Forcing Google Services to local (RSA) IP address

Pada

Executive Member
Joined
Feb 18, 2009
Messages
8,187

wpswart006

Senior Member
Joined
Oct 20, 2008
Messages
630
Just a note.

I'm with Telkom and the provided Facebook IP for the SAIX network does not work, pinging that address results in a timeout.
The IS IP works though.
So Pada, any ideas why?
 

Pada

Executive Member
Joined
Feb 18, 2009
Messages
8,187
Thanks for reporting that issue.

I'm really not sure.

Doesn't the SAIX DNS servers give you any local IP addresses for one of those hostnames?

I can't test it, since I don't have Telkom ADSL and none of my friends have it either, because it's simply not worth it to be tied to contracts and crappy blended accounts.
 
Last edited:

wpswart006

Senior Member
Joined
Oct 20, 2008
Messages
630
The Default SAIX DNS directs me to an international site.
I don't think it's DNS related though, because as far as I know, pinging a specific IP Address bypasses the DNS?

But I understand your predicament.
 

WatchMan

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 5, 2009
Messages
369
sigh

Amazing effort from Pada, Catal and everyone else.

But help me before I off myself!!!:crying:

After much messing about getting the most basic of directions wrong, I managed to get things in a semi-working order.

Google search and youtube work (but they always have), FB and gmail don't login.

Both login pages appear but just never go beyond that. They don't even time out...

Here's my host file:

# Copyright (c) 1993-2009 Microsoft Corp.
#
# This is a sample HOSTS file used by Microsoft TCP/IP for Windows.
#
# This file contains the mappings of IP addresses to host names. Each
# entry should be kept on an individual line. The IP address should
# be placed in the first column followed by the corresponding host name.
# The IP address and the host name should be separated by at least one
# space.
#
# Additionally, comments (such as these) may be inserted on individual
# lines or following the machine name denoted by a '#' symbol.
#
# For example:
#
# 102.54.94.97 rhino.acme.com # source server
# 38.25.63.10 x.acme.com # x client host

# localhost name resolution is handled within DNS itself.
# 127.0.0.1 localhost
# ::1 localhost
127.0.0.1 serial.alcohol-soft.com
127.0.0.1 www.alcohol-soft.com
127.0.0.1 images.alcohol-soft.com
127.0.0.1 trial.alcohol-soft.com
127.0.0.1 alcohol-soft.com
#
# Thanks goes to Catal, HavocXphere, Blogbytes & fragtion_ for contributing hostnames
#

# On SAIX:
# <Google IP> = 165.165.38.147
# <YouTube IP> = 165.165.38.144
# <Facebook IP> = 165.165.47.9 / 165.165.39.202 / 165.165.39.203

# On IS:
# <Google IP> = 196.23.168.147
# <YouTube IP> = 196.23.168.144 / 196.23.168.145 / 196.23.168.155 / 196.23.168.154
# <Facebook IP> = 196.33.166.201 / 196.33.166.210 / 196.36.108.168 / 196.36.108.171

# Google Searching
165.165.38.147 www.google.co.za
165.165.38.147 www.google.com
165.165.38.147 google.com
165.165.38.147 google.co.za

# Gmail and chat withing Gmail
165.165.38.147 mail.google.com
165.165.38.147 chatenabled.mail.google.com

# Google Code & Pada's Traffic Splitter Google Code address
165.165.38.147 www.gmodules.com
165.165.38.147 traffic-splitter.googlecode.com
165.165.38.144 www.googlecode.com
165.165.38.144 code.google.com

# Blogspot
165.165.38.147 www.blogspot.com
165.165.38.147 bp0.blogger.com
165.165.38.147 bp1.blogger.com
165.165.38.147 bp2.blogger.com
165.165.38.147 bp3.blogger.com
165.165.38.147 0.bp.blogspot.com
165.165.38.147 1.bp.blogspot.com
165.165.38.147 2.bp.blogspot.com
165.165.38.147 3.bp.blogspot.com
165.165.38.147 4.bp.blogspot.com
165.165.38.147 image.blogspot.com
165.165.38.147 buttons.blogger.com
165.165.38.147 upload.blogspot.com
165.165.38.147 googleappengine.blogspot.com
165.165.38.147 www.blogger.com
165.165.38.147 www.blogblog.com
165.165.38.147 img1.blogblog.com
165.165.38.147 img2.blogblog.com
165.165.38.147 www1.blogblog.com
165.165.38.147 www2.blogblog.com

