Inverter and batteries

howardb

Expert Member
Joined
Sep 12, 2003
Messages
3,380
Oh that's expensive.
Drilled holes in the plastic box. I think I am good for now.

Inverter's fan making noise. Very annoying.
They do that when charging or the power goes off and are running in inverter mode. There is one model, can't remember which, where the fan is always on. Check the specs of your model.
 

Stokstert

Executive Member
Joined
Jul 22, 2007
Messages
6,937
They do that when charging or the power goes off and are running in inverter mode. There is one model, can't remember which, where the fan is always on. Check the specs of your model.

This is the model which have fans coming on even when the batteries are fully charged.


This was Geewiz's answer on the question of which model has the fan running when batteries are full.

Hi


The fans are only applicable to the PS 3KVA KIT.


The MKS3K fans only come on when needed.



Thanks

Jannie

Geewiz
 
Last edited:

howardb

Expert Member
Joined
Sep 12, 2003
Messages
3,380
U are right, the fan stopped and there is no noise now.
I find that if you have 4 hrs loadshedding, they take up to the same 4 hrs to charge (on a 2x 102ah battery system).
There are some models that take slightly less at 2hrs, whilst others can take up to 6hrs to charge.
I suppose it also depends on the inverters charge rate though, and whether you can change it ;)
 

Steamy Tom

Executive Member
Joined
Jan 23, 2019
Messages
7,125

joker08

Expert Member
Joined
Sep 4, 2018
Messages
1,349
a friend of mine uses it to power his router, said it works well
My router is 9v and modem 12v.
Now even though router is 9v it runs off a powerbank( 5v ) without any issues.

My question is, if I buy this mini ups, how do I connect it ?
12v out to modem, use a splitter and then a step-down module to the router
Or
12v to the modem and Just connect the router to the USB on this?

I am just not sure if it has a bypass on the USB out. I dont want to ruin its batteries.
 

Dairyfarmer

Executive Member
Joined
Apr 17, 2016
Messages
5,764
My router is 9v and modem 12v.
Now even though router is 9v it runs off a powerbank( 5v ) without any issues.

My question is, if I buy this mini ups, how do I connect it ?
12v out to modem, use a splitter and then a step-down module to the router
Or
12v to the modem and Just connect the router to the USB on this?

I am just not sure if it has a bypass on the USB out. I dont want to ruin its batteries.
Get a qualified person to set it up for you. You are going to damage something or end up with a fire.
 

howardb

Expert Member
Joined
Sep 12, 2003
Messages
3,380
My router is 9v and modem 12v.
Now even though router is 9v it runs off a powerbank( 5v ) without any issues.

My question is, if I buy this mini ups, how do I connect it ?
12v out to modem, use a splitter and then a step-down module to the router
Or
12v to the modem and Just connect the router to the USB on this?

I am just not sure if it has a bypass on the USB out. I dont want to ruin its batteries.
I bought 2 similar mini ups units, but both had variable output voltage selectors (4.5v, 6v, 9v, 12v). Router was 9v so unit 1 set to 9v. Fiber modem was 12v so unit 2 set to 12v.

I would not use a step-down for the 9v, not practical and not safe. Rather buy the correct unit.
 

TheChamp

Honorary Master
Joined
Feb 26, 2011
Messages
36,156
My router is 9v and modem 12v.
Now even though router is 9v it runs off a powerbank( 5v ) without any issues.

My question is, if I buy this mini ups, how do I connect it ?
12v out to modem, use a splitter and then a step-down module to the router
Or
12v to the modem and Just connect the router to the USB on this?

I am just not sure if it has a bypass on the USB out. I dont want to ruin its batteries.
The first part would work.
 

TheChamp

Honorary Master
Joined
Feb 26, 2011
Messages
36,156
I bought 2 similar mini ups units, but both had variable output voltage selectors (4.5v, 6v, 9v, 12v). Router was 9v so unit 1 set to 9v. Fiber modem was 12v so unit 2 set to 12v.

I would not use a step-down for the 9v, not practical and not safe. Rather buy the correct unit.
What's not safe about it? It's like saying your car phone is unsafe because it steps down 12V to 5V.
 
Last edited:

Steamy Tom

Executive Member
Joined
Jan 23, 2019
Messages
7,125
My router is 9v and modem 12v.
Now even though router is 9v it runs off a powerbank( 5v ) without any issues.

My question is, if I buy this mini ups, how do I connect it ?
12v out to modem, use a splitter and then a step-down module to the router
Or
12v to the modem and Just connect the router to the USB on this?

I am just not sure if it has a bypass on the USB out. I dont want to ruin its batteries.

12V out with a splitter and a buck converter.
 

Gtx Gaming

Gtx Gaming
Joined
Aug 25, 2008
Messages
21,521
Is this fine to start my grid tied adventure? Going for 5000watt one it cost R10500. Want to connect everything expect the geyser. Want to use same inverter when I go off the grid.
e49d58ff9ece477202eccf5ff1f13112.jpg
 

RedViking

Nord of the South
Joined
Feb 23, 2012
Messages
35,584
Is this fine to start my grid tied adventure? Going for 5000watt one it cost R10500. Want to connect everything expect the geyser. Want to use same inverter when I go off the grid.
e49d58ff9ece477202eccf5ff1f13112.jpg
Think @Dairyfarmer has a similar setup

 

Steamy Tom

Executive Member
Joined
Jan 23, 2019
Messages
7,125
Is this fine to start my grid tied adventure? Going for 5000watt one it cost R10500. Want to connect everything expect the geyser. Want to use same inverter when I go off the grid.
e49d58ff9ece477202eccf5ff1f13112.jpg

looks like it is a china mall type item?
 

Steamy Tom

Executive Member
Joined
Jan 23, 2019
Messages
7,125
Local shop not Chinese, but yeah they sell ecco etc, which is Chinese i think. Specs looks similar to mecer and rct which is rebranded units

i would literally rathr just buy the branded one to have better local support and warranty etc
 
Top