Free high-speed broadband for all Western Cape schools

Chris.Geerdts

Expert Member
The Western Cape vision is commendable and shows insight.

What would be useful is for journalists to give regular updates on actual progress (minus the spin) against promises and commitments

Mimen

Systemic based analysis before deployments

As a learning professional I have to add that using technology to distribute learning, like access to elearning and tablets, does not magically improve learning. I'm not saying this solution wont but I hope the solution is well planned and they looked at the impact, and consequences, at a systemic level i.e. teaching learners/ teachers how to use the hardware and the software, having a maintenance program in place, a lightning fast escalation path and help centre for the learners and teachers, instructional designers that can develop outcomes based training, outcomes linked to curriculum expectations and learner ability etc.

AfricanTech

Honorary Master
As a learning professional I have to add that using technology to distribute learning, like access to elearning and tablets, does not magically improve learning. I'm not saying this solution wont but I hope the solution is well planned and they looked at the impact, and consequences, at a systemic level i.e. teaching learners/ teachers how to use the hardware and the software, having a maintenance program in place, a lightning fast escalation path and help centre for the learners and teachers, instructional designers that can develop outcomes based training, outcomes linked to curriculum expectations and learner ability etc.
+1

Everyone seems to think that it's a silver bullet - it's not - and if the above items are not taken care of, it soon falls into disuse, misuse and disrepair.

atomcrusher

Expert Member
The Western Cape Government is investing R3.8 billion over the next 10 years to bring high-speed broadband to all residents of the Western Cape – with schools the priority