# Google Eath & Google Maps
165.165.38.147 maps.google.co.za
165.165.38.147 maps.google.com
165.165.38.147 csi.gstatic.com
165.165.38.147 maps.gstatic.com
165.165.38.147 gg.google.com
165.165.38.144 kh.google.com
165.165.38.144 mw1.google.com
165.165.38.144 mw2.google.com
165.165.38.144 earth.google.com
165.165.38.144 mt0.google.com
165.165.38.144 mt1.google.com
165.165.38.144 mt2.google.com
165.165.38.144 mt3.google.com
165.165.38.144 khm.google.com
165.165.38.144 cbk0.google.com
165.165.38.144 cbk1.google.com
165.165.38.144 cbk2.google.com
165.165.38.144 cbk3.google.com

# Other Google Services
165.165.38.147 news.google.com
165.165.38.147 blitz.appspot.com
165.165.38.147 www.google-analytics.com
165.165.38.147 ssl.google-analytics.com
165.165.38.147 t0.gstatic.com
165.165.38.147 t1.gstatic.com
165.165.38.147 t2.gstatic.com
165.165.38.147 t3.gstatic.com
165.165.38.147 www.gstatic.com
165.165.38.144 books.google.co.za
165.165.38.144 books.google.com
165.165.38.144 calendar.google.com
165.165.38.144 video.google.com
165.165.38.144 translate.google.com
165.165.38.144 docs.google.com
165.165.38.144 appengine.google.com
165.165.38.144 clients1.google.com
165.165.38.144 clients2.google.com
165.165.38.144 clients3.google.com
165.165.38.144 clients4.google.com
165.165.38.144 clients5.google.com
165.165.38.144 id.google.com
165.165.38.144 dl.google.com

# YouTube
165.165.38.147 ad-emea.doubleclick.net
165.165.38.147 s.ytimg.com
165.165.38.147 webcache.googleusercontent.com
165.165.38.144 youtube.co.za
165.165.38.144 youtube.com
165.165.38.144 www.youtube.co.za
165.165.38.144 www.youtube.com
165.165.38.144 www.youtube-nocookie.com
165.165.38.144 i1.ytimg.com
165.165.38.144 i2.ytimg.com
165.165.38.144 i3.ytimg.com
165.165.38.144 i4.ytimg.com
165.165.38.144 upload.youtube.com

# Facebook
165.165.47.9 www.facebook.com
165.165.47.9 static.ak.fbcdn.net
165.165.47.9 profile.ak.fbcdn.net
165.165.47.9 upload.facebook.com

When I ping FB I get:

Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7600]
Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

C:\Users\Jared>ping www.facebook.com

Pinging www.facebook.com [165.165.47.9] with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 165.165.47.9: bytes=32 time=35ms TTL=60
Reply from 165.165.47.9: bytes=32 time=31ms TTL=60
Reply from 165.165.47.9: bytes=32 time=34ms TTL=60
Reply from 165.165.47.9: bytes=32 time=33ms TTL=60

Ping statistics for 165.165.47.9:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 31ms, Maximum = 35ms, Average = 33ms

When I ping GMAIL I get:

Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7600]
Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

C:\Users\Jared>ping mail.google.com

Pinging mail.google.com [165.165.38.147] with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 165.165.38.147: bytes=32 time=30ms TTL=60
Reply from 165.165.38.147: bytes=32 time=30ms TTL=60
Reply from 165.165.38.147: bytes=32 time=30ms TTL=60
Reply from 165.165.38.147: bytes=32 time=33ms TTL=60

Ping statistics for 165.165.38.147:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 30ms, Maximum = 33ms, Average = 30ms

I crying...:erm: Please help.
 

Pada

Executive Member
Joined
Feb 18, 2009
Messages
8,187
The Default SAIX DNS directs me to an international site.
I don't think it's DNS related though, because as far as I know, pinging a specific IP Address bypasses the DNS?

But I understand your predicament.

Here's how 'ping <host>' works:
It first checks if the DNS entry is in your hosts file and if it is, then it uses that.
If the DNS entry wasn't in the hosts file, then it looks for it in the cached DNS entries on your own PC. You can clear that cache using 'ipconfig /flushdns'.
If the DNS entry wasn't found in the cached DNS entries, then it queries the first DNS server and if that failed it queries the 2nd DNS server.

