Eskom exports at least 1,706MW to neighbouring countries

Jan

Who's the Boss?
Staff member
Joined
May 24, 2010
Messages
6,015
Eskom exports enough power to prevent two stages of load-shedding

Eskom exports at least 1,706 megawatts (MW) to South Africa’s neighbours — enough power to mitigate a minimum of one stage of load-shedding and up to two stages, depending on the shortfall in its generation capacity.

The power utility provided details of its foreign clients in response to a Parliamentary question asked by Bhekizizwe Luthuli from the Inkatha Freedom Party.
 

Synaesthesia

Executive Member
Joined
Feb 1, 2007
Messages
5,631
Yeah we also use a ****ton of power smelting aluminum ore, which is imported! But what are we gonna do, give up that income and those contracts?
 

Lupus

Honorary Master
Joined
Apr 25, 2006
Messages
36,555
Yeah we also use a ****ton of power smelting aluminum ore, which is imported! But what are we gonna do, give up that income and those contracts?
Yup so much so that when the lockdown happened and the smelters went offline we could coast on almost 9GW less then what we use normally.
 

jetlee

Senior Member
Joined
Oct 31, 2006
Messages
792
umm .. what is the tallied economic cost of load shedding .. Eskom are stealing from the SA economy that paid for the power stations and getting paid for it by the rest of Southern Africa ?
 

PaulMurkin

Senior Member
Joined
Jan 31, 2020
Messages
650
The figure quoted is probably a "white lie" its probably more than that.
What people also don't realise is that Namibia has a "watertight" contract with Eskom. They don't get loadshedding, as there's penalty clauses etc..
 

cr@zydude

Executive Member
Joined
Jul 20, 2008
Messages
9,747
Yeah we also use a ****ton of power smelting aluminum ore, which is imported! But what are we gonna do, give up that income and those contracts?

Yip. SA, like New Zealand, imports alumina, smelts it into aluminium, and then exports the aluminium. South32's SA aluminium smelter lives or dies on cheap electricity.
 

Pineapple Smurf

Pineapple Beer Connoisseur
Joined
Aug 2, 2016
Messages
38,563
ESKOM has been supplying the entire continent for decades. Im surprised to see it is only a handful of countries now
 

Sapphiron

Expert Member
Joined
Jan 29, 2004
Messages
2,691
Wouldnt they use LPG for smelting?
I don't think the burning temperature is high enough for doing significant volumes

There is also a huge amount of grinding, pumping and high pressures involved in the Bayer process. and that's just what you need to do to process the ore. you still need to process it into ingots from there.

Edit: aluminium oxide has a melting temperature of 900–1000 °C
 

PhireSide

Honorary Master
Joined
Dec 31, 2006
Messages
11,526
I don't think the burning temperature is high enough for doing significant volumes

There is also a huge amount of grinding, pumping and high pressures involved in the Bayer process. and that's just what you need to do to process the ore. you still need to process it into ingots from there.
I saw some aluminium smelters operating on Youtube. The amount of current that a plant such as that uses is insane. Not to mention deafening when the arcs are ignited.

I must see if I can find the vid that I saw a while back

EDIT: Similar to the one below, but not exactly:


EDIT numero dos: Found it, the anodes get inserted around the 1m37 mark:

 
Last edited:

ToxicBunny

Oi! Leave me out of this...
Joined
Apr 8, 2006
Messages
98,717
I don't think the burning temperature is high enough for doing significant volumes

There is also a huge amount of grinding, pumping and high pressures involved in the Bayer process. and that's just what you need to do to process the ore. you still need to process it into ingots from there.

Edit: aluminium oxide has a melting temperature of 900–1000 °C

From what I understand, the actual process requires electricity and not just heat.
 

B-1

Expert Member
Joined
Apr 17, 2020
Messages
2,699
Probably exporting at a loss at this point as well.
 

ToxicBunny

Oi! Leave me out of this...
Joined
Apr 8, 2006
Messages
98,717
Probably exporting at a loss at this point as well.

Very likely, as those contracts would have been entered into many many years ago, and can't be altered substantially.
 
  • Like
Reactions: B-1

Gordon_R

Honorary Master
Joined
Jul 5, 2009
Messages
18,332
Yeah, but that consumes lots of power as far as I understand.

Yes it does, I was responding to an earlier post. The point is that natural gas cannot be used as a source of energy for an electrolytic process, which by definition requires electricity...
 
Top