• You are losing out on amazing benefits because you are not a member. Join for free. Register now.
  • Big Two-Day Giveaway - Win an Amazon Kindle, a Mystery Gadget and Branded Gear. Enter Here.
  • Test your broadband speed and win prizes worth R5,000. Enter here.

Juggling Rain SIMs?

CataclysmZA

Expert Member
Joined
Apr 1, 2010
Messages
4,001
#1
Right, so, I'm in a Rain coverage area. I'm fairly sure that I want to migrate to using Rain instead of Telkom. However, there's a snag.

Snag one: The standard Rain network offers per-MB pricing, and a R250 add-on for uncapped in off-peak hours. I calculated what my average Netflix use would be if I had to limit the playback quality, and I'd be spending about R1000 a month to cover the five hours of Netflix time. Given other users, though, this probably isn't going to cut it. Overall, I'd be spending more than my ADSL connection's currently worth.

Snag two: Rain's partners offer capped products with high limits. This is nice. However, despite their relative per-GB cheapness I don't think 120GB is going to see me through the month under any circumstances.

In my mind, the way around this is to simply have two SIM cards and swap between them. Have the normal one registered with Rain that's on the per-MB pricing with the R250 bolt-on, while I also have a 55GB capped account with Afrihost to use during the peak hours. I just switch them more or less at 6PM and again at 11PM (because LTE routers with two SIMs are crazy levels of expensive). This way, I should be covered for both Netflix time and anything above that, whilst during the day on Rain's network I'm on an uncapped connection for work purposes and Skype.

And I would only be paying... around R850-R900 for speeds that are about 2-4x as high, and I'm not reliant on Telkom. Of course then I'm at the mercy of Rain's customer support, so there's the catch-22.

Does this make sense? How do others plan to handle the peak data usage?
 
Last edited:

Raaz1zn

Active Member
Joined
Aug 28, 2017
Messages
53
#2
U gonna get tired of switching Sims everyday. get a cheap 2nd LTE router, even a small pocket router for the rain direct sim as u would get a LTEa router for the Afrihost deal(open to correction). and just switch connections.i get good speeds when I use my pocket router on telkom.
 
Joined
May 28, 2018
Messages
226
#3
U gonna get tired of switching Sims everyday.
+1

Plus what happens when your fav show or movie/doc happens to straddle the 6pm /11pm cut off? Or worse when recording and you not there?

Nah too much hassle for my liking...I want a stress free internet experience dankie :)
 

bwana

MyBroadband
Super Moderator
Joined
Feb 23, 2005
Messages
69,711
#4
+1

Plus what happens when your fav show or movie/doc happens to straddle the 6pm /11pm cut off? Or worse when recording and you not there?

Nah too much hassle for my liking...I want a stress free internet experience dankie :)
Is that really a major consideration for someone who wants to stream Netflix? :confused:
 

BBSA

Executive Member
Joined
Jul 11, 2005
Messages
9,385
#8
It would have been great if you could add the R250 bolt-on to your rain fixed Lte package.

I have two routers, I just need to figure out a way to automatically switch between them.
 

supersunbird

Honorary Master
Joined
Oct 1, 2005
Messages
43,917
#9
It would have been great if you could add the R250 bolt-on to your rain fixed Lte package.

I have two routers, I just need to figure out a way to automatically switch between them.
If accessing only over wifi, some routers give ability to disable wifi at specific time periods, so if it reaches a specific time it can switch off that wifi, while the other one switches its wifi on and your devices switch to what is available.
 

CataclysmZA

Expert Member
Joined
Apr 1, 2010
Messages
4,001
#10
Plus what happens when your fav show or movie/doc happens to straddle the 6pm /11pm cut off? Or worse when recording and you not there?
This won't be a problem with streaming media usually, but for things like Twitch or watching E3 for example, I can see myself adjusting the quality and wondering how much cap I'm using. Better than R50 per GB though.

I have two routers, I just need to figure out a way to automatically switch between them.
Wendell from Level1 goes into this a bit when talking about Pfsense and routing.

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=ekRgAATnIsU

I would do this myself if I had multiple modems. But I may also need an external antenna, so it would get a bit complicated.
 
Last edited:
Top