So if you want to simply query the DNS servers, then use 'nslookup <host>' (works both in Windows & Linux) or 'dig <host>' (only in Linux, unless you download it for Windows).
 

ashfaak

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 5, 2010
Messages
330
Annoying SSL blah blah

After being annoyed by Chrome's Red Screen Of Death for a while, I found that using these addresses for gmail will solve the SSL problem.
Added more facebook addresses, removed google/youtube ones that were already local. I'm using Axxess.
Code:
# Gmail and chat within Gmail
196.23.168.152 mail.google.com
196.23.168.150 chatenabled.mail.google.com

# Blogspot
196.23.168.147 www.blogspot.com
196.23.168.147 image.blogspot.com
196.23.168.147 buttons.blogger.com
196.23.168.147 upload.blogspot.com
196.23.168.147 googleappengine.blogspot.com
196.23.168.147 www.blogger.com
196.23.168.147 www.blogblog.com
196.23.168.147 img1.blogblog.com
196.23.168.147 img2.blogblog.com
196.23.168.147 www1.blogblog.com
196.23.168.147 www2.blogblog.com

# Google Earth & Google Maps
196.23.168.147 www.gmodules.com
196.23.168.146 csi.gstatic.com
196.23.168.132 gg.google.com

# Other Google Services
196.23.168.147 blitz.appspot.com

# YouTube
196.23.168.147 webcache.googleusercontent.com
196.23.168.145 youtube.co.za
196.23.168.144 youtube.com
196.23.168.154 upload.youtube.com

# Facebook
196.36.108.168 www.facebook.com
196.36.108.171 profile.ak.fbcdn.net
196.36.108.171 upload.facebook.com
196.33.166.210 sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net
196.36.108.171 external.ak.fbcdn.net
196.36.108.171 static.ak.fbcdn.net
196.33.166.210 photos-a.ak.fbcdn.net
196.33.166.210 photos-b.ak.fbcdn.net
196.33.166.210 photos-c.ak.fbcdn.net
196.33.166.210 photos-d.ak.fbcdn.net
196.33.166.210 photos-e.ak.fbcdn.net
196.33.166.210 photos-f.ak.fbcdn.net
196.33.166.210 photos-g.ak.fbcdn.net
196.33.166.210 photos-h.ak.fbcdn.net
196.36.108.171 creative.ak.fbcdn.net
196.36.108.171 m.facebook.com
196.33.166.210 a1.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net
196.33.166.210 a2.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net
196.33.166.210 a3.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net
196.33.166.210 a4.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net
196.33.166.210 a5.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net
196.33.166.210 a6.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net
196.33.166.210 a7.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net
 

phoneJunky

Executive Member
Joined
Apr 3, 2009
Messages
6,255
Thanks so much for this information. Works like a charm. Can't chat on facebook but that is no biggie, can do that from my phone.

This really needs to get stickied.
 

giggity

Senior Member
Joined
Feb 19, 2011
Messages
913
How can I get onto microsoft.com with this?
Gmail, Youtube and Facebook work like a charm :)
 

Pada

Executive Member
Joined
Feb 18, 2009
Messages
8,187
You can't get onto the Microsoft site with this, BUT you can download stuff off Microsoft using the local only connection.
 

Zambo001

Member
Joined
Feb 21, 2011
Messages
19
Awesome guys!!!

Question... is there anyway we can get PSN (playstation Network) to work as well... I do a lot of online gaming with locals only. ???
 

Pada

Executive Member
Joined
Feb 18, 2009
Messages
8,187
Awesome guys!!!

Question... is there anyway we can get PSN (playstation Network) to work as well... I do a lot of online gaming with locals only. ???
Not as far as I know.

Unfortunately you're stuck in the same boat as most of us who are using Steam, although we (as Steam users) do have a few local Steam content servers, but we can't force Steam to always download & authenticate via it.

I highly doubt that you'll ever be able to use PSN via local only. Perhaps there are some servers that are hosted locally, but I can't say anything more since I don't own a PS3 and I most likely never will.
 

