How much storage capacity do you need in a smartphone?

AlphaJohn

Executive Member
Joined
Sep 10, 2012
Messages
6,292
On Android not too much because it has a habit to corrupt files.
Hmmmm I smell a rat.

The OS itself does not corrupt data seeing that its using Linux kernel, faulty hardware or crappy 3rd party drivers can do that, malware 2, but the OS not unless Your OEM modify it heavily.
 
Last edited:

RokSwaab

Well-Known Member
Joined
May 1, 2017
Messages
453
8GB is enough for me but then again I only use my phone for whatsapp really.
 

Johnatan56

Honorary Master
Joined
Aug 23, 2013
Messages
24,969
Hmmmm I smell a rat.

The OS itself does not corrupt data seeing that its using Linux kernel, faulty hardware or crappy 3rd party drivers can do that, malware 2, but the OS not unless Your OEM modify it heavily.
Usually it's that the SD card isn't fast enough. Anything below class ~7 will often have android mark files as corrupt as it can't read them fast. Had this problem back when I had my first Android device and transferred my old SD card. Have only had Class 10 cards and haven't had any problems since, there were many documented cases of this, I am unsure of whether this still holds true, was back in 4.0 times when I migrated.
 

HavocXphere

Honorary Master
Joined
Oct 19, 2007
Messages
31,492
No idea. Price diff was insignificant so got the biggest one.

Hmmmm I smell a rat.

The OS itself does not corrupt data seeing that its using Linux kernel, faulty hardware or crappy 3rd party drivers can do that, malware 2, but the OS not unless Your OEM modify it heavily.
haha. Linux as great as it is is definitely prone to data corruption...google ext4 issues and you'll see what I mean.
 

Dirtdiver

Senior Member
Joined
Mar 2, 2016
Messages
504
I prefer 32gig. But Ive been happy with a 16gig Iphone for two years, it was the cheapest option. I have access to the internet 99% of my life so I need 16gig, i think.
 

Lukavic

New Member
Joined
Oct 7, 2017
Messages
3
sorry for interrupting this forum i am new to this i would just want to know how long does it take for money to be available that is transfered from usa to south africa? days/weeks?
 

HavocXphere

Honorary Master
Joined
Oct 19, 2007
Messages
31,492
sorry for interrupting this forum i am new to this i would just want to know how long does it take for money to be available that is transfered from usa to south africa? days/weeks?
Couple of days. Other side usually needs to fill in paperwork to accept it
 

HavocXphere

Honorary Master
Joined
Oct 19, 2007
Messages
31,492
Forgot to mention earlier - the fact that Netflix allows series & movies to be downloaded was a big factor in my decision to get a big one
 

sand_man

Honorary Master
Joined
Jun 4, 2005
Messages
28,799
32gig is the sweet spot for me but I won't say no to 64gb. 128gb would be over kill...
 

Lucasm

Member
Joined
Jan 14, 2014
Messages
12
32gb is fear enough, because there's lots of apps to download and I also need to update apps every 2 weeks.
 

Park@82

Honorary Master
Joined
Jun 6, 2008
Messages
11,724
Probably 64GB. Already 35GB in use. Mainly photos and videos.
 
Top