Google Web Accellerator

antowan

Honorary Master
Joined
Nov 1, 2003
Messages
12,881
Hasn't indicated any saving to me yet...

Very good installation though! IE and FireFox aware...
 

playkiller no.2

Expert Member
Joined
Jun 24, 2004
Messages
1,461
make sure the icon at the bottom says it`s connected.
It`s still in beta state people outside North America and Europe might not see any difference.
 

Alkine

Senior Member
Joined
Jan 22, 2005
Messages
659
"Also note that during the first part of our beta testing period, users outside of North America and Europe may not see much improvement in their web page loading speed."

But if they put a server in south-africa (wich is highly unlikely) we may be able to browse after we are capped? :)
 
Last edited:

nocilah

Banned
Joined
Sep 2, 2004
Messages
7,624
i fail to see how this is going to improve speeds. at work when i tried it... wuz useless...

another google gimmik? or am i doing something wrong?
 

tibby.dude

Executive Member
Joined
Oct 29, 2004
Messages
6,018
Okay got it working

a) ZoneAlarm was blocking third party cookies (enabled it)
b) Manually changed the proxy in FireFox for HTTP to localhost:9100
c) It claims to have saved me 0.8s on www.myadsl.co.za
 

tibby.dude

Executive Member
Joined
Oct 29, 2004
Messages
6,018
halicon said:
okay i use mcafee... but i still dont see how it improves speed.
Google has the entire contents of the web indexed on their 250,000 Linux cluster.

So in theory by going to them directly via the huge fat pipes available to their 4 datacentres around the world they can give you the pages fastest without going to the particular webserver.
 

Jerrek

Senior Member
Joined
Jul 26, 2003
Messages
617
halicon said:
aight makes sense... until their linux cluster blows up :D
They actually get about 10 computer failures a DAY and about 50 hard drive failures. They wrote some custom Linux code that makes plugging a new computer into the cluster a breeze: just plug it in, and the software and databases get installed automatically, and everything is fixed up nice and quick.

I think they have a storage room of thousands of computers that they just pull from every day to fix the ones that break down.
 

Celemasiko

Expert Member
Joined
Jun 25, 2004
Messages
1,291
the biggest crap I can think off. Another method to get more information about surfers behaviors and for more spam to come. My firefox is doing all those thing for me already without me having to fear any spying.
 
Last edited:

DFantom

Expert Member
Joined
May 20, 2004
Messages
1,498
tibby.dude said:
Google has the entire contents of the web indexed on their 250,000 Linux cluster.
The size of the clusters is not public knowledge. What is know is that it is not fixed per data center.

tibby.dude said:
So in theory by going to them directly via the huge fat pipes available to their 4 datacentres around the world they can give you the pages fastest without going to the particular webserver.
Another piece of non public knowledge, is how many they have. Where are you pulling these numbers from?

Jerrek said:
They actually get about 10 computer failures a DAY and about 50 hard drive failures.
I though a hard drive failure was a computer failure. In anyway they average 1 failure a day for every 1000 servers.

If you are actually interested in what really happens in google have a look at http://www.uwtv.org/programs/displayevent.asp?rid=2459

Celemasiko said:
Another method to get more information about surfers behavior
My first thought as well
 

Chris_the_Brit

High Tory
Joined
Mar 6, 2004
Messages
26,295
I got [3] blue screens when I installed it....and when it was working, it didn't improve my browsing speed, so I unistalled it.
 

dominic

Legal Expert: Telecoms
Joined
Sep 7, 2004
Messages
7,291
as a matter of irrelevant interest i saved 4.5 seconds over 35 pages on a dial-up

hey, it all adds up
 

kilps

Expert Member
Joined
Sep 6, 2004
Messages
2,620
At school it doen't work at all :( - the internet is so slow here
 
Top