Is Vodacom Fibre still as rubbish as people have historically claimed?

cvw777

Active Member
Joined
Jul 30, 2018
Messages
93
I haven't seen more recent updates from (say) this year. Thanks.
 

Louis72

Expert Member
Joined
Jun 15, 2010
Messages
1,545
My old hometown has it and I do see people complain from time to time on community FB pages that their fibre is off for some reason. Have been using openserve fibre since 2017 and have only had one outage in the complex locally so reliability is super.
 

TheJman

Expert Member
Joined
Jul 16, 2011
Messages
4,283
I'm not on Vodacom... but saw this thread a few above yours :laugh::laugh:

1588594048512.png
 

Leno

Expert Member
Joined
May 15, 2005
Messages
2,123
Biggest reason I would not touch it is that you have to use their managed router which you have no access to

If its your only option then maybe

Only know one person who is on Vodacom FTTH and apart from one or two blips it has been ok, stays up during load shedding, good speed most of the time.
 

ijacobs3

Expert Member
Joined
Oct 15, 2009
Messages
3,559
they useless, drama from day one, eventually got out from them, and moved to websquad, much better service
 

Gathu

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 10, 2006
Messages
107
I have been running with Vodacom Fibre for the past three weeks since there is no other option in our town. My 100/100 connection have been reliable, with only one outage the past weekend for about two hours after some heavy rains.
The managed router has been less of a hassle than I thought as I use my Asus as an access point and thus still have all the functionality I had before, although my needs are fairly basic.

All in all I'm happy with the service so far and will be canceling my Telkom line. I took the Vodacom month-to-month option in order to be able to revert back to Telkom if needed after reading some of the concerns raised in the past.
 
Top