How to make money as a YouTuber in South Africa

Jamie McKane

MyBroadband Journalist
Staff member
Super Moderator
How to make money as a YouTuber in South Africa

Video games are a popular pastime in South Africa, and many local gamers dream of making a career out of their hobby.

It is an incredibly difficult road to navigate, however, which is why there are not many prominent South African gaming content creators.

JSR Devon

I'm a full time YouTuber. I'd argue its easier to make a living off it here than overseas because we're paid in dollars. I find a lot of local YouTubers are too focused on the SA audience to see any real growth and lot of guys try it for a couple months and then give up when it hasn't happened. I've been posting 3-5 times a week for nearly 4 years and I've only just started doing it full time.

gamer16

Honorary Master
I'm a full time YouTuber. I'd argue its easier to make a living off it here than overseas because we're paid in dollars. I find a lot of local YouTubers are too focused on the SA audience to see any real growth and lot of guys try it for a couple months and then give up when it hasn't happened. I've been posting 3-5 times a week for nearly 4 years and I've only just started doing it full time.

Linky>?

Hellhound105

Executive Member
I tried watching that guy with the purple hair.....

I went back to watching my normal shows

Dr. Creepen
Corpse Husband
Be.Busta

And then for any games or merch the oversea channels do a great job

envo

Expert Member
Popular gaming content creator Grant Hinds said that prospective content creators need to have a deep drive and willingness to work hard to grow an audience.

Or the willingness to throw money at advertising 5-10 minute long videos on pre-rolls so that you can start making a name for yourself like he did

gamer16

Honorary Master
Search for his username on YT.
dear god you're lazy, google his username, first hit: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCkpHjikWzPMBLswAu1O4Oyw

DarkDragon