HUAWEI B618 LTE-A router discussion thread.

Doom5003

Well-Known Member
Joined
Sep 24, 2013
Messages
365
Anyone use the B618 as a fibre router? and how is the experience? Seeing as it has a WAN port and in the coming months ill have fibre, i was wondering i using the B618 as a fibre router is a viable option or should i rather opt for another router.
Currently have 2 b618 routers connected to a TP link loadbalance switch that switches between them during the day. And also a Unifi Pro access point to have less wifi to contend with.
Was hoping to use 1 for fibre and keep the other as backup in case fibre goes down.
 

skyw4lk3r

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 2, 2020
Messages
192
Anyone use the B618 as a fibre router? and how is the experience? Seeing as it has a WAN port and in the coming months ill have fibre, i was wondering i using the B618 as a fibre router is a viable option or should i rather opt for another router.
Currently have 2 b618 routers connected to a TP link loadbalance switch that switches between them during the day. And also a Unifi Pro access point to have less wifi to contend with.
Was hoping to use 1 for fibre and keep the other as backup in case fibre goes down.
Fibre would very seldomly go down... And if it did, couldn't you just keep a sim card to insert into the single router?
I would sell one
 

das Toktokken

Honorary Master
Joined
Jul 18, 2008
Messages
54,002
Anyone use the B618 as a fibre router? and how is the experience? Seeing as it has a WAN port and in the coming months ill have fibre, i was wondering i using the B618 as a fibre router is a viable option or should i rather opt for another router.
Currently have 2 b618 routers connected to a TP link loadbalance switch that switches between them during the day. And also a Unifi Pro access point to have less wifi to contend with.
Was hoping to use 1 for fibre and keep the other as backup in case fibre goes down.
They're horrible routers. No configuration options to speak about. Can't assign DNS via DHCP. Bleah.
 

Doom5003

Well-Known Member
Joined
Sep 24, 2013
Messages
365
Fibre would very seldomly go down... And if it did, couldn't you just keep a sim card to insert into the single router?
I would sell one
Mmmm that's a great idea, not sure if the router has like a fallback option if fibre goes down it will switch over to LTE
 

JoE

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 9, 2010
Messages
354
Hi all,

I’ve got a 65D model that I’m using on one of Afrihost’s MTN deals as a separate internet line purely for my PS4 gaming. What’s the easiest way that I could optimise this so that I get the best performance ito minimal lag/latency?
 

das Toktokken

Honorary Master
Joined
Jul 18, 2008
Messages
54,002
Hi all,

I’ve got a 65D model that I’m using on one of Afrihost’s MTN deals as a separate internet line purely for my PS4 gaming. What’s the easiest way that I could optimise this so that I get the best performance ito minimal lag/latency?
Aggregation between 2100 and 1800mhz I find works nicely on MTN. 2100 and 1800 (upload).
Use the huawei_band_tool_v0.1 app

Unzip that - you'll find a bunch of bat files and a config file. Edit the config file to match your router's IP and login credentials then run the appropriate script (recommend LTE_1800+2100_UPLOAD_1800). Use speedtest to confirm results. Try others if you like. If I recall, MTN uses 1800, 2100, 900 with 1800 being the wider of the three.
 
  • Like
Reactions: JoE

M_L

New Member
Joined
Jul 24, 2020
Messages
2
Hi All,

I read through a lot of the discussions on this forum and decided to upgrade my router from the Huawei B315 to the B618s-65d (I'm on Telkom's LTE).

I manually set the router's band to be 4G 2300mhz.

The speed difference was dissapointing..It went from around 16Mb/s to around 20-26Mb/s.

Is this to be expected? What type of speed increases should one get?

Thanks
 

Speedster

Honorary Master
Joined
May 2, 2006
Messages
15,732
Hi All,

I read through a lot of the discussions on this forum and decided to upgrade my router from the Huawei B315 to the B618s-65d (I'm on Telkom's LTE).

I manually set the router's band to be 4G 2300mhz.

The speed difference was dissapointing..It went from around 16Mb/s to around 20-26Mb/s.

Is this to be expected? What type of speed increases should one get?

Thanks
What were you expecting? That is 60% improvement
 

M_L

New Member
Joined
Jul 24, 2020
Messages
2
What were you expecting? That is 60% improvement
Was expecting a 100% increase.

On a good day the B315 would reach 22Mb/s so hopefully the B618 can reach higher speeds than when tested. Also, the router is literally 400m from the towers..
 

Speedster

Honorary Master
Joined
May 2, 2006
Messages
15,732
Was expecting a 100% increase.

On a good day the B315 would reach 22Mb/s so hopefully the B618 can reach higher speeds than when tested. Also, the router is literally 400m from the towers..
Try the other bands, and band combinations too
 

JoE

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 9, 2010
Messages
354
Aggregation between 2100 and 1800mhz I find works nicely on MTN. 2100 and 1800 (upload).
Use the huawei_band_tool_v0.1 app

Unzip that - you'll find a bunch of bat files and a config file. Edit the config file to match your router's IP and login credentials then run the appropriate script (recommend LTE_1800+2100_UPLOAD_1800). Use speedtest to confirm results. Try others if you like. If I recall, MTN uses 1800, 2100, 900 with 1800 being the wider of the three.

Thanks man, I’ll definitely try this out. I have to mention it’s MTN via afrihost so the apn is different. Not sure if MTN does their own throttling as well but I did notice a boost in speed after I complained.
 

das Toktokken

Honorary Master
Joined
Jul 18, 2008
Messages
54,002
Thanks man, I’ll definitely try this out. I have to mention it’s MTN via afrihost so the apn is different. Not sure if MTN does their own throttling as well but I did notice a boost in speed after I complained.
I use Afrihost via MTN.

1596033759331.png

I'm using 2100 + 1800 with 1800 upload.
 
  • Like
Reactions: JoE

rodga

Honorary Master
Joined
May 9, 2007
Messages
10,407
So my B618-65d updated overnight...

Has the new fancy ui now.
What version are you on now? Just got a notification for 81.201.01.00.372 on my 65d

My current:

Software version: 11.195.03.00.372
Web UI version: 21.100.39.00.03
 

///MoH

Senior Member
Joined
May 20, 2007
Messages
713
What version are you on now? Just got a notification for 81.201.01.00.372 on my 65d

My current:

Software version:11.195.03.00.372
Web UI version:21.100.39.00.03


Software version
81.201.01.00.372
Web UI version
81.100.47.01.372
 

Ryan-ED

Member
Joined
Aug 12, 2017
Messages
13
Hi there.
I have the B618.
There was a power cut last night and when the power resumed, my router was not working. So I did the deed and hard reset it to factory defaults. Once it was on I went to 192.168.8.1 (the usual) and changed the 2.4GHz SSID and password.

As soon as I hit "Save", my browser refreshed the page and then I was not able to visit that page again. I'm still connected to the router. My internet connection is working. But I only have the 2.4GHz band set up. I can't visit the router config page to change any settings. It doesn't work over wifi or with a LAN cable.
Very stuck now and not sure what to do. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Edit: also just realized it's my 3rd cake day!
 
Top