Fibre in Jeffreys Bay coming, built by Igen

CataclysmZA

Executive Member
Joined
Apr 1, 2010
Messages
5,418
Switching to Google and 1.1.1.1, these are the results:

Fortnite to EU: 178ms (previously 180ms)
Valorant to EU: 178ms (179ms)
League of Legends to EU: 167ms (168ms)
CSGO to EU server: 167ms (167ms)
Apex Legends to EU: 320ms (360ms)
COD: MW to EU: 169ms (163ms)
Hearthstone to EU: 179ms (177ms)
Hearthstone to local AU: 39ms (38ms)
PUBG to Ireland server: 188ms (174ms)
RB6 Siege to EU: 166ms (169ms)
Overwatch to EU: 166ms (167ms)
DOTA2 to EU: 177ms (180ms)
DOTA2 to local server: 1717ms (1800ms)
BFV to US server: 269ms (247ms)
BLOPS4 to UK server: 168ms (164ms)
WoT to EU: 373ms (370ms)
WoW to US: 302ms ((296ms) but still jumps)
World of Warships to EU: 369ms (370ms)
 

CataclysmZA

Executive Member
Joined
Apr 1, 2010
Messages
5,418
Tracing route to pcper.com [104.200.29.114]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms
2 <1 ms 1 ms <1 ms
3 1 ms 1 ms 1 ms
4 1 ms 1 ms 1 ms
5 129 ms 16 ms 18 ms 10.56.201.113
6 16 ms 16 ms 16 ms 10.102.0.41
7 16 ms 16 ms 16 ms tjhb-pe-01.as328471.net [102.66.248.8]
8 16 ms 16 ms 16 ms herotel-gw-jhb.liquidtelecom.net [77.246.59.10]
9 171 ms 171 ms 171 ms be-20.lza-p4-jhb.liquidtelecom.net [41.60.135.92]
10 171 ms 170 ms 171 ms te-0-1-0-7.lfr-pe1-mrs.liquidtelecom.net [5.11.10.250]
11 171 ms 171 ms 171 ms xe-0-1-0-3-3.r00.mrslfr01.fr.bb.gin.ntt.net [81.25.197.189]
12 184 ms 183 ms 183 ms ae-9.r20.parsfr04.fr.bb.gin.ntt.net [129.250.3.38]
13 251 ms 252 ms 251 ms ae-14.r21.nwrknj03.us.bb.gin.ntt.net [129.250.4.194]
14 248 ms 248 ms 248 ms ae-2.r00.nycmny17.us.bb.gin.ntt.net [129.250.3.51]
15 249 ms 249 ms 249 ms 199.245.16.78
16 253 ms 252 ms 252 ms 173.255.239.53
17 246 ms 247 ms 247 ms pcper.com [104.200.29.114]

Trace complete.

The international routing makes sense to me now. Liquid Telecom is Herotel's breakout for international connectivity, and that means that stuff will be going over SAT3/SAFE, WACS, TEAMS and EASSy. The trace shows packets being routed via France, and eventually ending up in the datacenter in NYC.

This means that Liquid Telecom won't be able to route clients over the SACS undersea cable to reduce latency to USA. This also explains the pings and page lag for services in Asia because it'll go over SAFE.

Still better overall than the wireless connection.
 

Skankhunt

Expert Member
Joined
Jun 1, 2007
Messages
3,011
Well, I now have fibre installed.

The installers arrived this morning from PE at around 9AM. They expected to be spending about three hours doing the installation, but only took around 75 minutes thanks to the prep work my dad and I did ahead of time.

View attachment 1027678

The line was fished through a PVC pipe I had already laid in the roof, so it went straight through and dropped down into my network cupboard. No drilling or hammering required.

View attachment 1027680

Clear skies and no wind or rain.

View attachment 1027682

Instead of using those Broadcom EPONs with trenched fiber like they did previously, this one is made by ALFOCOM. The AFEN-01GS is a low-cost GigE EPON and consumes six watts of power.

Everything got configured just fine, and there were no problems with the splicing on either end. The account connects via PPPoE and they change the password to lock you out of the router that is supplied. Doesn't bother me much considering that the one they gave me is fairly decent.

View attachment 1027684

Not too fancy, but it does the job. Coverage is as good, if not slightly better, than my old (and now failing) TP-Link Archer C7.

And now for the money shot:

View attachment 1027686

Downloads from GoG.com are currently running at 12MB/s. Jitter is below 1ms and bufferbloat seems to be handled well with the default QoS on the Totolink. Twitch streams in source. Netflix will probably do 4K.

Very cool. Stoked to see Fibre coming along in Jbay.

Is the routers so locked, that you cannot even change the Wifi AP for example?
 

CataclysmZA

Executive Member
Joined
Apr 1, 2010
Messages
5,418
Yep, router password gets changed. I've asked for it because I want to diagnose a potential bug in the firmware.
 

avk

Senior Member
Joined
Mar 1, 2007
Messages
690
@CataclysmZA

You have any idea on whether/when this pricing is coming to JBay? Otherwise I'll try to contact them when I get the chance.

The website makes no mention of the new prices, etc. Will be awesome to have a faster connection for the same price, or at the very least no FUP. As I've said in a previous post, their fibre rollouts in other towns do not have any FUP.
 

CataclysmZA

Executive Member
Joined
Apr 1, 2010
Messages
5,418
@CataclysmZA Over a month in, how's service been so far?
I've been busy with work and other things in the past month, and I'm also testing out some hardware for Herotel.

