Status
Not open for further replies.

SpiderGear

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 8, 2010
Messages
484
They load balance their content servers between JHB and Cape Town, they are apparently looking to change this in future but they arent sure when. It's an arbitrary way of doing it if you ask me, we also have to backhaul all of their traffic for them this way.

Is there a danger in pointing that hostname to the JHB IP on my router bypassing their load balancing?
 

Tinuva

The Magician
Joined
Feb 10, 2005
Messages
10,652
Is there a danger in pointing that hostname to the JHB IP on my router bypassing their load balancing?

Dont think so, but if they also use it as failover (who knows), then if the JHB fails you could have been routed to CPT until JHB is back up. So its about convenience vs reliability for yourself.
 

Scoperzor

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 8, 2010
Messages
182
Not if you have a line already.

Hi PBCool

I realise I'm quoting an old comment but I have been searching around for answers on this. I have moved from Metro fibre as a line provider and ISP to Cool Ideas as my ISP, under the assumption I would not be charged installation etc. But I have now been charged the R500 installation despite Metro fibre coming to take my old router and no installation being done by Cool Ideas specifically. Is this right?
 

SeaSickMama

Expert Member
Joined
Dec 26, 2013
Messages
1,995
Not able to stream twitch now even when TI starts today :( 160p really.....

tracert live.twitch.tv

Tracing route to live-fra.twitch.tv [185.42.205.246]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms 192.168.5.1
2 8 ms 8 ms 9 ms 154.0.0.120
3 4 ms 3 ms 3 ms 154.0.4.210
4 175 ms 164 ms 169 ms c5y-backbone.coolideas.co.za [154.0.1.214]
5 * * * Request timed out.
6 lhr01-br01.justin.tv [195.66.225.174] reports: Destination net unreachable.
 
Last edited:

Furbz

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 22, 2010
Messages
322
I now have no internet in kyalami. Yet my router still shows a green light
 

Attachments

  • 20180815_173956.jpg
    20180815_173956.jpg
    50 KB · Views: 106
Last edited:

PBCool

Cool Ideas
Company Rep
Joined
Jan 11, 2016
Messages
11,086
Hi PBCool

I realise I'm quoting an old comment but I have been searching around for answers on this. I have moved from Metro fibre as a line provider and ISP to Cool Ideas as my ISP, under the assumption I would not be charged installation etc. But I have now been charged the R500 installation despite Metro fibre coming to take my old router and no installation being done by Cool Ideas specifically. Is this right?
PM me your account name?
 

nk1

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 3, 2005
Messages
319
There is some MFN maintenance currently I believe. I will try to confirm.

Okay, please keep us updated. Speedtest to international gone to pieces. Barely getting 5Mbs to London. Kyalami Hills area.
 

macedon

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 15, 2010
Messages
144
This is weekly occurance, or I would say mulitple times in a week or the norm that the international bandwidth is not existant, internet today completely useless, cannot stream or even make a proper skype video call. Losing patience and I guess nothing is being done to resolve this issue once for all.

Getting 4mbps international on a 200mbps fibre is really a joke!
 

SplaT

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 12, 2008
Messages
230
Not able to stream twitch now even when TI starts today :( 160p really.....

tracert live.twitch.tv

Tracing route to live-fra.twitch.tv [185.42.205.246]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms 192.168.5.1
2 8 ms 8 ms 9 ms 154.0.0.120
3 4 ms 3 ms 3 ms 154.0.4.210
4 175 ms 164 ms 169 ms c5y-backbone.coolideas.co.za [154.0.1.214]
5 * * * Request timed out.
6 lhr01-br01.justin.tv [195.66.225.174] reports: Destination net unreachable.

Good, so it's not just me. I can barely stream in 160p and it STILL buffers.

Overall, CISP seems to be anti-Twitch. It sucks being on a 100Mb fiber line and having to switch to mobile data to watch Twitch properly on a normal day, but today is especially bad.
 

Zodiak

Senior Member
Joined
Sep 2, 2009
Messages
823
Seems the issues just continue, international speed under 10 meg tonight, ping at 600ms in game, I guess Paul and Cool Ideas just don't care. I've been having issues for months, I have e-mail details to Paul and his team a gazillion times and never get a response, feedback or resolution. I guess I have to get our Estate to start looking at alternative providers as Evotel and Cool Ideas are just not getting things right....
 

SeaSickMama

Expert Member
Joined
Dec 26, 2013
Messages
1,995
This is indeed a cool ideas only issue, gone to my neighbour in the end and they directly with metro fibre and I can stream 1080p twitch
 

gmathews

Well-Known Member
Joined
May 5, 2010
Messages
133
Seeing the same issues with twitch buffering on TI, now I can see speeds fluctuating in Steam when trying to download the Dota 2 game to watch in game, on 100MB, and goes from 3mb/s to 8mb/s then back to 2mb/s. What's going on there?

On SADV.
 

sn0rbaard

Active Member
Joined
Aug 9, 2017
Messages
40
Since my PPPoE was just completely dead last night my fibre is barely usable. Only getting 2.2 Mbps on a speedtest to my nearest Speedtest server. Browsing and everything is terrible tonight. I'd appreciate if you can check this out. Also on SADV. #COOL-20180731-129535
Edit: also getting extensive packet loss.
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top