Flight Simulator 2020

ponder

Honorary Master
Joined
Jan 22, 2005
Messages
89,637
* Ryzen 2400G APU (previously used the iGPU to run FSX but it won't cut it for new flight Sim. It's kind of a low end quad core but I can't see any evidence that upgrading to a second hand 2600 will show much improvement. Maybe in the patch coming this week it'll be more optimised for multi core)
* 8GB ram. This is a tough one. It runs but it chows everything. Second hand prices for 16GB are still a bit high but I definitely want to upgrade this

New update also has a huge impact on ram usage.

Before:
Capture.PNG

Upcoming:
Capture1.PNG

Looks like the GPU vram usage also drops.
 
Last edited:

Brawler

Honorary Master
Joined
May 23, 2006
Messages
10,733
Is the update out?
I'll have to update the PC and also want to try it out on Xbox. Bye-bye 200GB.
 

Shake&Bake

Party Liaison
Joined
Jan 19, 2007
Messages
22,093
Ladies and gentlemen!
38afa2025b9e0c90ebcd012d17ea2d75.gif
 

Ivan Leon

Expert Member
Joined
May 27, 2008
Messages
4,981

Microsoft Flight Simulator: Now Available on Xbox Series X|S and Xbox Game Pass​



The stunning visuals, handcrafted scenery and visual fidelity you love are now available on your Xbox console with intelligent enhancements to your flying experience. Fly today on Xbox Series X|S and Xbox Game Pass:

 
Last edited:

Shake&Bake

Party Liaison
Joined
Jan 19, 2007
Messages
22,093
Lol, a final 27.6GB patch
Well more time to sit with SquirrelTV and other tutorials.
bcfca355921948e1b2c32017b3725e40.jpg
 

Shake&Bake

Party Liaison
Joined
Jan 19, 2007
Messages
22,093
Think I'll turn off the WiFi to get max speeds for the download and piss the kids off

Nah, it's around 30-34Mbps and I've only got a 40Mbps fibre line.

More patience then...
 

Toxic T

Expert Member
Joined
Mar 13, 2013
Messages
1,150
I don't understand why they could not just download the update when I downloaded the initial game. This is crap
 

Shake&Bake

Party Liaison
Joined
Jan 19, 2007
Messages
22,093
I don't understand why they could not just download the update when I downloaded the initial game. This is crap
I suppose its about server load or creating the expectation and anticipation.

But they could've made it smaller at least, as a final patch.

Anyway its gamepass and free initially, so I won't bitch too much.

OK not exactly free, because I bought the console for this game specifically.
 

Toxic T

Expert Member
Joined
Mar 13, 2013
Messages
1,150
Anyone with a fast line that completed their update? I still got 3 hours and some change on a 25/25 line
 

Shake&Bake

Party Liaison
Joined
Jan 19, 2007
Messages
22,093
Anyone with a fast line that completed their update? I still got 3 hours and some change on a 25/25 line
I'm on about 5.4GB into the download now, with VUMA Reach and Afrihost on a 40/10 line and still have 2h17 to go And the laaitie just logged in on the Xbox One inside for Fortnite.

So I'll be slowing down
 
Top