Discovery Bank

DENROCwtf

Active Member
Joined
Dec 2, 2018
Messages
40
Is that secondary card with your name on? Or your partners? I had mine with my partners name on and it's asking her to sign up for Vitality Money.
it comes with your partners name on and you can pick a category - such as PETROL, HOUSEHOLD - but it is secondary - you have one account with two cards, both earn point and mile to the primary account. I have it that the secondary need to register on the app - to transfer or Freeze the card without needing the primary account. You can load a limit if one needs the security when giving the card to a child. Both can get notifications of transaction.
 

ies87

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 3, 2019
Messages
457
Discovery Miles Multiplier

They say "Earn hundreds of Discovery Miles through Vitality Active Rewards, for getting healthy, driving well and spending responsibly." So what do you earn if you're on Vitality Active Rewards and not with the Bank? Do things stay as they are at the moment - earn points to be exchanged for vouchers?

They say "For the Discovery Miles earn qualifying criteria, log in and view the 'info and tips' page." But you can only view this page if you're an existing Discovery Bank client!

If you’re not with bank you still get miles from next year. You just spend them from the corporate app, not the bank app. The current vouchers for coffees, shopping etc will be priced in miles as opposed to the current points/coins. Not sure if you’ll be able to convert miles to cash without bank though.
 

JV_011_

Senior Member
Joined
Sep 13, 2012
Messages
648
I was just busy typing in my transactions in Microsoft Money (yes, I still use it and I hate it that I can't download my DiscoveryBank transactions!) when I realised that you get boosted interested on the transaction accounts and demand savings accounts, but not on notice accounts. That means I'm actually get 0.5% more interested on immediately available funds than the funds with a 32 days notice period. The banker I spoke to seemed genuinely surprised that I thought it is weird... Has anyone else raised it with them? The only way now seem to be to give notice on the notice accounts, then wait out the 32 days, create new demand savings accounts and then transfer. Would have been easier to change the product type. And even better if they boost the interest on notice and fixed deposits as well!
Try 22seven for the non discovery accounts. It does the budgeting for you automatically.
 

ies87

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 3, 2019
Messages
457
I see all cash backs are going to be paid as miles from next year. Not sure how I feel about that... What's the point of the Vitality Savings Account then?
 

hj007

Expert Member
Joined
Aug 30, 2006
Messages
1,335
I see all cash backs are going to be paid as miles from next year. Not sure how I feel about that... What's the point of the Vitality Savings Account then?
Looking to switch to a pure cashback card?
 

ECHLN

Senior Member
Joined
Sep 22, 2017
Messages
686
Looks like Discovery has more than 50,000 users now on Android. 733777
 

ies87

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 3, 2019
Messages
457
Has anyone been able to upgrade their account to the full banking suite? I've been struggling with Discovery now for more than a month.

And the option is still not available on the app.
The ability to upgrade from cc to suite is finally available. Just did mine and the call centre confirmed that it’s available now. Menu > Add Account > Add Transaction Account then select the suite. The option used to be there but all it did back then was add a stand-alone transaction account. My account gets recognised as a suite now, can see the increased cashback on the iPhone benefit page.
 

ECHLN

Senior Member
Joined
Sep 22, 2017
Messages
686
The ability to upgrade from cc to suite is finally available. Just did mine and the call centre confirmed that it’s available now. Menu > Add Account > Add Transaction Account then select the suite. The option used to be there but all it did back then was add a stand-alone transaction account. My account gets recognised as a suite now, can see the increased cashback on the iPhone benefit page.
I don't see it 733957
 

ies87

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 3, 2019
Messages
457
Strange. Option was there for me. I saw a stand-alone option and the full suite. Are you running the latest version?

Do you have the credit card? They mentioned that you can only upgrade to a full suite from a credit card at this time, not from a transaction account.
 

ECHLN

Senior Member
Joined
Sep 22, 2017
Messages
686
Strange. Option was there for me. I saw a stand-alone option and the full suite. Are you running the latest version?

Do you have the credit card? They mentioned that you can only upgrade to a full suite from a credit card at this time, not from a transaction account.
That's why. I have a transaction account
 

BloemGuy

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 13, 2005
Messages
313
Try 22seven for the non discovery accounts. It does the budgeting for you automatically.
Actually use it for the tracking and reporting more than the budgeting. I can tell you exactly how much I have spent on eggs (or anything for that matter) since 1995! LOL
 

binloud

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 21, 2018
Messages
308
Has anyone cashback at woolworths or healthy food store dropped to zero, mine was 40% yesterday and now its zero. The website gives an Error 500, seems like they messed stuff up even more than usual.
 

Gtx Gaming

Gtx Gaming
Joined
Aug 25, 2008
Messages
22,813
Hey guys how long does it take update weekly goal? did a transaction for R500 I should get 2 points for that.

Trying to reach, all 3 goals this week!
 

twr

Expert Member
Joined
Oct 14, 2008
Messages
1,698
Hey guys how long does it take update weekly goal? did a transaction for R500 I should get 2 points for that.

Trying to reach, all 3 goals this week!
I get my points as soon as I have done the transaction
 

twr

Expert Member
Joined
Oct 14, 2008
Messages
1,698
Has anyone cashback at woolworths or healthy food store dropped to zero, mine was 40% yesterday and now its zero. The website gives an Error 500, seems like they messed stuff up even more than usual.
Mine if fine on the money app
 
Top