Pada

Executive Member
Joined
Feb 18, 2009
Messages
8,187
giggity: by default the Microsoft downloads are coming from download.microsoft.com, which is mirrored locally by Akamai.
See here:
Code:
C:\Users\User>nslookup download.microsoft.com
Server:  buffalo
Address:  192.168.11.1

Non-authoritative answer:
Name:    a767.ms.akamai.net
Addresses:  165.165.47.8
          165.165.47.9
Aliases:  download.microsoft.com
          download.microsoft.com.nsatc.net
          main.dl.ms.akadns.net
          intl.dl.ms.akadns.net
          dl.ms.georedirector.akadns.net

All you need to do is to do the actual traffic splitting between a local & international ISP account. For that, go to http://developers.locality.co.za/splitting
 

gksa

Active Member
Joined
Feb 28, 2011
Messages
60
So why on earth would the ISPs route us internationally when local mirrors exist? Do they enjoy spending unnecessary money?
 

gksa

Active Member
Joined
Feb 28, 2011
Messages
60
Beautiful ashfaak! Code works great, FB and Gmail finally work. Thank you.

I agree - breaking it down into the different sub-domains for Facebook works really well. My chat also doesn't show when I've typed something, but it does go through. There seems to be a few IPs missing from the list still:
Code:
Pinging 16.200.channel.facebook.com [66.220.151.88] with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 66.220.151.88: bytes=32 time=405ms TTL=241
Reply from 66.220.151.88: bytes=32 time=404ms TTL=241
Reply from 66.220.151.88: bytes=32 time=404ms TTL=241
Reply from 66.220.151.88: bytes=32 time=405ms TTL=241

Ping statistics for 66.220.151.88:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 404ms, Maximum = 405ms, Average = 404ms
(the 16.200. part varies with different numbers...)

Code:
Pinging graph.facebook.com [66.220.146.47] with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 66.220.146.47: bytes=32 time=381ms TTL=238
Reply from 66.220.146.47: bytes=32 time=382ms TTL=238
Reply from 66.220.146.47: bytes=32 time=381ms TTL=238
Reply from 66.220.146.47: bytes=32 time=381ms TTL=238

Ping statistics for 66.220.146.47:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 381ms, Maximum = 382ms, Average = 381ms

Then there's also a profile.ak.fbcbn.net
If there's any way to have the local IP's for these as well, that would be awesome. I don't know how to do it, though - I don't suppose there's any kind of pattern?


EDIT: I found the following that weren't in ashfaak's list in WatchMan's earlier post, so I added them to my combined list:
Code:
165.165.47.9 profile.ak.fbcdn.net
165.165.47.9 upload.facebook.com
Ping is much faster now... should I worry that some are 196.xxx and these are 165.xxx or not? (Found out 165 = Telkom and 196 = IS. Will it matter?)

Also, for interest's sake:
Would
Code:
196.33.166.210 a1.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net
196.33.166.210 a2.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net
196.33.166.210 a3.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net
196.33.166.210 a4.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net
196.33.166.210 a5.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net
196.33.166.210 a6.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net
196.33.166.210 a7.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net
be the same as
Code:
196.33.166.210 sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net
?
 
Last edited:

gksa

Active Member
Joined
Feb 28, 2011
Messages
60
Another important one:

Code:
Pinging apps.facebook.com [66.220.153.27] with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 66.220.153.27: bytes=32 time=335ms TTL=241
Reply from 66.220.153.27: bytes=32 time=334ms TTL=241
Reply from 66.220.153.27: bytes=32 time=335ms TTL=241
Reply from 66.220.153.27: bytes=32 time=335ms TTL=241

Ping statistics for 66.220.153.27:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 334ms, Maximum = 335ms, Average = 334ms
 

ControlAltDelete

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 21, 2010
Messages
261
oooooh great man, this is the best thing on this forsaken forums, +1 for you, but whats up with the facebook one? it aint working
 

gksa

Active Member
Joined
Feb 28, 2011
Messages
60
but whats up with the facebook one? it aint working

Well, it works for me - the annoying part is the lag on the urls I don't have the local equivalent for. But, as stated in the opening post, there are different IP's for Telkom and Internet Solutions. I'm on Internet Solutions and even the Telkom ones seem to work for me, but that might not be the case for every ISP. It might be that the IP's given by ashfaak is only accessible from IS, while Telkom's are publicly accessible.
 
Top