Internet Disconnects whenever someone dials or answers the Landline

Green Raddish

Hi

Lately I've been having a problem where my internet will go down just by pressing the dial button on the landline, or answering it. Its becoming very frustrating as I either wait 5 minutes or reboot the router

Please Help

Basjohn

Expert Member
I feel like an echo but yeah, this is a CLASSIC filter problem. Either you don't have one, it's lose or it's faulty.

Damn I miss easy faults like this sometimes......and then I remember everything else about tech support and have a good cry in the mirror instead.

vicv

Expert Member
I have the same problem. On a new line that was installed 2 months ago. Is there a difference between a splitter and a filter? I'm feeling like a noob here. Basically there's a cable coming into my house which then connects to a device (pots filter?) that has 2 telephone ports where the phone and modem connects. Nothing else. Am I missing something? Telkom wants to charge me a callout fee to fix what was broken from the start.

buyeye

Executive Member
I have the same problem. On a new line that was installed 2 months ago. Is there a difference between a splitter and a filter? I'm feeling like a noob here. Basically there's a cable coming into my house which then connects to a device (pots filter?) that has 2 telephone ports where the phone and modem connects. Nothing else. Am I missing something? Telkom wants to charge me a callout fee to fix what was broken from the start.

The one on the wall installed by telkom is not a filter. A splitter or filter usually comes with a router and it's cheap to buy and a good idea to have a spare one to test with when your line acts up.

Suspect99

Executive Member