Hard drive supply shortage and price hikes = hoax

Rouxenator

Dank meme lord
Every since the whole Thailand flood issue hard drive prices have gone up and is some cases you now pay more than double what you paid for a few months ago.

I am aware that some of the production facilities have been flooded but can the impact really be that big? I mean, it must be massive if unit prices start to double?

Personally I think this is a hoax, I have been buying hard drives for 15 years now and never once did I buy a unit that originates from Thailand. Newer ones are "Made in China" and prior that that it was "Assembled in Malaysia" or "Made in Singapore". OK, I have never bought a WD so that could explain it.

According to Wikipedia Thailand only produces 25% of the global HDD supply and most of that is WD drives. Does it not therefor make sense that WD prices should go up more than the rest? Taking into account Thailand's contribution to HDD supply I'd say prices should go up at most by 25% to 50% - definitely not double as is now the case.

Anyone else feel we are being taken for one massive price fixing scam?

The_Unbeliever

Honorary Master
Roux - it was not just one HDD manufacturer/supplier that got taken out - a whole lot of smaller HDD component supplier/manufacturers also got taken out.

Messugga

Honorary Master

Apparently the big corporates like Google and such have been buying up massive amounts of drives from other manufacturers in an effort to avoid shortages. I reckon they probably went a tad overboard, just because they can really, and to avoid paying inflated prices later, which artificially increased the drive shortage. It's basically the same principal as what happens when petrol runs out. Everyone and their neighbour's dog goes to buy in order to make sure they don't run out of petrol, which puts way above normal strain on the now crippled supply, which simply increases the pressure experienced by the consumer.