Do you see 4G+ or 4G with Rain?

Napalm

Expert Member
Joined
Jun 22, 2006
Messages
2,249
#41
on 2600 mine is also pretty bad.. (0 bars of signal <-120dbm>)

yet I switch it back to All.. <it uses 1800mhz then>

Then this is my signal
RSRQ: -7dB
RSRP: -75dBm
SINR: 22dB
 
Last edited:

cavedog

Honorary Master
Joined
Oct 19, 2007
Messages
13,312
#42
on 2600 mine is also pretty bad.. (0 bars of signal <-120dbm>)

yet I switch it back to All.. <it uses 1800mhz then>

Then this is my signal
RSRQ: -7dB
RSRP: -75dBm
SINR: 22dB
What that means the tower you are connecting to does not have the 2600MHz band and it's picking up 2600MHz from a tower very far from you. This could be due to the fact they have not rolled out the 2600MHz or there is an outage on that band on the tower.

Rain is basically doing what Telkom is doing. Running 2 LTE bands on each tower. Now in theory and what I expected to happen is that the B618 will aggregate these 2 bands and then you will see pretty decent speeds and you will see 4G+ on the huawei portal. That is currently not happening or at least not wor the B618 and instead the B618 and the B315 for that matter picks one of the bands and connects only to 1 band.

So sad because speeds peak over 100Mbps when the 2 bands aggregate.
 
Joined
May 9, 2012
Messages
7,687
#43
What that means the tower you are connecting to does not have the 2600MHz band and it's picking up 2600MHz from a tower very far from you. This could be due to the fact they have not rolled out the 2600MHz or there is an outage on that band on the tower.
Not true, 2600 just doesn't propagate as well as 1800, it will always give you lower signal strength.
 

cavedog

Honorary Master
Joined
Oct 19, 2007
Messages
13,312
#44
Not true, 2600 just doesn't propagate as well as 1800, it will always give you lower signal strength.
Yes I agree to some extent but as OP said RSRP: -75dBm with 1800MHz and -120dBm with 2600MHz is NOT the same tower I can put money down.

You can realistically see a difference of say 15dBm 1800MHz vs 2600MHz on the same tower and end user at the same location. 1800MHz will fluctuate SNIR more than 2600MHz.
 
Joined
May 9, 2012
Messages
7,687
#45
Yes I agree to some extent but as OP said RSRP: -75dBm with 1800MHz and -120dBm with 2600MHz is NOT the same tower I can put money down.

You can realistically see a difference of say 15dBm 1800MHz vs 2600MHz on the same tower and end user at the same location. 1800MHz will fluctuate SNIR more than 2600MHz.
I go from -59 to -72, remember dB is logarithmic so -75 to -120 is perfectly possible. 2600 will be severely effected by buildings and trees, if there's lots in the way it could also explain the difference.

Napalm, check your cell ID on the 2 frequencies, 100% sure it's the same tower.
 

cavedog

Honorary Master
Joined
Oct 19, 2007
Messages
13,312
#46
I go from -59 to -72, remember dB is logarithmic so -75 to -120 is perfectly possible. 2600 will be severely effected by buildings and trees, if there's lots in the way it could also explain the difference.

Napalm, check your cell ID on the 2 frequencies, 100% sure it's the same tower.
I disagree. No way it can be that bad I'm talking from experience. If it is then one of the repeater panels is dead then. There is NO way that can be the difference. From -75 to -120. NEVER it's not even happening with Telkom on the 2300MHz which more susceptible to interference by trees and stuff.
Also note that his SINR is 22dB on 1800MHz I find the SINR to be very poor compared to the higher TDD LTE bands even with clear LOS which means he is relatively close to the tower with minimal obstruction.

I spend so much time researching and testing these things so if I'm wrong I will be very surprised and will be the first time EVER to see it.
 
Last edited:

Napalm

Expert Member
Joined
Jun 22, 2006
Messages
2,249
#47
I get 5 bars of signal on 1800.

Cellid did change when I went to 2600.

Pity rain don't run on 2 diff freq at same time.



Do you know if vodacom does?
 

cavedog

Honorary Master
Joined
Oct 19, 2007
Messages
13,312
#49
Just check on mtn with the b618.

I get 4g+, but only 60mps on speedtest.
Yeah would be interesting to see what bands MTN is aggregating and how much bandwidth each. So far Vodacom is only doing RAIN roaming for LTE+/4G+ that is available to the public.

MTN is probably using refarmed spectrum from 2G or 3G to get LTE+

Will test and see if I can get 4G+ but it does not show on MTN with the S8 unless the total bandwidth is more than 20MHz
 

cavedog

Honorary Master
Joined
Oct 19, 2007
Messages
13,312
#53
So after some research and testing my research I see that both Rain and Vodacom made a HORRIBLE mistake selecting the Huawei B618s-22d as their primary LTE+/4G+ CPE.

They failed to do simple research on the matter and it will cost them.

The Huawei B618s-22d does not Support LTE-A carrier aggregation on Rain and Vodacom(Roaming Rain)

The data sheet available from Huawei indicates that the B618 supports the following:
LTE: B1/3/7/8/20/38 FDD: 2100 MHz/1800 MHz/2600 MHz/ 900 MHz/800 MHz TDD: 2600 MHz
Intra-band contiguous: CA_1C,CA_3C,CA_7C,CA_8B, CA_38C
Inter-band: CA_1A-3A,CA_1A-20A,CA_3A-7A,CA_3A-20A,CA_7A-20A,CA_20A-38A


As you can see from above the is no Inter-band non continuous CA for band 3 and band 38. That is why Cellc actually works with LTE Advanced because the router supports their band combination with CA_1A-3A

This is SHOCKING how Rain and Vodacom could have over looked this thing. Did they not pick it up in testing :confused: The router supports CA of band 38 if the network owns more than one block of spectrum in that frequency for example 2 x 20MHz blocks of 2600MHz then CA will will happen but it does not support CA between band 38 and band 3.

