Is it possible to change Fiber ISP without a break in service?

schpat

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 6, 2006
Messages
135
I'm kinda tired of Web Africa and I'd like to move to CISP. I tried about a year ago and WA "made mistakes" that meant they didn't give up the line so CISP couldn't pick it up and then after like 2 days without internet I just caved and let myself be screwed by WA.

The most important thing is that I don't have a break in service as I work from home.

Any advice, is this even possible?
 

PeterPan420

Well-Known Member
Joined
May 9, 2017
Messages
220
Buy a 1 week data bundle and go through with it already:mad:.
 
Last edited:

schpat

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 6, 2006
Messages
135
Buy a 1 week data bundle and go through with it already:mad:.
One week data bundle? Can you send me a link maybe?

The problem isnt the ISP as I understand it, it's the transferring of the line. I don't mind paying for an overlap. Last time I told WA to cancel immediately but they didn't release the line so CISP couldn't take over. And then they told me it was impossible to release the line immediately. And I'd have to wait a till the end of the month. And then at the end of the month they just carried on charging me and didnt cancel.
 

organique

New Member
Joined
Sep 17, 2015
Messages
2
I am so done with Webafrica!!! I have cancelled my line and looking to see who to move to - any suggestions guys?
 

PBCool

Cool Ideas
Joined
Jan 11, 2016
Messages
8,237
I'm kinda tired of Web Africa and I'd like to move to CISP. I tried about a year ago and WA "made mistakes" that meant they didn't give up the line so CISP couldn't pick it up and then after like 2 days without internet I just caved and let myself be screwed by WA.

The most important thing is that I don't have a break in service as I work from home.

Any advice, is this even possible?
Who is the Fibre provider, realistically the change should happen the same day.
 

Smiley_lauf

Expert Member
Joined
May 5, 2004
Messages
1,666
If it is Openserve, be prepared for a few days of downtime. The only advice I can give you is pester the new ISP to grab the B-number from the holding pool ASAP.
 

bokka1

Expert Member
Joined
Nov 27, 2006
Messages
3,234
I moved from Webafrica to Vox on Openserve without any break.

Guy from Vox came to my house to test everything and I entered their details in my router and everything worked immediately.
 

vermillon

Active Member
Joined
Jul 27, 2007
Messages
50
I'm currently going through issues, cancelled my account with MWEB on openserve which took effect today, now I'm trying to get openserve to take over the line but they say openserves system is down so they can't do so :(
 

Smiley_lauf

Expert Member
Joined
May 5, 2004
Messages
1,666
I think in the end it is the next ISP that makes it or breaks it--Openserve is like that--that manual handover process is not efficient nor effective. With VUMA, I just login into their portal online and change the ISP...and it is done.
 

cavedog

Honorary Master
Joined
Oct 19, 2007
Messages
17,727
I'm currently going through issues, cancelled my account with MWEB on openserve which took effect today, now I'm trying to get openserve to take over the line but they say openserves system is down so they can't do so :(
Line should should still be active. Just use new isp pppoe details so long
 

WaxLyrical

Honorary Master
Joined
Oct 20, 2011
Messages
21,058
An ISP might "penalize" you for leaving them and make it hard for you to move, so the idea is to get on their case before official cancellation.
 
Top