Current website design `trend'.

broadone

Thanks for the quick reply.

Is this the new standard now in web design?

I'm seeing it quite often but not everywhere of course.

What other style(s) do you think is modern and very popular?

ITCynic

Expert Member
I dont think is a new standard, it has just become very popular and trendy.

I think if you Google website design trends for 2017 you will get many opinions on the subject.

After all beauty is in the eye of the beholder so what would be awesome to one target market might not be to another market segment.

Personally I think the style of the website depends on what you are trying to accomplish on a website. I would not use a parallax style for a shopping site but rather a column style front page. Again all very subjective.

PM me your website address and let me have a look at it and I can give you my perspective. (I must be upfront and admit I am a website developer)

rorz0r

Executive Member
Hah, it's more of a fad than a "standard". What's more important these days is that your site works well and looks good on mobile ("responsive"). The SID site is pretty good.

As for "styles" the general style these days is pretty much flat everything, perhaps with brightish colours and a bit of black and white. Fonts are also pretty important.

ITCynic

Expert Member
I think sites designed on the "mobile first" concept will be the latest trend.

Try resizing you browser width on the MyBB main site to see an example of mobile friendly design.
Try resizing on http://www.timeslive.co.za/ so see a site that is not mobile friendly.

I am currently working on a mobile friendly wordpresss design that has 7 design styles based on screen widths of various devices.

Takes quite a bit of time to do as you are in effect styling a website mutiple times for multiple devices. (phones, tablets, desktop in portrait and landscape.)

Gets tricky whe you are using columns that must play nicely for all screen sizes.