Home PC Support

PearlJam

Expert Member
Joined
Jan 22, 2006
Messages
2,110
#1
Do you guys know any company / person that does support for a pc on call out?

Jhb / West Rand

Thanks
 

PearlJam

Expert Member
Joined
Jan 22, 2006
Messages
2,110
#3
I get a BSoD (0x00000050) to do with a device driver. It reboots about six times then do a disc scan / check and then i get into the desktop. It then tells me the registry recovered from a copy. Then the normal xp error report starts and pops up screen from Microsoft stating it is a device driver. I have reinstalled xp on a new hdd and that is where my problems started. I have actually now reinstalled it approx. 7 times. I have done all the updates from microsoft, etc. It is with the basic hardware and graphics card. I haven't done the sound card yet.

If it is on then i can reboot as many times it will work. It is then only when the computer is off for a while that it happens again.

Thanks
 

Gunny

Expert Member
Joined
Jan 13, 2006
Messages
2,149
#4
i do i support the east rand mostly but i`m sure myself or my partner can make a trip out to the west
 

tibby.dude

Executive Member
Joined
Oct 29, 2004
Messages
6,019
#6
PearlJam said:
I get a BSoD (0x00000050) to do with a device driver.
Using my awesome mental ESP powers I thereby deduce that the internal mapping table in the fluxom decoder chip of your motherboard is broken.

Sorted ... R400 consultation fee please.

If you want decent help PearlJam then give us decent information.

Write down EVERYTHING that Windows tells you when it does a BSoD and repost it here.
 

PearlJam

Expert Member
Joined
Jan 22, 2006
Messages
2,110
#7
Thanks guys,

page_fault_in_nonpaged_area

The error code in the BSoD is: 0x00000050 (0xc9b01868, 0x00000000, 0x8056e2f4, 0x00000000)

My system is as follows:

Intel 865Perl MB
Pentium4 2.8 ghz
Seagate 200mb HDD
1gb Ram
Windows XP Home

Other errors in the event log is as follows:

Error code 00000051, parameter1 00000004, parameter2 00000001, parameter3 e39386c8, parameter4 00ff01e0.

The ScRegSetValueExW call failed for Start with the following error:
Access is denied.

The time service has not been able to synchronize the system time for 49152 seconds because none of the time providers has been able to provide a usable time stamp. The system clock is unsynchronized.

The IP address lease 10.0.0.100 for the Network Card with network address 0011118CB648 has been denied by the DHCP server 10.0.0.2 (The DHCP Server sent a DHCPNACK message).

Error code 10000050, parameter1 c9a01868, parameter2 00000000, parameter3 8056e2f4, parameter4 00000000.

Error code 1000008e, parameter1 c000001d, parameter2 bf8240e0, parameter3 ba20aabc, parameter4 00000000.

Error code 1000000a, parameter1 c0ffec8c, parameter2 00000001, parameter3 00000000, parameter4 804e70d5.

The SPBBCSvc service terminated with service-specific error 4294967295 (0xFFFFFFFF).

Time Provider NtpClient: An error occurred during DNS lookup of the manually configured peer 'time.windows.com,0x1'. NtpClient will try the DNS lookup again in 30 minutes. The error was: A socket operation was attempted to an unreachable host. (0x80072751)

I am fairly new to this, therefor i am not sure what to post here.

Thanks
 

PearlJam

Expert Member
Joined
Jan 22, 2006
Messages
2,110
#9
Person,

This is the info from that memtest screen:

Pentium 4 (0.09) 2793Mhz
L1 cache: 16k 17135MB/s
L2 cache: 1024k 17135MB/s
Memory: 1022M 2182MB/s
Chipset: Intel i848/ i865

FSB: 133Mhz ECC disabled PAT enabled
RAM: 166Mhz (DDR332) / CAS: 2.5-4-4-7 / dual channel 128 bits

Cached: 1022M
Rsvdmem: 1572k
Memmap: e820-std
Cache: On
Ecc: Off
Test: Std
Pass: 2
Errors: 0

Thanks
 

Andrewc

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 26, 2005
Messages
327
#10
0x00000050: PAGE_FAULT_IN_NONPAGED_AREA

Requested data was not in memory. An invalid system memory address was referenced. Defective memory (including main memory, L2 RAM cache, video RAM) or incompatible software (including remote control and antivirus software) might cause this Stop message, as may other hardware problems (e.g., incorrect SCSI termination or a flawed PCI card).

Replace Memory, see if that fixes it..

try removing all PCI cards

Get a new motherboard
 
Joined
Oct 19, 2005
Messages
3,419
#12
PearlJam said:
Person,

This is the info from that memtest screen:

Pentium 4 (0.09) 2793Mhz
L1 cache: 16k 17135MB/s
L2 cache: 1024k 17135MB/s
Memory: 1022M 2182MB/s
Chipset: Intel i848/ i865

FSB: 133Mhz ECC disabled PAT enabled
RAM: 166Mhz (DDR332) / CAS: 2.5-4-4-7 / dual channel 128 bits

Cached: 1022M
Rsvdmem: 1572k
Memmap: e820-std
Cache: On
Ecc: Off
Test: Std
Pass: 2
Errors: 0

Thanks
Right its not your RAM thats giving you the problem. Its now one of two things. Either your GFX card or your CPU. I'll find some tests for you to run.
 

PearlJam

Expert Member
Joined
Jan 22, 2006
Messages
2,110
#13
Thanks for all the help.

The thing that puzzles me is the fact that all the hardware that i had on worked flawlessly untill I bought a new hdd (old: WD 40gb - new: Seagate 200gb) and replaced my previous c drive with the new one and did a clean install of xp. Everything else stayed the same. Therefor the drivers that i used was fine. Can a motherboard or memory suffer damage in some waywhen doing what i have done? Why does it work properly after i manage to get to the desktop and then reboots normally?

Andrew, i have two 512mb memory cards. Will it work if i use one and then try the other one, or is it possible that both could be faulty?

Thanks
 

Andrewc

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 26, 2005
Messages
327
#15
Yes try swapping the RAM modules, try one then the other.


Try booting up in safe mode, press F8 when Windows loads.

Let me know if it boots into safe mode.
 

PearlJam

Expert Member
Joined
Jan 22, 2006
Messages
2,110
#17
The master / slave is correct. When the computer is started first thing it also reboots while trying to go into safe mode. Once in I can go normal and safe with no problems
 

PearlJam

Expert Member
Joined
Jan 22, 2006
Messages
2,110
#19
I think it must be drivers. I also installed it on my 2nd 80gb seagate hdd to see and same problem. The microsoft error report popup screen said it is drivers but they had no solution yet. I have done "update driver" in device manager but it comes up that it is the latest available or no better one is found.

I have the latest bios in my MB and chipset driver

With my limited knowledge the main hardware drivers would be as follows:

HDD
cd-rw
dvd rw
graphics card

Of all of them windows does all but the graphics which i installed the nvidia driver.

Now what could it be then?
 
Top