Good news for slow Internet in South Africa

Strobemeister

Expert Member
Joined
Nov 27, 2003
Messages
1,180
I was able to do some decent gaming last night for the first time since the break, tried at various times since Friday, but last night was getting around 220ms most/a lot of the time for WOW European server. It did d/c a few times, but was fairly steady with latency. So Afrihost must have improved on their alternative routing, or I just got lucky for awhile.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Jan

karnuffel

Expert Member
Joined
Jul 5, 2010
Messages
4,348
Im on Vox and I saw really high pings in WoW on Saturday (over 1000 at some stages). Sunday was better with a ping of under 400, which is till more thank double the norm, but still usable. So they either mitigated the issue or the high latency was due to another issue. Anyway Im not feeling the effects of the cable break at the moment.

Thanks Vox!
 
  • Like
Reactions: Jan

SilverCode

Senior Member
Joined
Feb 26, 2004
Messages
854
Im on Vox and I saw really high pings in WoW on Saturday (over 1000 at some stages). Sunday was better with a ping of under 400, which is till more thank double the norm, but still usable. So they either mitigated the issue or the high latency was due to another issue. Anyway Im not feeling the effects of the cable break at the moment.

Thanks Vox!
Oh how times have changed for the better. Back in 2004/5 when I started playing WoW on our 512Kbps ADSL line, a ping of 1000ms was normal. Rubber banding everywhere!
 

Johnatan56

Honorary Master
Joined
Aug 23, 2013
Messages
29,582
Oh how times have changed for the better. Back in 2004/5 when I started playing WoW on our 512Kbps ADSL line, a ping of 1000ms was normal. Rubber banding everywhere!
My ADSL in 2004/2005 didn't even have issues like that, I was playing BF2 on London servers, around 200ms ping.
 

r00igev@@r

Executive Member
Joined
Dec 14, 2009
Messages
7,418
Still don't understand why the other cables north out of portugal aren't being used. As an example the SAT3 cable actual has a seperate nothern path out of Portugal. Simple to use that????? Just x-connect.
 

jphegers

Senior Member
Joined
Jan 22, 2008
Messages
860
I cannot fathom why it takes 5 days to load the ship before setting sail, can the ship be preloaded with spares so the can depart immediately?
Most maintenance people like electricians and plumbers etc etc. Carry the most common spares in their vehicles all the time.
 

NeoAcheron

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 30, 2011
Messages
148
I cannot fathom why it takes 5 days to load the ship before setting sail, can the ship be preloaded with spares so the can depart immediately?
Most maintenance people like electricians and plumbers etc etc. Carry the most common spares in their vehicles all the time.

Unfortunately it's not that simple. They have to get the right parts for the cable that's broken, as not all of these cables use interchangeable components. It might be that some parts are on back order or even made to order due to cost. The common components they will have, but it's the specialised stuff that is a problem.
 

sjm

Senior Member
Joined
Apr 17, 2009
Messages
985
WACS & SAT-3 broke earlier this year and were fully restored on 19 Feb. SAT-3 then broke again on 9 March whilst WACS broke again last week, therefore they're both broken again.
 

Mike Hoxbig

Honorary Master
Joined
Apr 25, 2010
Messages
37,755
Any idea when we're going to get more capacity on ACE?

This dependence on Telkom needs to stop...
 

Sledgehammer67

Active Member
Joined
Feb 15, 2019
Messages
44
I cannot fathom why it takes 5 days to load the ship before setting sail, can the ship be preloaded with spares so the can depart immediately?
Most maintenance people like electricians and plumbers etc etc. Carry the most common spares in their vehicles all the time.
Good question.....
 

MRTOM

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 13, 2013
Messages
136
Why are the cables breaking so much lately are they rotting from age or wtf.I play on eu and subscribed to a gaming vpn it keeps my ping at around 200ms.Im a Vox Fibre 20/10 customer and before the cable break in January i had 160ms to eu game server after they fixed it i had 216ms.After 10 calls and working with them testing they told me its a routing issues 2 hops before the gaming server and its out of their network nothing they can do.The gaming vpn brought my ping back to 150-160ms but why should i pay more money for a vpn The fibre is running on Openserve i have my suspition the problem is Openserve.I have to wait a year to cancel tho.I got a test account from another ISP so i will test after these breaks are repaired.#staysafe guys
 
Top