Ematic 4K Ultra HD Android TV Box (AGT419) Feedback

TedP

New Member
Joined
Aug 25, 2019
Messages
7
Here's a query on the Ematic AGT419. I bought mine from Matrix Northgate last Sunday. I'm happy with it except for one thing which for me is a deal breaker. The problem is that as supplied it is not possible to write to the SD card or a USB sick. This means that the user cannot delete , move, copy or cutf file . It is also not possible to record shows to the SD card or a memory stick. It seems that the box needs to be rooted but I can't find how to do this . All the info on the internet seems to be for TV boxes with the stock Android system rather that the Android TV OS as installed on the Ematic box
Has anyone on the forun tried to root the box or know how to do this ?
 

rodga

Honorary Master
Joined
May 9, 2007
Messages
10,324
Here's a query on the Ematic AGT419. I bought mine from Matrix Northgate last Sunday. I'm happy with it except for one thing which for me is a deal breaker. The problem is that as supplied it is not possible to write to the SD card or a USB sick. This means that the user cannot delete , move, copy or cutf file . It is also not possible to record shows to the SD card or a memory stick. It seems that the box needs to be rooted but I can't find how to do this . All the info on the internet seems to be for TV boxes with the stock Android system rather that the Android TV OS as installed on the Ematic box
Has anyone on the forun tried to root the box or know how to do this ?
The sd card writing is and android problem not a ematic box problem
 

TedP

New Member
Joined
Aug 25, 2019
Messages
7
I do understand that - just trying to find a way to root the system if that is what is required
 

joshuatree

Expert Member
Joined
Jul 2, 2012
Messages
2,030
O crap , so one cannot download directly and build and chop and change a small library of movies on a SD card on these Android TV OS boxes - was thinking of scenarios where AirBNB' ing a place or where internet is not uncapped and having a box with like a movie box office library on.
 

SmartKit

SmartKit Rep
Joined
Jun 29, 2008
Messages
8,219
O crap , so one cannot download directly and build and chop and change a small library of movies on a SD card on these Android TV OS boxes - was thinking of scenarios where AirBNB' ing a place or where internet is not uncapped and having a box with like a movie box office library on.
I've done this on the MiBox?
 

Thor

Honorary Master
Joined
Jun 5, 2014
Messages
42,490
O crap , so one cannot download directly and build and chop and change a small library of movies on a SD card on these Android TV OS boxes - was thinking of scenarios where AirBNB' ing a place or where internet is not uncapped and having a box with like a movie box office library on.
That would be illegal
 

SmartKit

SmartKit Rep
Joined
Jun 29, 2008
Messages
8,219
O crap , so one cannot download directly and build and chop and change a small library of movies on a SD card on these Android TV OS boxes - was thinking of scenarios where AirBNB' ing a place or where internet is not uncapped and having a box with like a movie box office library on.
Could do Netflix downloads?
 

TheLuckmeister

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 10, 2014
Messages
195
Quick question for the guys/gals who've had these Ematics for a bit now... any hassles or issues?
I've got a MiBox and I'd like to get another box for upstairs, I'd like to get something with an Ethernet port so i can connect via LAN as WiFi isnt great upstairs.

I was about to order the Ematic and i saw a review on Takealot saying "Save your money get a Mi Box".
I'm assuming this is a one off, and the rest of the owners are very happy.

Any feedback would be great. Thanks!
 

Akirky

Expert Member
Joined
Jul 16, 2011
Messages
2,694
Quick question for the guys/gals who've had these Ematics for a bit now... any hassles or issues?
I've got a MiBox and I'd like to get another box for upstairs, I'd like to get something with an Ethernet port so i can connect via LAN as WiFi isnt great upstairs.

I was about to order the Ematic and i saw a review on Takealot saying "Save your money get a Mi Box".
I'm assuming this is a one off, and the rest of the owners are very happy.

Any feedback would be great. Thanks!
I'm happy with mine, it does what I want it to do.
 

SmartKit

SmartKit Rep
Joined
Jun 29, 2008
Messages
8,219
Quick question for the guys/gals who've had these Ematics for a bit now... any hassles or issues?
I've got a MiBox and I'd like to get another box for upstairs, I'd like to get something with an Ethernet port so i can connect via LAN as WiFi isnt great upstairs.

I was about to order the Ematic and i saw a review on Takealot saying "Save your money get a Mi Box".
I'm assuming this is a one off, and the rest of the owners are very happy.

Any feedback would be great. Thanks!
Occasional reboot required.
 

SHL

Expert Member
Joined
Dec 17, 2012
Messages
1,053
Quick question for the guys/gals who've had these Ematics for a bit now... any hassles or issues?
I've got a MiBox and I'd like to get another box for upstairs, I'd like to get something with an Ethernet port so i can connect via LAN as WiFi isnt great upstairs.

I was about to order the Ematic and i saw a review on Takealot saying "Save your money get a Mi Box".
I'm assuming this is a one off, and the rest of the owners are very happy.

Any feedback would be great. Thanks!
Another happy owner here and no issues thus far.
 

Jacoco

Member
Joined
Nov 26, 2018
Messages
14
Quite happy, except for fact for life of me can't cast to it from my PC on Chrome when playing DSTV. Was no issue with the Mi Box, but Ematic just doesn't show up to be able to cast to it.
 

elf_lord_ZC5

Executive Member
Joined
Jan 3, 2010
Messages
8,605
Am considering this box, want one to take to work for the Rugby World Cup, don't like taking my LIT box down, then setting it up, then down and up, till the competition is past.

Does anyone know if it plays nice with HDMI to VGA adapters.
 
Top