I remembered that before Rain locked the network my S8 did indeed show 4G+ on Rain and for that to have had happened CA must have been active and the total bandwidth being more than 20MHz and we know that Rain has 10Mhz 1800Mhz and 20MHz 2600MHz spectrum and that is what they are using to run their LTE. Not sure if they have more blocks of spectrum in each band but if they do it's not implemented because the B618 would have picked up that and CA would happen with the routers Inter-Band Continuous CA. :(

Links as evidence:
http://www.3gpp.org/technologies/keywords-acronyms/101-carrier-aggregation-explained
https://www.slideshare.net/allabout4g/23-aug12-ltewebcast
https://www.4gltemall.com/blog/lte-advanced-technology-carrier-aggregation/
http://2share.co.za/Files/HUAWEI B618s-22d-datasheet.pdf
 
Last edited:

cavedog

Honorary Master
Joined
Oct 19, 2007
Messages
13,312
#54
I'm so angry actually now. Vodacom is selling these LTE-A routers with data to the public and they will never be able to connect to LTE-a on their network. Not only that it's contract so people are being misled.

How can Vodacom and Rain make such a mistake. :mad:
 

DominionZA

Executive Member
Joined
May 5, 2005
Messages
8,268
#55
http://2share.co.za/Files/Windows.zip

Unzip that. I'm assuming you have a windows pc.

Edit huawei_band_tool_config.txt with the correct username, password and router ip address.

Run this one LTE_2600_TDD.bat

That will force the router to the 2600MHz band only. LTE_1800.bat for 1800MHz band only these are the 2 bands Rain support. See which one give you the best speed.

Run LTE_ALL.bat if you decide to activate all bands again.


Thanks to @Yuu for the link to the tool. Works very well actually compared to the huawei toolbox for the B315. :)
Give this man a bells. In fact - give him a whole fkn case!

I have been pretty happy seeing DL of around 30Mbps average with a peak here and there to 50/60. UP average around 20Mbps.

Ran this tool and force 2600Mhz now (actually thought it was always on 2600Mhz).

Before
CELL_ID: 26032129
RSRQ: -4dB
RSRP: -74dBm
SINR: 6dB
PLMN: 65519
DL: 38Mbps
UL: 19Mbps

After
CELL_ID: 26032162
RSRQ: -6dB
RSRP: -87dBm
SINR: 6dB
PLMN: 65519
DL: 85Mbps
UL: 8Mbps

I will remain on 2600Mhz for daily use. When I need to deploy or something that requires UL, it's a simple double click to double the UL speed.

Thanks dude!
 

nmccullo

Active Member
Joined
Jul 25, 2012
Messages
78
#56
http://2share.co.za/Files/Windows.zip

Unzip that. I'm assuming you have a windows pc.

Edit huawei_band_tool_config.txt with the correct username, password and router ip address.

Run this one LTE_2600_TDD.bat

That will force the router to the 2600MHz band only. LTE_1800.bat for 1800MHz band only these are the 2 bands Rain support. See which one give you the best speed.

Run LTE_ALL.bat if you decide to activate all bands again.


Thanks to @Yuu for the link to the tool. Works very well actually compared to the huawei toolbox for the B315. :)
Awesome cavedog! My stats went from 35U 15D to 75U 7D! Will stick with 2600 for now.

Why does Rain keep this a "secret"?
 

cavedog

Honorary Master
Joined
Oct 19, 2007
Messages
13,312
#57
Awesome cavedog! My stats went from 35U 15D to 75U 7D! Will stick with 2600 for now.

Why does Rain keep this a "secret"?
I think they made a mistake with the router as per my post above. They wanted the B618 to aggregate both bands and give true LTE-A speeds where both frequencies will be combined giving users a lot of speed but they failed to notice that the router just does not support it and runs the 2 lte bands separately so for now people need to choose a band.
 

nmccullo

Active Member
Joined
Jul 25, 2012
Messages
78
#59
I think they made a mistake with the router as per my post above. They wanted the B618 to aggregate both bands and give true LTE-A speeds where both frequencies will be combined giving users a lot of speed but they failed to notice that the router just does not support it and runs the 2 lte bands separately so for now people need to choose a band.
Can this not be fixed with a future firmware update on the B618?
 

cavedog

Honorary Master
Joined
Oct 19, 2007
Messages
13,312
#60
Can this not be fixed with a future firmware update on the B618?
I don't know I have flashed 3 different types of firmware. Play Telekom Poland. Denmark4G and Russia 3 Net I think it was and it did not solve the issue at all so might actually be a hardware/chip related restriction.

If you want 100Mbps+ on true LTE-A with CA on Rain you need a router or cpe that can do CA_3A-38A.

It will aggregate the bands together and you can essentially see the download speed of 1800MHz + download speed of 2600MHz and then either the upload speed of 1800Mhz or upload speed of 2600Mhz.

This is the latest firmware available for this router but people in Poland is also complaining saying the router is not supporting the proper ca combinations that Play Poland is running.

 
Last edited:
Top