But here's a brief summary:

It's really, really good. Zero downtime. No hiccups.

At 100Mbps, it was very stable and I had no issues whatsoever. Ping times on games are very low (160ms-ish to most EU servers), there's magically no DNS issues even though I'm on the same network as the wireless link I had before, and downloading 1GB in around 90 seconds is awesome. 15 years ago it took me 37 minutes on an EDGE connection to download a 15MB driver. Today I'm actually limited by how fast I can click the download progress button to see how much the speed ramps up (barely).

They've allowed me to test a 200Mbps account for them. I find it nearly impossible to saturate.

From the network standpoint, they've exceeded my expectations. The hardware they offer to consumers is going to be a tricky thing for them to address now that 1Gbps connections are on the table, which is why I'm testing for them.

I think in the near future they're going to have to ditch WiFi 5 routers and move straight to WiFi 6, possibly with meshing options, because of how easily the fibre link can be upgraded and how much more difficult it is to serve a house with 200Mbps internet. They overbuilt their network to eventually support 10Gbps connections, which is an unthinkable speed as I'm sitting here seeing 20MBps from Steam.

Even at 10Mbps, latency becomes the limiting factor - but not on the fibre side, on the consumer side. Consumer WiFi routers and adapters contribute more latency into the chain, and you wouldn't notice it on a slower copper connection. That could come from the network queuing algorithm, disk speed, your network card and whether it's 2x2 MIMO or 1x1, etc. It becomes a tricky problem to solve once the connection is suitably fast and low-latency for this to become a problem.
 
Last edited:

The_Ogre

Honorary Master
Joined
Apr 30, 2010
Messages
25,561
@CataclysmZA I haven't followed this thread in detail, but need to ask you whether Wavecrest or Noorsekloof area have fibre coverage. I'm thinking of buying a house around those two areas.
 

CataclysmZA

Executive Member
Joined
Apr 1, 2010
Messages
5,418
@CataclysmZA I haven't followed this thread in detail, but need to ask you whether Wavecrest or Noorsekloof area have fibre coverage. I'm thinking of buying a house around those two areas.
Noorsekloof is getting aerial fibre this year from Herotel. Trenched fibre from MFN is probably hitting there in December if Kouga and MFN keep up their insane pace (will detail that in the other thread when I have time).

Same mostly applies to Wavecrest, although Herotel has not announced how they're going to cover the rest of the area. Roughly a third of Wavecrest is trenched Herotel fibre, but with the municipality butting in they will have to decide if they want to negotiate and trench alongside MFN, trench separately, or roll out aerial fibre to the rest of Wavecrest.

But by end 2022 Jbay should be covered in fibre from two competing providers.
 

The_Ogre

Honorary Master
Joined
Apr 30, 2010
Messages
25,561
Noorsekloof is getting aerial fibre this year from Herotel. Trenched fibre from MFN is probably hitting there in December if Kouga and MFN keep up their insane pace (will detail that in the other thread when I have time).

Same mostly applies to Wavecrest, although Herotel has not announced how they're going to cover the rest of the area. Roughly a third of Wavecrest is trenched Herotel fibre, but with the municipality butting in they will have to decide if they want to negotiate and trench alongside MFN, trench separately, or roll out aerial fibre to the rest of Wavecrest.

But by end 2022 Jbay should be covered in fibre from two competing providers.
Thanks bud. I work from home so need some sort of reliable cover. How's the xDSL looking that side?
 

CataclysmZA

Executive Member
Joined
Apr 1, 2010
Messages
5,418
Thanks bud. I work from home so need some sort of reliable cover. How's the xDSL looking that side?
It does alright, Openserve's VDSL coverage has improved in the 4-ish years since it's been available in this region. Max 20Mbps closer to Noorsekloof. Further out it'll drop, though I'm not sure to what degree.

1620128747489.png

Not sure if Openserve is going to do anything about the fibre rollouts though. They're not on MFN and it's easier for them to provide trenched fibre because they can just pull that through after the copper.
 

The_Ogre

Honorary Master
Joined
Apr 30, 2010
Messages
25,561
@CataclysmZA since I now have a vested interest, and I work for one of the FNO's you mentioned, further to that I know Horatio personally...let us see what I can do within the next few weeks. Horatio preceded my mother as principal before he went into politics.

I'm from Humansdorp, moved to CT in the 2000's but I'm getting divorced so want to move back, but to Jeffrey's though.

You're welcome to drop me your number via PM should you so choose. :thumbsup:
 

The_Ogre

Honorary Master
Joined
Apr 30, 2010
Messages
25,561
@CataclysmZA and whoever is interested. I got a response from Horatio:

Hi XXX. Uitrol gaan goed aan. Bietjie geboorte pyne met die skade wat hulle aanvang, maar ons sort dit uit. Metro Fibre sal oral fibre in sit in Kouga
 
  • Like
Reactions: avk

Cactus

Senior Member
Joined
Jan 16, 2015
Messages
670
It looks like 50/50 is the lowest package now? My parents also got connected yesterday on 50/50 directly after applying for 10/10
 
  • Love
Reactions: Yuu

avk

Senior Member
Joined
Mar 1, 2007
Messages
690
It looks like 50/50 is the lowest package now? My parents also got connected yesterday on 50/50 directly after applying for 10/10
Interesting. Seems so.

When I looked at the website last week the 10/10 @ R399 was still there, now it's gone.
 
Top