How can I get an active Telkom landline rental for DSL as an international student?

MoonOwl

Hello MyBB,

Background: I am an international student at Rhodes University and have recently moved into one of the houses being let in Grahamstown. I want to sign up with Afrihost's 20 Mbps uncapped bundled VDSL package but they require an active Telkom landline whose line is in the OpenServe Holding Pool so that they can take over the management of the line. I decided to visit Telkom's website to try to apply for the month-to-month landline rental with the self-installation option since the house I moved into already has cabling done (most likely a previous tenant was using the ADSL line). Telkom's closest store is in Port Elizabeth (113 km away). I tried all their advertised communication channels from the phone calls to the online chat service but there has been no response for the past few days. I have held the phone for hours waiting for the next available sales agent while my airtime kept on getting depleted and I kept losing time. I went on Twitter to ask @HelloTelkom and they were of no use. My landlady does not remember whom it was that that had the Telkom line in his name and Telkom is not in a position to tell me. For that reason, I need a new line. An issue almost similar to mine is https://mybroadband.co.za/vb/showthread.php/850866-What-is-Telkom-s-R189-month-to-month-landline-option but there have been no updates on the thread.

Question: As an international student who has never bought anything on credit before and has never had any debt, not interested in anything to do with Telkom's voice options or them managing the DSL line, and need to end up with an Afrihost connection running successfully, how do I go about successfully applying for the landline rental?

MoonOwl

MoonOwl

Explains your impeccable English. Kudos indeed. Have you been into your nearest Telkom shop?