Status
Not open for further replies.

ChadKay

Well-Known Member
Joined
Sep 14, 2013
Messages
156
Hi - please can someone give me a decent way of testing my network quality/performance and packet loss?
TIA

Edit: Mac compatible please.
 
Last edited:

TheRoDent

Cool Ideas Rep
Joined
Aug 6, 2003
Messages
5,695
Had a telecon this afternoon with Octotel. They had a backhaul failure from Seapoint to a backup link which caused congestion on a link via Rondebosch affecting large portions of the network.

This was apparently resolved today at 12.40.

Let's see how tonight's peak time goes.
 

TheRoDent

Cool Ideas Rep
Joined
Aug 6, 2003
Messages
5,695
Code:
PTA East, OS 100/50

############## iperf3 --port 17001 --bandwidth 80M -l 1400 --omit 2 -R -u -c lnms.cisp.co.za
iperf3: error - unable to connect to server: Connection refused

############## iperf3 --port 17001 --bandwidth 80M -l 1400 --omit 2 -R -u -c trcvmh01.cisp.co.za
[  4]   0.00-10.00  sec  96.0 MBytes  80.5 Mbits/sec  0.217 ms  0/71601 (0%)

############## iperf3 --port 17001 --bandwidth 80M -l 1400 --omit 2 -R -u -c cptspeedtest.cisp.co.za
[  4]   0.00-10.00  sec  96.0 MBytes  80.5 Mbits/sec  0.186 ms  21/71606 (0.029%)

############## iperf3 --port 17001 --bandwidth 80M -l 1400 --omit 2 -R -u -c queen.cisp.co.za
[  4]   0.00-10.00  sec  97.4 MBytes  81.7 Mbits/sec  0.164 ms  3/72668 (0.0041%)


############## Randburg - Cool Ideas Multi
speedtest-cli --simple --server 6591 --secure
Ping: 36.963 ms
Download: 90.39 Mbit/s
Upload: 51.42 Mbit/s
############## Randburg - Cool Ideas Single
speedtest-cli --simple --server 6591 --secure --single
Ping: 5.671 ms
Download: 90.93 Mbit/s
Upload: 48.67 Mbit/s

############## London - Coreix Multi
speedtest-cli --simple --server 8066 --secure
Ping: 204.711 ms
Download: 14.44 Mbit/s
Upload: 30.39 Mbit/s
############## London - Coreix Single
speedtest-cli --simple --server 8066 --secure --single
Ping: 177.397 ms
Download: 3.19 Mbit/s
Upload: 6.19 Mbit/s

############## London - Vodafone UK Multi
speedtest-cli --simple --server 2789 --secure
Ping: 202.045 ms
Download: 24.65 Mbit/s
Upload: 30.98 Mbit/s
############## London - Vodafone UK Single
speedtest-cli --simple --server 2789 --secure --single
Ping: 174.557 ms
Download: 9.07 Mbit/s
Upload: 7.05 Mbit/s

I've written a PHP script to execute the above iperfs and speedtests (requirements being php, iperf3 and speedtest-cli). It's a far cry from perfect as I haven't touched PHP in about 2 years, and I've only tested it on Linux. But it may be a start for us having a single script to run for diagnostics.

Code:
#! /usr/bin/php
<?php

echo "<< Insert City, Area, FNO, Line speed >>";
echo "\r\n";

$iperf_servers = [
    '0' => 'lnms.cisp.co.za',
    '1' => 'trcvmh01.cisp.co.za',
    '2' => 'cptspeedtest.cisp.co.za',
    '3' => 'queen.cisp.co.za'
];

foreach ($iperf_servers as $server){
    $cmd = "iperf3 --port 17001 --bandwidth 80M -l 1400 --omit 2 -R -u -c $server";
    echo "\r\n############## $cmd\r\n";
    $result = shell_exec($cmd);
    $result_lines = explode("\n", $result);
    if (count($result_lines) == 2){
        echo $result;
    }
    foreach ($result_lines as $line){
        if (strpos($line, '[  4]   0.00-10.00  sec') !== false){
            echo trim($line) . "\r\n";
        }
    }
}

echo "\r\n";

$speedtest_servers = [
    6591 => "Randburg - Cool Ideas",
    8066 => "London - Coreix",
    2789 => "London - Vodafone UK"
];

foreach ($speedtest_servers as $id => $server_name){
    $cmd = "speedtest-cli --simple --server $id --secure";
    echo "\r\n############## $server_name Multi\r\n";
    echo "$cmd\r\n";
    echo shell_exec($cmd);
    $cmd .= " --single";
    echo "############## $server_name Single\r\n";
    echo "$cmd\r\n";
    echo shell_exec($cmd);
}

?>
Nice!
 

gaboom

Active Member
Joined
Apr 3, 2019
Messages
55
Hi @TheRoDent, need your assistance...
Based in Gardens and cant ever seem to stream anything without buffering. Would you PM the "tests" you want me to run...
 

