.9
  6   300 ms   300 ms   300 ms  72.14.237.239
  7   303 ms   300 ms   300 ms  jnb01s07-in-f3.1e100.net [216.58.223.3]

Trace complete.
 

Tinuva

The Magician
Joined
Feb 10, 2005
Messages
10,675
[MENTION=16789]DrJohnZoidberg[/MENTION] - Edit: Looks like backhaul from CPT to JHB is down. LOTSA stuff affected, like PBCool mentioned.

Both Google and other things going over Nap JHB is rerouting.

Code:
mtr www.google.com --report-wide
Start: 2018-07-17T14:03:34+0200
HOST: netmon                     Loss%   Snt   Last   Avg  Best  Wrst StDev
  1.|-- router.heaven.ctwug.za.net  0.0%    10    0.5   0.5   0.4   0.6   0.1
  2.|-- 155.93.243.1                0.0%    10    1.2   1.3   1.1   2.0   0.3
  3.|-- 154.0.1.125                 0.0%    10    1.2   1.2   1.0   1.3   0.1
  4.|-- 154.0.1.13                  0.0%    10    1.6   1.4   1.3   1.6   0.1
  5.|-- 154.0.4.158                 0.0%    10  141.5 141.5 141.3 142.0   0.2
  6.|-- 195.66.224.125              0.0%    10  141.9 141.9 141.7 142.4   0.2
  7.|-- 74.125.242.83               0.0%    10  302.4 301.8 301.1 302.4   0.5
  8.|-- 216.239.51.32               0.0%    10  310.2 303.5 301.3 312.7   4.2
  9.|-- 72.14.237.239               0.0%    10  301.6 301.4 301.1 301.9   0.2
 10.|-- jnb01s07-in-f4.1e100.net    0.0%    10  301.4 301.5 301.3 301.7   0.1

Also:
https://netmon.heaven.za.net/smokeping/smokeping.cgi?target=AWS.AWS-CF-JHB
https://netmon.heaven.za.net/smokeping/smokeping.cgi?target=Google

Lots at:
https://netmon.heaven.za.net/smokeping/smokeping.cgi?target=LocalISPs
 
Last edited:

PBCool

Cool Ideas
Company Rep
Joined
Jan 11, 2016
Messages
11,122
Yeah device failure of one of the carriers, will affect national back haul and some international capacity, they are investigating.
 

Tinuva

The Magician
Joined
Feb 10, 2005
Messages
10,675
Yup. Something is not quite right.

Code:
Tracing route to google.co.za [216.58.223.3]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

  1     2 ms     2 ms     2 ms  155.93.250.1
  2   142 ms   142 ms   142 ms  uoa-cust.coolideas.co.za [154.0.3.106]
  3   142 ms   142 ms   142 ms  195.66.224.125
  4   301 ms   301 ms   300 ms  108.170.246.143
  5   310 ms   301 ms   300 ms  66.249.95.9
  6   300 ms   300 ms   300 ms  72.14.237.239
  7   303 ms   300 ms   300 ms  jnb01s07-in-f3.1e100.net [216.58.223.3]

Trace complete.

But your traceroute is strange, no idea wtf is happening with your hop 2.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top