Fibre network operators say they are ready for stage 6 power cuts

Jan

Who's the Boss?
Staff member
Joined
May 24, 2010
Messages
8,159
Good news for fibre connections during Eskom’s Stage 6 power cuts

South Africa’s fibre network operators have told MyBroadband that they have sufficient backup power to keep their networks online during stage 6 load-shedding.

Eskom announced stage 6 power cuts on Tuesday afternoon after warning earlier in the day that trips at ten generating units combined with illegal strikes at several power stations could cause escalated load-shedding.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Yuu

bwana

MyBroadband
Super Moderator
Joined
Feb 23, 2005
Messages
86,448
With the mobile networks providers would make the same claim.

And DSL for that matter.
 

SubtleBeast

Expert Member
Joined
May 16, 2019
Messages
1,331
With the mobile networks providers would make the same claim.

And DSL for that matter.
Telkom's got some pretty good backup systems at their exchanges. The only worry there would be running out of diesel.
For mobile operators it's a bit tricky as their cabinets at base stations are pretty small, so no room for big backup systems.
 

bwana

MyBroadband
Super Moderator
Joined
Feb 23, 2005
Messages
86,448
Telkom's got some pretty good backup systems at their exchanges. The only worry there would be running out of diesel.
For mobile operators it's a bit tricky as their cabinets at base stations are pretty small, so no room for big backup systems.
I don't think our local exchange is running on a generator during outages - unless the guy is filling it between "sheds" with ever decreasing amounts of fuel.
 

SubtleBeast

Expert Member
Joined
May 16, 2019
Messages
1,331
I don't think our local exchange is running on a generator during outages - unless the guy is filling it between "sheds" with ever decreasing amounts of fuel.
If it's a big exchange then it'll have one. It's supposed to start automatically. If it doesn't then it's either been vandalized or poorly maintained.
 

bwana

MyBroadband
Super Moderator
Joined
Feb 23, 2005
Messages
86,448
If it's a big exchange then it'll have one. It's supposed to start automatically. If it doesn't then it's either been vandalized or poorly maintained.
Guess it's not, because it doesn't. ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

Like the cellphone towers it starts off strong but fades towards the end. Didn't used to.
 

SubtleBeast

Expert Member
Joined
May 16, 2019
Messages
1,331
Guess it's not, because it doesn't. ¯\_(ツ)_/¯
Chances are it had one, but was perhaps "repossessed" some time ago.
Like the cellphone towers it starts off strong but fades towards the end. Didn't used to.
I would guess they probably running on batteries when mains fail.
Loadshedding's pretty harsh on those lead acids.
 

SeaSickMama

Expert Member
Joined
Dec 26, 2013
Messages
2,119
What is the power consumption of one of these fibre nodes?
At most probably 100-300 watts in the cabinets

Most of the stuff is anyway 48V so no conversion is made, that's what Vodacom uses just off my feedback from their equipment

Sites with Antennas they have around 6-8 Lithium 5Kw batteries
 

SubtleBeast

Expert Member
Joined
May 16, 2019
Messages
1,331
Sites with Antennas they have around 6-8 Lithium 5Kw batteries
That's quite impressive. So the sites that do go down with loadshedding, has either had their batteries stolen or significantly weakened by all those power cuts.
 

hj007

Expert Member
Joined
Aug 30, 2006
Messages
1,584
At least Internet has been working throughout loadshedding. Hate driving even more now lol
 

Dan C

Honorary Master
Joined
Nov 21, 2005
Messages
33,472
I don't think our local exchange is running on a generator during outages - unless the guy is filling it between "sheds" with ever decreasing amounts of fuel.
When I still had ADSL it lasted max 20minutes. But I was too far from the actual exchange and connected to a mini DSLAM down the road.
 
Top