Home mesh wifi

I.am.Sam

Honorary Master
Joined
Jun 14, 2011
Messages
89,780
anyone know if this is and can be used as an extender ?

i want to run this to the seperate entrance from the main house router


or rather get the mesh system ?


or if cheaper i am running a lan from the main house to the seperate entrance

can i configure another router there as i have spare routers

only concern is speed, does the speed drop cos as far as i understand the mesh system doesnt drop speeds
 

netcruiser

Well-Known Member
Joined
Sep 21, 2012
Messages
416
anyone know if this is and can be used as an extender ?

i want to run this to the seperate entrance from the main house router


or rather get the mesh system ?


or if cheaper i am running a lan from the main house to the seperate entrance

can i configure another router there as i have spare routers

only concern is speed, does the speed drop cos as far as i understand the mesh system doesnt drop speeds

Lan will always be faster and more reliable than wireless.

Any mesh system is going to reduce speed because it has to transmit the data twice (your device to mesh device, then to next mesh device).
 

I.am.Sam

Honorary Master
Joined
Jun 14, 2011
Messages
89,780
Lan will always be faster and more reliable than wireless.

Any mesh system is going to reduce speed because it has to transmit the data twice (your device to mesh device, then to next mesh device).

so if i connect Lan from the front router to the back router

will that be fine

can i configure a old modem to use as a repeater ?
 

Thor

Honorary Master
Joined
Jun 5, 2014
Messages
42,899
Lan will always be faster and more reliable than wireless.

Any mesh system is going to reduce speed because it has to transmit the data twice (your device to mesh device, then to next mesh device).

Not quite.

Mesh has dedicated tunnels ( additional antenna hardware)

So it works exactly like a complex wire typology

Lan is faster than wireless yes, but the second part isn't relevant because a mesh typology is not a repeater typology
 

SiR_BP

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 30, 2015
Messages
446
Noob question. I might be able to get my hands on the TP-Link Deco E4s.

With regards to the setup, does the main one get connected directly to a LAN port on the Fibre ONT or does one connect it a LAN port router?
 

Speedster

Honorary Master
Joined
May 2, 2006
Messages
16,298
Noob question. I might be able to get my hands on the TP-Link Deco E4s.

With regards to the setup, does the main one get connected directly to a LAN port on the Fibre ONT or does one connect it a LAN port router?
I don't think the Deco's do PPPoE themselves, so they'll need a router between them and the ONT. I could be wrong on this though
 

Mzezman

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 13, 2021
Messages
309
Noob question. I might be able to get my hands on the TP-Link Deco E4s.

With regards to the setup, does the main one get connected directly to a LAN port on the Fibre ONT or does one connect it a LAN port router?
I thought Decos could PPPOE / DHCP with the ISP without the need for another router in-between them and the ONT / Modem?
 

SiR_BP

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 30, 2015
Messages
446
Thanks guys, I will see if I manage to get the units
 

maxxis

Expert Member
Joined
Jul 26, 2007
Messages
1,283
My Deco M5 can run in Router or Access Point mode.

I use a dedicated router and have the on M5 connected to it via network cable.
 

SiR_BP

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 30, 2015
Messages
446
And the wifi remains active on your router as well?
 
Top