Frogfoot to double fibre line speed for a limited time

Wasabee!

Executive Member
Joined
Apr 5, 2012
Messages
5,056
Even Vuma had issues providing the free upgrades in time. Also I think with the two cable breaks and Corona most networks will be under strain.

Besides there are the usual limitations like WiFi speed, PC HDD/CPU speed, upstream interconnect capacity etc.

When you run a speedtest, you're actually testing multiple things at once, though many people think it's just the layer 2 circuit that is being tested based on the sounds of it.

If you get slow speeds, report it to your ISP for investigation.
 

Conack

Expert Member
Joined
Oct 3, 2005
Messages
1,715
Nah it's good news. Would've had crazy packetloss again if they boosted it.
Capacity is finally on par with demand, so I'm glad they're not effing with it.
 

Napalm

Expert Member
Joined
Jun 22, 2006
Messages
2,616
I have 100/100 - based on having a full house (probably 15-20 concurrent devices - phones, laptops, desktops, media players, smart tv) for the past 10 days I can honestly say that I don't think I need more than that.

Will see if I feel the same after experiencing 200 for a couple of months
You will see downloads going much quicker. streams starting at higher Resolution. or more streams at higher resolution.

Once you get used to those speeds. It's not easy all of a sudden only seeing half that.

Going backwards is the hardest-part..
 

Morph69

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 28, 2009
Messages
251
its strange how two sites give such vaste different tests - makes you wonder...

testing on mybroadbank speedtest -
Ping: 1ms
Download: 147.64Mbps
Upload: 546.54Mbps

testing on the speedtest app using clear access -
07.04.2020_778 down_401up.png
Finally got it.. yay me
 

Napalm

Expert Member
Joined
Jun 22, 2006
Messages
2,616
its strange how two sites give such vaste different tests - makes you wonder...

testing on mybroadbank speedtest -
Ping: 1ms
Download: 147.64Mbps
Upload: 546.54Mbps

testing on the speedtest app using clear access -
View attachment 814097
Finally got it.. yay me
Rather use one of the big one's. With Multithread capability's. Like Vodacom or RAIN or MTN , MWEB or RSAweb or Interworks
 
Last edited:

Morph69

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 28, 2009
Messages
251
All of the above ones give me max 300 thats another reason im using clear access as its the only one that goes above 500
 

Morph69

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 28, 2009
Messages
251
try doing a speedtest on clear access using the app for windows as it gives better results
 

AfricanTech

Honorary Master
Joined
Mar 19, 2010
Messages
34,874
Anyone know where I can get these in Cape Town during lockdown?

Need to repair an ethernet cable


 
Top