MDE

Expert Member
Joined
May 18, 2009
Messages
2,103
So in essence, Octotel diverted all traffic from SeaPoint to Rondebosch node?
 

zolly

Expert Member
Joined
Sep 1, 2005
Messages
4,464
Had a telecon this afternoon with Octotel. They had a backhaul failure from Seapoint to a backup link which caused congestion on a link via Rondebosch affecting large portions of the network.

This was apparently resolved today at 12.40.

Let's see how tonight's peak time goes.

That seems to make sense. Done extensive speed tests and local is for the most part flying at max. International however, is all over the place. Some rare instances I'm getting 75% line speed, but most of the time I'm getting about 40% total line speed overseas. I've tested this across multiple servers, across multiple speed test providers.

I'm willing to accept (but not happy) that at peak hours I may go as low as 50%, but tbh, my ADSL never went lower than 75% unless it was busted. When I was on 10 meg I usually got 8 meg international, and when Telkom did the whole automated bandwidth balancing thing I was pushed onto 12 meg and got 10 meg international speeds. Seriously disappointing that I'm getting lower total bandwidth overseas than on my old line atm.

At least latency is rock solid across the board.

I've sent all this info via PM to @CoolChick for you guys to look at.
 

MDE

Expert Member
Joined
May 18, 2009
Messages
2,103
That seems to make sense. Done extensive speed tests and local is for the most part flying at max. International however, is all over the place. Some rare instances I'm getting 75% line speed, but most of the time I'm getting about 40% total line speed overseas. I've tested this across multiple servers, across multiple speed test providers.

I'm willing to accept (but not happy) that at peak hours I may go as low as 50%, but tbh, my ADSL never went lower than 75% unless it was busted. When I was on 10 meg I usually got 8 meg international, and when Telkom did the whole automated bandwidth balancing thing I was pushed onto 12 meg and got 10 meg international speeds. Seriously disappointing that I'm getting lower total bandwidth overseas than on my old line atm.

At least latency is rock solid across the board.

I've sent all this info via PM to @CoolChick for you guys to look at.
Same for mine. Octotel Southern Suburbs
 

zolly

Expert Member
Joined
Sep 1, 2005
Messages
4,464
Does anyone know if you can have multiple fiber accounts? I miss the days when I could just switch to another ISP quick to see if it was my service provider or the ADSL network which was boned.
 

GhostSixFour

Username approved by US Airforce
Joined
Nov 9, 2009
Messages
15,317
Does anyone know if you can have multiple fiber accounts? I miss the days when I could just switch to another ISP quick to see if it was my service provider or the ADSL network which was boned.

As far as I understand it.

Openserve, yes.
Vumatel, no.
 

Phinix

Expert Member
Joined
Jun 18, 2010
Messages
1,141
Twitch has been perfect the past 3 days, inevitably it has gone to rubbish again.
 

ArtyLoop

Executive Member
Joined
Dec 18, 2017
Messages
7,778
That seems to make sense. Done extensive speed tests and local is for the most part flying at max. International however, is all over the place. Some rare instances I'm getting 75% line speed, but most of the time I'm getting about 40% total line speed overseas. I've tested this across multiple servers, across multiple speed test providers.

I'm willing to accept (but not happy) that at peak hours I may go as low as 50%, but tbh, my ADSL never went lower than 75% unless it was busted. When I was on 10 meg I usually got 8 meg international, and when Telkom did the whole automated bandwidth balancing thing I was pushed onto 12 meg and got 10 meg international speeds. Seriously disappointing that I'm getting lower total bandwidth overseas than on my old line atm.

At least latency is rock solid across the board.

I've sent all this info via PM to @CoolChick for you guys to look at.
Its peak time and I am getting 100% what I pay for on VDSL.
96% of my line speed, from Italy (downloading files for work tomorrow)
Octotel sucks man...
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top